Joe Martin


Fresh Sound New Talent

Mark Turner (as), Kevin Hays (p), Joe Martin (b), Jorge Rossy (d)

Reference: FSNT-139

Bar code: 8427328421393

Joe Martin has established himself as a highly sought-after bassist. Living in New York City since 1994, he has performed and toured with a variety of musicians including Andy Bey, Vinicius Cantuaria, Bill Charlap, Art Farmer, Joel Frahm, Jon Gordon, Brad Mehldau, Jane Monheit, Kurt Rosenwinkel, and Mark Turner. Passage is Martin's debut recording as a leader for Fresh Sound New Talent.

The album features seven original compositions as well as one standard arranged by pianist Kevin Hays. Martin is joined by Mark Turner on saxophone, Jorge Rossy on drums, and Kevin Hays on piano.

Four unique voices led by Martin take the listener through a musical Passage. Haunting melodies and rhythmic dances culminate in pure beauty. These compositions are destined to become standards in the new jazz repertoire.

01. Poppy's Song (Martin) 8:53
02. Nothing Like You (Dorough-Landesman) 8:33
03. Five on You (Martin) 8:18
04. Overwhelmed (Martin) 7:11
05. Manhattanville (Martin) 7:08
06. Passage (Martin) 9:15
07. Reminiscence (Martin) 6:35
08. Closure (Martin) 7:17

Album details

Recorded in New York City, December 2001

Executive producer: Jordi Pujol

$11.94  (tax incl.)

Add to wishlist

Added to your wishlist.

You can manage your wishlist here.

You're not signed in

You must sign in to manage your wishlist.
Sign in
Delivery information:
Delivery in 5-7 days
Shipping rates Terms and conditions
Payment methods:



Customer reviews

No customer reviews yet. Login to leave your impressions!

Write a review

Rate this product:

Thanks for sharing your thoughts.

Your review has been added and will be available once approved by a moderator.