Lionel Hampton & Woody Herman (2 LP on 1 CD)
  • Crown CST-139
    Crown CST-139
  • Crown CST-133
    Crown CST-133
  • Lionel Hampton
    Lionel Hampton
  • Woody Herman
    Woody Herman

Maxwell Davis

Lionel Hampton & Woody Herman (2 LP on 1 CD)

Fresh Sound Records

Maxwell Davis (arr, dir), Al Porcino, Conrad Gozzo, John Anderson, Ollie Mitchell, Billy Brooks, Danny Stiles, Bernie Glow, Hal Posey, Al Forte, Willie Thomas, Al Stewart (tp), Dick Noel, John Ewing, Lester Robertson, Frank Rehak, Billy Byers, Wayne Andre, Charlie Henry (tb), Dave Wells (v-tb), Jackie Kelso, John LaPorta (cl, as), Jewell Grant, Bill Green (as), Plas Johnson, Bumps Myers, Bill Woodman, Al Cohn, Joe Romano, Don Lanphere (ts), Floyd Turnham, Marty Flax (bs), Larry Bunker, Eddie Costa (vib), Gerald Wiggins, Willard McDaniel, Bill Potts (p), Irving Ashby (g), Curtis Counce, Jack Six (b), Earl Palmer, William Eperson, Jim Campbell (d), Lionel Hampton, Woody Herman (compositions)

Reference: FSRCD1052

Bar code: 8427328610520

A Tribute to the Big Bands · Orchestras Arranged and Conducted by MAXWELL DAVIS

Two collectible albums in the finest Stereophonic sound
Comprehensive booklet including original liner notes
Additional texts and historic photos of the orchestras

· Collector's Edition
· Original LP Covers
· Complete Personnel Details
· 16-page Booklet
· Stereo Recordings
· Newly Remastered in 24-Bit

With signs of a resurgence of interest in big bands in the late 1950s, Maxwell Davis came up with the idea of producing a series of albums for Crown Records recorded in the finest stereophonic sound, in a tribute to such legendary bandleaders as Duke Ellington, Count Basie, Lionel Hampton, Woody Herman, Charlie Barnet and Stan Kenton, among others. For this purpose, he wrote all new arrangements and reimagined and conducted a number of tribute bands to perform the music with the signature spirit that made their original leaders famous. The personnel for each album consisted primarily of prominent members and soloists who performed with the original bands, with additional valuable contributions from some of the best jazz musicians working in the Hollywood and New York studios.

Maxwell Davis' writing is as fresh in these sessions as it was when it inspired the work of the early arrangers. Thanks to his efforts, each of these albums retains the lush, individual sound of those notable bands. Listening to these performances brings us joy and memories from the golden age of big bands, which up to this day illuminate the music scene every time that a good band charges and swings through timeless material.


01. Air Mail Special (Goodman-Mundy-Christian) 3:15
02. Midnight Sun (Lionel Hampton) 3:25
03. Hamp's Boogie Woogie (Hampton-Buckner) 7:25
04. Cool Train (Bailey-Hampton) 4:44
05. Flying Home (Goodman-Hampton) 7:00
06. Woodchopper's Ball (Herman-Bishop) 4:50
07. Northwest Passage (Herman-Jackson) 3:05
08. Apple Honey (Woody Herman) 3.31
09. Goosey Gander (Woody Herman) 3:38
10. Four Brothers (Jimmy Giuffre) 3:21
11. Blue Flame (Woody Herman) 2:56
12. Wild Root (Herman-Hefti) 3:19
13. Bijou (Ralph Burns) 3:34
14. Blowin' Up A Storm (Woody Herman) 2:53

Album details

Tracks #1-5, from “Compositions of Lionel Hampton and Others” (Crown CST-139)
Tracks #6-14, from “A Tribute to Woody Herman” (Crown CST-133)

Personnel on "Compositions of Lionel Hamnpton":
Collective personnel including Al Porcino, Conrad Gozzo, John Anderson, Ollie Mitchell, Billy Brooks, trumpets; Dave Wells, valve trombone; Dick Noel, John Ewing, Lester Robertson, trombones; Jackie Kelso, clarinet & alto sax; Jewell Grant, Bill Green, alto saxes; Plas Johnson, Bumps Myers, Bill Woodman, tenor saxes; Floyd Turnham, baritone sax; Larry Bunker, vibes; Gerald Wiggins, Willard McDaniel, piano; Irving Ashby, guitar; Curtis Counce, bass; Earl Palmer, William Eperson, drums.
Recorded at Sound Enterprises, Hollywood, January 29 & February 22, 1959

Personnel on "Compositions of Woody Herman":
Collective personnel including Danny Stiles, Bernie Glow, Hal Posey, Al Forte, Willie Thomas, Al Stewart, trumpets; Frank Rehak, Billy Byers, Wayne Andre, Charlie Henry, trombones; John LaPorta, clarinet & alto sax; Al Cohn, Joe Romano, Don Lanphere, tenor saxes; Marty Flax, baritone sax; Eddie Costa, vibes; Bill Potts, piano; Jack Six, bass; Jim Campbell, drums.
Recorded at Capitol Records, New York City, February 1959

Original liner notes: Frank Evans
Cover photography: Ron Vogel / Chuck Stevens
Cover designs: Charles Meggs

Recordings produced by Maxwell Davis
Produced for CD release by Jordi Pujol

Stereo · 24-Bit Digitally Remastered
Blue Moon Producciones Discograficas S.L.

10,95 €  (tax incl.)

Add to wishlist

Added to your wishlist.

You can manage your wishlist here.

You're not signed in

You must sign in to manage your wishlist.
Sign in
Delivery information:
Delivery in 5-7 days
Shipping rates Terms and conditions
Payment methods:



Customer reviews

No customer reviews yet. Login to leave your impressions!

Write a review

Lionel Hampton & Woody Herman (2 LP on 1 CD)
Rate this product:

Thanks for sharing your thoughts.

Your review has been added and will be available once approved by a moderator.