New Orbits In Sound (2 LP on 1 CD)
  • LP GNP-9
    LP GNP-9
  • Contemporary C3506
    Contemporary C3506
  • Contemporary C3506 (Reissue)
    Contemporary C3506 (Reissue)
  • LP GNP-33
    LP GNP-33
  • Lyle 'Spud' Murphy
    Lyle 'Spud' Murphy

Lyle Murphy

New Orbits In Sound (2 LP on 1 CD)

Fresh Sound Jazz City Series

Lyle Murphy (celeste, arr, dir), Milt Bernhart, Dick Nash (tb), Frank Morgan, Benny Carter (as), Buddy Collette (fl, cl, saxes), Abe Most (fl, cl, as), Russ Cheever (cl, ss, as), Bob Gordon, Chuck Gentry, Bill Ulyate (bs), André Previn (p), Curtis Counce, Buddy Clark (b), Chico Hamilton, Richie Frost, Shelly Manne (d)

Reference: FSRCD 2254

Bar code: 8427328622547


Includes a 16-page booklet with recording details, extensive notes and rare photos.

Lyle 'Spud' Murphy (1908-2005) the veteran arranger of the swing era began attracting attention in 1955 with his self-devised 12-tone scale system of composition and arranging. It was something completely different - an organized sound in a fresh and new harmonic concept.

To achieve this result Murphy used the unique instrumentation of soprano, alto, tenor and baritone saxophones giving the full tonal range to the section captured in his first 10 record for the Gene Norman Presents label. The musicianship of the performers is first rate. In addition to the superb section work, which features Benny Carter, the solos played by Buddy Collette and Bob Gordon are outstanding, and especially striking is Frank Morgan, who emerged here as one of the most exciting West Coast altoists.

The second record on which Murphy applied his musical system, was produced Lester Koenig's Contemporary, on which five woodwinds play collectively with a rhythm section made up by Andre Previn and Shelly Manne, in a horizontal, or contrapuntal, design. On the last four selections, two trombones were added to the first instrumentation for additional tonal effect. The execution of the orchestral parts is flawless and the imagination and technique displayed by the soloists a still-exciting experience.

—Jordi Pujol

01. Tone Poem (Lyle Murphy) (2:57)
02. I Only Have Eyes for You (Warren-Dublin) (3:01)
03. Frantastic (Lyle Murphy) (2:48)
04. Caleta (Murphy-Laguna) (2:52)
05. Lost in Fugue (Lyle Murphy) (2:43)
06. Frankly Speaking (Lyle Murphy) (2:55)
07. Illusion (Lyle Murphy) (3:13)
08. Crazy Quilt (Lyle Murphy) (2:51)
09. Fourth Dimension (Lyle Murphy) (4:18)
10. Sophisticated Lady (Ellington) (4:05)
11. Poly-Doodle (Lyle Murphy) (3:14)
12. Dizzy Dialogue (Lyle Murphy) (3:00)
13. Seismograph (Lyle Murphy) (3:27)
14. Triton (Lyle Murphy) (3:27)
15. Perdido (Tizol) (2:59)
16. Blue Moon (Rodgers-Hart) (2:58)
17. These Foolish Things (Marvell-Strachey-Link) (4:28)
18. Pemba 3 (Lyle Murphy) (3:46)
19. Orbit (Lyle Murphy) (1:57)
20. Misty Rose (Lyle Murphy) (3:23)
21. Slightly Off Center (Lyle Murphy) (2:14)
22. Daily Double (Lyle Murphy) (2:40)

Album details

Tracks #1-8 from the 10-inch LP "Four Saxophonein Twelve Tones" (GNP-9)
Tracks #9-18 from the 12-inch LP "12-Tone Compositions & Arrangements by Lyle Murphy" (Contemporary C3506), later reissued as "Gone with the Woodwinds!" with the same catalog number.
Tracks #19-22 from 12-inch LP "New Orbits in Sound" (GNP-33)

Personnel on tracks #1-8:
Frank Morgan (as soloist), Benny Carter (as section), Russ Cheever (cl, ss, as), Buddy Collette (ts), Bob Gordon (bs), Lyle Murphy (celeste), Buddy Clark (b), Chico Hamilton (d) or Richie Frost (d on #5-8).
Recorded at Capitol Studios, Hollywood, November 3 & December 3 (#5-8), 1954

Personnel on tracks #9-18:
Buddy Collette (fl, cl, as, ts), Abe Most (fl, cl, as), Russ Cheever (cl, ss, as), Jack Dumont (cl, as), Chuck Gentry (b-cl, bs), André Previn (p), Curtis Counce (b), Shelly Manne (d).
Recorded at Capitol Studios, Hollywood, August 16 & October 11 (#14-18), 1955

Personnel on tracks #19-22:
Milt Bernhart, Dick Nash (tb), Russ Cheever (ss), Buddy Collette (as, ts), Morrie Crawford (ts), Bill Ulyate (bs), Curtis Counce (b), Larry Bunker (d).
Recorded at Capitol Studios, Hollywood, September 30, 1957

Original recordings produced by Eddy laguna (#1-8), Lester Koenig (#9-18), and Gene Norman (#19-22).
This CD compilation produced by Jordi Pujol

Hi Fi · 24-Bit Digitaslly Remastered
Blue Moon Producciones Discograficas S.L.

Note: Although Benny Carter was not credited in the original 10" album, he also participated in the first two sessions. The high musicianship demanded to play Lyle Murphy's scores was th reason Benny, a great and experienced reader, was picked up to play the alto parts in the section work, while a young Frank Morgan took care of the soloing

Press reviews

"Lyle 'Spud' Murphy, who lived to be 97, was also an influential teacher in addition to being an innovative arranger. He devised a 12-tone scale system that he taught to many musicians through the years. Murphy led relatively few albums through the years with New Orbits In Sound (FSRCD 2254) reissuing his most important work. Recorded during 1954-1957, the music features a couple of different saxophone sections with a rhythm section and two trombones added on the last few tracks. The voicings of the saxes sound different and fresh without the music losing its swing. Frank Morgan is heard as the key soloist on the first session of this intriguing and rewarding package."

—Scott Yanow (May, 2010)
Los Angeles Jazz Scene


10,95 €  (tax incl.)

Add to wishlist

Added to your wishlist.

You can manage your wishlist here.

You're not signed in

You must sign in to manage your wishlist.
Sign in
Delivery information:
Delivery in 5-7 days
Shipping rates Terms and conditions
Payment methods:



Customer reviews

Write a review

New Orbits In Sound (2 LP on 1 CD)
Rate this product:

Thanks for sharing your thoughts.

Your review has been added and will be available once approved by a moderator.