• Perico Sambeat
    Perico Sambeat

Perico Sambeat


Fresh Sound New Talent

Perico Sambeat (fl, as), Brad Mehldau (p), Mark Turner (ts), Michael Leonhart (tp), Kurt Rosenwinkel (g), Joe Martin (b), Jorge Rossy, Jeff Ballard (d), Enric Canada, Guillermo McGuill (perc), Enrique Morente (vcl)

Reference: FSNT-041

Bar code: 8427328420419

01. A Free K 9:56
02. Ademuz 8:33
03. Tu Rostro Oculto 8:17
04. Expedición 9:03
05. La Noche De Lemuria 6:07
06. Porta Do Ferro 7:17
07. Barri De La Coma 6:22

Album details

All the Music written and arranged by Perico Sambeat

Perico Sambeat (flute, alto sax, keyboards on #2), Brad Mehldau (piano, keyboards on #2 ), Mark Turner (tenor sax), Michael Leonhart (trumpet), Kurt Rosenwinkel (guitar), Joe Martin (assb), Jorge Rossy (drums), Enric Canada, Guillermo McGuill (percussion), Enrique Morente (voice).
Recorded in Valencia, Spain, in August & November 1995

Sound engineers: Jorge Juan Villaverde & Fernando Brunet
Mastering by Joe Sidore, Shadow Hills, California, September 1998
Recorded & mixed at Tabalet Estudis, Valencia
Art Cover: Ana Golobart

Originally produced by Dahíz & Jorge Rossy
Executive producer: Francisco Bodí
Produced for release by Jordi Pujol

Press reviews

"Perico Sambeat, an overlooked Spanish altoist and composer, recorded this album in 1995 with the help of future superstars Brad Mehldau, Kurt Rosenwinkel, and Mark Turner. Michael Leonhart, the underrated trumpeter, is the session's third horn. In the rhythm section are Joe Martin on bass, Jordi Rossy on drums, and both Guillermo McGill and Enric Canada on percussion. Enrique Morente contributes vocals on three tracks.

This is a fairly large ensemble, and the sounds on this record are, accordingly, huge. Sambeat's Latin jazz compositions present the listener with an unusually dramatic sweep, a breathtaking landscape of beautiful melodies, striking harmonic colors, churning, multi-layered rhythms, subtle dynamics, and brilliant solos. Morente's yearning, intense vocal performances lend an aura of heightened spiritual fervor. Overall, the first four tracks are the most ambitious particularly "Ademuz," with its hard-hitting, quasi-fusion groove and keyboard, electric bass, and overdriven guitar textures, all of which give way to an acoustic ambience as the tune progresses. The remaining three tracks are a bit more conventional, particularly "Barri de la Coma," the closing Latin romp based on rhythm changes with a modified bridge. Sambeat's flute and Leonhart's muted trumpet are nice touches on the shout chorus."

David R. Adler -All Music Guide


10,95 €  (tax incl.)

Add to wishlist

Added to your wishlist.

You can manage your wishlist here.

You're not signed in

You must sign in to manage your wishlist.
Sign in
Delivery information:
Delivery in 5-7 days
Shipping rates Terms and conditions
Payment methods:



Customer reviews

Write a review

Rate this product:

Thanks for sharing your thoughts.

Your review has been added and will be available once approved by a moderator.