Mister Percussion + Footlight Percussion (2 LP on 1 CD) Digipack
  • United Artists WWS 8500
    United Artists WWS 8500
  • United Artists WWS 8508
    United Artists WWS 8508
  • Terry Snyder
    Terry Snyder

Terry Snyder

Mister Percussion + Footlight Percussion (2 LP on 1 CD) Digipack

Blue Moon Golden Series

Terry Snyder (lead, d), Jimmy Nottingham, Doc Severinsen, Jimmy Maxwell (tp), Urbie Green, Dick Hixson (tb), Romeo Penque, Phil Bodner, Stan Webb, Bernie Kaufman (woodwinds), Moe Wechsler, Bernie Leighton, Buddy Weed (p), Al Caiola, Tony Mottola, Allen Hanlon (g), Bob Haggart, Frank Carroll (b), Don Lamond, Sol Gubin (d), Ted Sommer, Willie Rodriguez, Joe Venuto, Eddie Costa, Arthur Marotti (perc)

Reference: BMCD 900

Bar code: 8427328009003


· Collector's Edition
· Issued in Digipack
· 2 Original LPs on 1 CD
· Original Cover Art and Liner Notes
· Stereo Recordings
· Newly Remastered in 24-Bit

These two albums were created by Terry Snyder, and recorded in 1960 and 1961 by Ultra Audio Records—the ultimate in stereophonic sound—with you, the listener in mind. This is moving Sound, high fidelity, and the apex in recording as presented by a true master in the field.

In order to achieve the imaginative and creative new sounds he was looking for, Snyder called upon some of America’s most brilliant arrangers, including Stu Phillips and Joe Lipman, who along with his fellow musicians, and the best recording engineers, helped him create the most exciting percussion albums ever recorded.

Mister Percussion and Footlight Percussion, are a thrilling musical experience, framed by brass and woodwinds, with startling arrangements and outstanding displays of brilliant musical sounds, played expertly by Terry Snyder and the All Stars.

01. Puttin' On the Ritz (Irving Berlin) 1:55
02. Softly As in the Morning Sunrise (Romberg-Hammerstein II) 3:13
03. The Man I Love (G. & I Gershwin) 3:14
04. Get Out of Town (Cole Porter) 2:52
05. Deep Night (Henderson-Vallee) 2:28
06. Colonel Bogey [March] (Kenneth J. Alford) 2:38
07. Once in a While (Edwards-Green) 2:52
08. Ev'rything I've Got (Rodgers-Hart) 2:15
09. Out of This World (Arlen-Mercer) 3:01
10. Binga, Banga, Bongo (Terry Snyder) 2:36
11. Picnic (Allen-Duning) 2:13
12. Oye Negra (Morales-Camacho) 2:38
13. Everything’s Coming Up Roses (Sondheim-Styne) 2:28
14. Till There Was You (Meredith Wilson) 2:08
15. Make Someone Happy (Styne-Comden-Green) 2:33
16. The Gentleman Is a Dope (Rodgers-Hammerstein II) 2:32
17. Anything Goes (Cole Porter) 2:09
18. Lullaby of Broadway (Warren-Dubin) 2:39
19. If I Were a Bell (Frank Loesser) 2:37
20. Guys and Dolls (Frank Loesser) 1:59
21. The Sound of Music (Rodgers-O.Hammerstein II) 2:53
22. I Could Have Danced All Night (Loewe-Lerner) 2:37
23. Bali Hai (Rodgers-O.Hammerstein II) 3:18
24. Give My Regards to Broadway (George M. Cohan) 2:33

Album details

Tracks #1-12, from the album “Mister Percussion” (United Artists WWS 8500)
Tracks #13-24, from the album “Footlight Percussion” (United Artists WWS 8508)

Personnel on “Mister Percussion”:
Terry Snyder, leader & drummer; Jimmy Nottingham, Doc Severinsen, trumpets; Urbie Green, trombone; Romeo Penque, Phil Bodner, Stan Webb, Bernie Kaufman, woodwinds; Moe Wechsler, Bernie Leighton, piano; Al Caiola, Tony Mottola, Allen Hanlon, guitar; Bob Haggart, bass; Don Lamond, drums; Ted Sommer, Willie Rodriguez, Joe Venuto, percussion.

Personnel on “Footlight Percussion”:
Terry Snyder, leader & drummer; Jimmy Maxwell, trumpet; Urbie Green, Dick Hixson, trombones; Stan Webb, Phil Bodner, woodwinds; Buddy Weed, piano, celeste; Tony Mottola, guitar; Frank Carroll, bass; Sol Gubin, Ted Sommer, drums; Eddie Costa, Arthur Marotti, Willie Rodriguez, percussion.

Recorded at Fine Sound Studios, New York City, in 1960 and 1961

Recording Engineer: Bob Fine
Mastering Stereo: George Spiros

Original recordings produced by Don Costa.
Produced for CD release by Jordi Pujol

Stereo · 24-Bit Digitally Remastered
Blue Moon Producciones Discograficas S.L.

Press reviews

"Back in the early days of stereo albums, there were records that were simply made to “show off” the quality of your sound system. This disc is exhibit A and B for what engineers were trying to achieve in attempting to bring an entire jazz orchestra into your room. This music itself is a real treat as well.

Drummer Terry Snyder leads a Wagnerian jazz orchestra in 196-61 sessions that included the likes of Doc Severinsen/tp, Urbie Green/tp, Bob Haggart/b and lots of guys like Eddie Costa on percussion, percussion, PERCUSSION! The rhythmic avalanche includes a chicka boomed “Get Out Of Touwn,” a “Binga, Banga Bongo” that is custom made for a “Twist” party, a tribal “Oye Negra” and a take of “Guys and Dolls” that is as sharp and crisp as Nathan Detroit’s lapels. The chimes are out for “If I Were A Bell” and the drums shine like a bright light on “Softly As In A Morning Sunrise”. The sounds are such a throwback to B movies that you expect a guest appearance from Gloria Grahame or Lee J. Cobb!

Once again, the liner notes and session info is quite educational, and the music is definitely begging to be used for either a move or video gam."

George W. Harris (August 31, 2020)

"The ricochet’s are bouncing off the walls on these two exciting sessions from the early 1960s from leader and drummer Terry Snyder. The two albums are called Mister Percussion and Footlight Percussion, and include SEVEN guests on various things that go bump in the night including Don Lamond, Eddie Costa and Willie Rodriguez, surrounded by horns and brass featuring Doc Severinson/tp, and Urbie Green/tb. All of the tunes are concise, ranging from a 1:55 exotic “Puttin’ On The Ritz” to a chiming an dlush “Bali Hai” complete with swaying flutes. Some Afro Cuban moments get torrid on “Anything Goes” and “Oye Negra” while songs vying to be the theme of a TV show are produced on “Binga, Banga Bongo” and the snappy “Colonel Bogey”. The sound quality is amazingly bright, and it is bold and beautiful for “I Could Have Danced All Night” and the brassy “Ev’rything I’ve Got”. Earth shaking!"

George W. Harris (April 20, 2020)


10,95 €  (tax incl.)

Add to wishlist

Added to your wishlist.

You can manage your wishlist here.

You're not signed in

You must sign in to manage your wishlist.
Sign in
Delivery information:
Delivery in 5-7 days
Shipping rates Terms and conditions
Payment methods:



Customer reviews

Write a review

Mister Percussion + Footlight Percussion (2 LP on 1 CD) Digipack
Rate this product:

Thanks for sharing your thoughts.

Your review has been added and will be available once approved by a moderator.