Iago Fernandez
  • Mark Turner
    Mark Turner
  • Joris Roelofs
    Joris Roelofs
  • David Virelles
    David Virelles
  • Ben Street
    Ben Street
  • Iago Fernandez
    Iago Fernandez

Iago Fernández


Fresh Sound New Talent

Iago Fernández (d, perc, org), Mark Turner (ts), Sam Barnett (as), Joris Roelofs (b-cl), David Virelles (p), Wilfried Wilde (g), Ben Street (b), Yumi Ito, Song Yi Jeon (vcl)

Reference: FSNT-644

Bar code: 8427328436441

It is marvelous! original, lyrical and honest, the compositions are beautiful and clear harmonically and melodically. There is not a single superfluous note.

Furthermore, the orchestration of the themes is very peculiar, very rich, with dense textures in the low register in some moments in which the luminosity of mark's high register and voice stands out in a very effective way.

Rhythmically I love the fluidity and originallity of the pieces. Totally free of specific stylistic references.

I think that apart from the instrumentation, the choice of each participating musician contributes a lot to give the recording avery marked mysterious and poetic identity. It givbes the feeling that the music is written with each of the performers in mind.

This music sounds 100% Iago Fernández. No one else could have written something like this and shaped the sound of the band from the drums like he does. I know I'm going to listen this album many more times because there is so much to savor in each track.

—Jorge Rossy

01. Almas Viaxeiras 5:50
02. Doces 7:41
03. Arrolo da alba 5:28
04. Flor esvelta 6:45
05. Cadeas por fin 8:06
06. Lonely Child 6:14
07. Springtime Paradox 5:31
08. Luz da paz 5:55
09. Purple Light 5:38
10. Curarei 5:04

Album details

All compositions by Iago Fernández, except #5 by Xan Campos
Lyrics by Iago Fernández

Iago Fernández (drums, percussion, voice on #1 & 4, organ on #3), Mark Turner (tenor sax), Joris Roelofs (bass clarinet), David Virelles (piano), Ben Street (bass).
Guests: Yumi Ito (vocals on #1,4 & 9), Song Yi Jeon (vocals on #9), Wilfried Wilde (guitar on #1 & 4), Sam Barnett (alto sax on #6), Kuba Dworak (overdubbed bass on #1).
Recorded at Jazzcampus Studio, Bassel, Switzerland, September 27 & 28, 2021

Sound engineer: Daniel Somaroo
Mixed by Sam Barnett (except #4 by André Fernandes)
Mastering: Mario Barreiros
Design: Adrián Parcedo, Guillotina Estudio
Drawings by Iago Fernández
Photography: Janite Lafuente
Liner notes: Jorge Rossy

Produced by Iago Fernández
Executive producer: Jordi Pujol

This sound recording © 2022 by Fresh Sound Records
Blue Moon Producciones Discograficas, S.L.

Press reviews

"Though probably unfamiliar to most people, Spanish drummer Lago Fernández surrounds himself with a high-profile American band that includes tenor saxophonist Mark Turner, pianist David Virelles, and bassist Ben Street. The opening of his fourth album is atypical: a Brazilian-style song led by Yumi Ito, sung in Galician, the leader's native language, which is quite similar to Portuguese. Fernández wrote a poem for Ito to interpret, and he does it again in the fourth theme. The drummer also provides a secondary vocal line and sings another poem, respectively.

Aside from these vocal numbers, the main body of largely original melodies levitates around a very sensitive instrumental palette. Central to these detailed works is the reed relationship between Turner and bass clarinetist Joris Roelofs, whether soloing, exchanging phrases, or harmonizing on exquisite bass-tone unity.

Street solos with eloquence in 'Arrolo da Alba', then 'Cadeas Por Fin' rides with a sure
pulse. Fernández remains in the background for much of the time, and Virelles is
calmer than usual, only with a forceful solo on the closing “Curarei”.

Players are intimately miked, creating an expanse where magnified detail can be
savored. The reeds sit well together every time, with a warm texture and human tone.
The aura of a Fernández melody can be relaxed, but it is always rich with meaningful

—Martin Longley (January, 2023)
Down Beat


10,95 €  (tax incl.)

Add to wishlist

Added to your wishlist.

You can manage your wishlist here.

You're not signed in

You must sign in to manage your wishlist.
Sign in
Delivery information:
Delivery in 5-7 days
Shipping rates Terms and conditions
Payment methods:



Customer reviews

Write a review

Rate this product:

Thanks for sharing your thoughts.

Your review has been added and will be available once approved by a moderator.