Pop and TV themes Go Jazz (2 LP on 1 CD + Bonus Track) Digipack
  • Warner Bros W 1290
    Warner Bros W 1290
  • Warner Bros W 1289
    Warner Bros W 1289
  • Warren Barker
    Warren Barker

Warren Barker

Pop and TV themes Go Jazz (2 LP on 1 CD + Bonus Track) Digipack

Blue Moon Golden Series

Warren Barker, Frank Comstock (arr, dir), Don Fagerquist, Stu Williamson, Pete Candoli (tp), Milt Bernhart, Frank Rosolino (tb), Ted Nash, Ronny Lang, Buddy Collette (reeds), Victor Feldman (p), Gene estes (vib), Howard Roberts, Barney Kessel (g), Red Mitchell (b), Shelly Manne (d)

Reference: BMCD 862

Bar code: 8427328008624


· Collectors Edition
· Issued in Digipack
· 2 Original LPs on 1 CD
· Includes Bonus Track
· Original Cover Art and Liner Notes
· Stereo Recordings
· Newly Remastered in 24-Bit

Although Warren Barker (1923-2006) was responsible for the worldwide popular musical background of the show 77 Sunset Strip, this set is something more than just another in the series of cops-androbbers jazz issues. The music shows traces of the tropes so often abused on TV, but on Warren Barker Is In, there is more emphasis on the solos, with excellent blowing on every track. Barkers arrangements are outstanding. His use of flutes gives Flute Route, Harlem, and Black Coffee a light, floating sound and a means of contrast when combined with heavier instruments. Other scoring highlights are the Mulliganesque Love Me or Leave Me, the sax intro to There Will Never Be Another You and the hint of Ellington in Satin Doll.

The six tracks that follow it are main themes from different TV series, and were the only performed and arranged by Barker for the album TV Guide Top Television Themes. The set closes with a selection of the most jazzy tunes from 77 Sunset Strip as an hommage to the standard he set. This collection gives the lie to the persistent conviction that TV jazz must by its nature be gimmicky and shallow.

01. Flute Route (Warren Barker) 2:38
02. Cappuccino (Warren Barker) 2:37
03. Harlem Nocturne (Earle Hagen) 3:19
04. Cafe Espresso (Warren Barker) 2:49
05. Black Coffee (Webster-Burke) 3:44
06. Love Me or Leave Me (Kahn-Donaldson) 2:53
07. Midnight Sun (Burke-Hampton) 2:42
08. There Will Never Be Another You (Gordon-Warren) 2:27
09. Satin Doll (Ellington-Strayhorn) 3:23
10. Robbins Nest (Thompson-Jacquet) 2:22
11. Hit the Road to Dreamland (Arlen-Mercer) 3:22
12. No Moon at All (Evans-Mann) 2:21
13. Perry Mason Theme (Fred Steiner) 2:14
14. Mickey Mouse (Jimmy Dodd) 2:25
15. Peter Gunn Theme (Henry Mancini) 2:46
16. Have Gun Will Travel (Bernard Herman) 2:07
17. Richard Diamond Theme (Pete Rugolo) 2:00
18. M Squad Theme (Count Basie) 2:49
19. Late at Baileys Pad (Alex North) 2:54
20. Cleos Theme (Alex North) 3:40
21. Caper at the Coffee House (Warren Barker) 2:08
22. Kookies Caper (Howard Jackson) 2:05
23. The Stu Bailey Blues (Warren Barker) 2:43
24. Blue Night on the Strip (Livingston-David) 2:39
25. Swingin on the Strip (Livingston-David) 1:50
26. 77 Sunset Strip Theme (Livingston-David) 2:09
27. Yulesville (Galanoy-Olofson-Barker) 1:56 *

Album details

(*) Edd Kookie Byrnes, vocals (Bonus track)

Tracks #1-12, from the 12" album "Warren Barker Is In" (Warner Bros. W 1331)
Tracks #13-26, from the 12" album "TV Guide Top Television Themes" (Warner Bros. W 1290)
Bonus track #27, taken from the 7" single "Edd Kookie Byrnes (Star of 77 Sunset Strip)" (Warner Bros. WS-27)

WARREN BARKER and His Orchestra, featuring West Coast All Stars

Tracks #1-12: Don Fagerquist, Frank Beach, Stu Williamson, trumpets; Vince De Rosa, Bill Hinshaw, Dick Perisi, Jim Decker, French horns; Milt Bernhart, Frank Rosolino, trombones; Ed Rosa, flute & clarinet; Ted Nash, Ronny Lang, flutes & alto saxes; Justin Gordon, flute & baritone sax; Chuck Gentry, baritone sax; Victor Feldman, piano & vibes; Gene Estes, vibes; Jerry Friedman, xylophone; Howard Roberts, Barney Kessel, guitars; Red Mitchell, bass; Shelly Manne, drums.
Recorded at Radio Recorders, Hollywood, May 29, June 3 & 10, 1959

Tracks #13-26: Frank Beach, Pete Candoli, Don Fagerquist, Bob Fowler, Vigil Evans, trumpets; Dick Nash, Joe Howard, Lloyd Ulyate, Marshall Cram, Milt Bernhart, Frank Rosolino, trombones; George Roberts, Ken Shroyer, bass trombone; Red Callender, tuba; Ted Nash, Mahlon Clark, flute & alto saxes; Ronnie Lang, Ed Rosa, alto sax; Buddy Collette, Gene Cipriano, flute & tenor saxes; Chuck Gentry, bass clarinet & baritone sax; Alan Harding, tenor sax; Frank Flynn, vibes; Jeff Clarkson, Ray Sherman, piano; Tony Rizzy, Al Hendrickson, guitars; Rollie Bundock, bass; Alvin Stoller, Larry Bunker, drums; Milt Holland, Dick Shanahan, percussion. Plus vocal group on #26. Arranged & conducted: Frank Comstock, Warren Barker.
Radio Recorders, Hollywood, March 7 & 27, 1959

Track #27: Edd Kookie Byrnes (Star of 77 Sunset Strip) vocals; Frank Rosolino, Joe Howard, Tommy Pederson, Marshall Cram, trombones; Ted Nash, alto sax; Ray Sherman, piano; Barney Kessel, guitar; Red Callender, bass; Gene Estes, drums; Dick Shanahan, percussion.
Radio Recorders Studios, Hollywood, June 26, 1959

Produced for CD release by Jordi Pujol
Stereo · 24-Bit Digitally Remastered

Press reviews

There was always a lot more jazz in Warren Barker's TV-inspired work - 77 Sunset Strip, Perry Mason, Peter Gunn, M Squad - than in the usual run of studio product. The arranger, whose clever use of flutes gives an immediately identifiable sound, only died in 2006, relatively forgotten by all but the top-ranking musicians who took his call and read his charts. This is a surprisingly enjoyable set, even though the tracks are short and usually leave you wanting more.

Brian Morton, Jazz Journal (December 2015)


9,95 €  (tax incl.)

Add to wishlist

Added to your wishlist.

You can manage your wishlist here.

You're not signed in

You must sign in to manage your wishlist.
Sign in
Delivery information:
Delivery in 5-7 days
Shipping rates Terms and conditions
Payment methods:



Customer reviews

Write a review

Pop and TV themes Go Jazz (2 LP on 1 CD + Bonus Track) Digipack
Rate this product:

Thanks for sharing your thoughts.

Your review has been added and will be available once approved by a moderator.