Jesse Belvin / Ethel Azama

Mr. Easy + Cool Heat (2 LPs on 1 CD)

Fresh Sound Records

Jesse Belvin or Ethel Azama (vcl), with Marty Paich Orchestra feat. Conte Candoli, Jack Sheldon (tp), Dick Nash, Frank Rosolino (tb), Art Pepper (as), Bill Perkins (ts), Russ Freeman, Jimmy Rowles (p), Larry Bunker (vib), Joe Mondragon (b), Mel Lewis (d)

Reference: FSRCD 628

Bar code: 8427328606288


When Ethel Azama made Cool Heat for Liberty and Jesse Belvin recorded Mr. Easy for RCA Victor within a few weeks of each other in the fall of 1959 in Hollywood, both singers were among the most promising discoveries of their respective record labels. What they also had in common, among other things, was that these fine albums turned out to be career peaks for each singer.

Azama subsequently moved to Australia, while the tragic Belvin was killed in an auto accident before his debut album was released. Adding class to each project was another coincidence; the arranger and conductor on both albums was the great Marty Paich, who throughout decided to rely on the distinctive talents of alto saxophonist Art Pepper to take care of the soloing.

The serendipitous combination of talents turned each album into a wonderfully felicitous example of timeless musical creativity.

01. Johnny One Note
02. Like Someone in Love
03. Surrey with the Fringe on Top
04. You Smell so Good
05. I'm Glad There Is You
06. My Ship
07. Squeeze Me
08. Daybreak
09. All I Need Is You
10. When the Sun Comes Out
11. You're so Bad for Me
12. Time After Time
13. It's All Right with Me
14. Something Happens to Me
15. What's New
16. In the Still of the Night
17. Blues in the Night
18. Let There Be Love
19. Imagination
20. The Best Is Yet to Come
21. Makin' Whoopee!
22. Angel Eyes
23. I'll Buy You a Star
24. The Very Thought of You

Album details

Tracks #1-12 from Ethel Azama 12" album:
"Cool Heat" (Liberty LST-7142)

Tracks #13-24 from Jesse Belvin 12" album:
"Mr. Easy" (RCA Victor LSP-2105)

COOL HEAT was original produced by Felix Slatkin.
Recording engineers: Eddie Bracket & Henry Lewy.
MR. EASY produced by Dick Peirce.
Engineered by Al Schmidt.

This CD compilation produced by Jordi Pujol.
Stereo 24-Bit Digitally Remastered

9,95 €  (tax incl.)

Add to wishlist

Added to your wishlist.

You can manage your wishlist here.

You're not signed in

You must sign in to manage your wishlist.
Sign in
Delivery information:
Delivery in 5-7 days
Shipping rates Terms and conditions
Payment methods:



Customer reviews

Write a review

Mr. Easy + Cool Heat (2 LPs on 1 CD)
Rate this product:

Thanks for sharing your thoughts.

Your review has been added and will be available once approved by a moderator.