Swingin' Brightly and Gently · Peggy Lee With Jack Marshall's Music (2 LP + 10 Single Tracks on 1 CD) Digipack
  • Capitol ST-1049
    Capitol ST-1049
  • Capitol ST-1131
    Capitol ST-1131
  • Jack Marshall
    Jack Marshall
  • Peggy Lee
    Peggy Lee

Peggy Lee

Swingin' Brightly and Gently · Peggy Lee With Jack Marshall's Music (2 LP + 10 Single Tracks on 1 CD) Digipack

Blue Moon Golden Series

Peggy Lee (vcl), Jack Marshall (arr, cond), Conrad Gozzo, Pete Candoli, Jack Sheldon, Manny Klein, Don Fagerquist (tp), Milt Bernhart, Frank Rosolino (tb), Bob Enevoldsen, Stu Williamson (v-tb), Benny Carter (as), Ted Nash (ts), Johnny Williams, Jimmy Rowles, Lou Levy, Milt Raskin (p), Howard Roberts, Barney Kessel, Al Hendrickson, Allan Reuss, Bill Pittman (g), Joe Mondragon, Max Bennett, (b), Shelly Manne (d), Larry Bunker (vib, perc)

Reference: BMCD 880

Bar code: 8427328008808


· Complete Recordings 1958-1959
· Collector's Edition
· Issued in Digipack
· 2 Original LPs + Single Tracks on 1 CD
· Original Cover Art and Liner Notes
· Stereo Recordings
· Newly Remastered in 24-Bit


In 1957, Peggy Lee returned to Capitol, the label that she considered her alma mater. By then she was a mature artist with a fully developed, insinuatingly attractive and individual style. The vocalist had spent eight years (1944-1951) at Capitol Records, and after a time with Decca, would go on to spend fifteen more at Capitol (1957-1972). One of her favorite arrangers and conductors on this second stint was Jack Marshall, who was co-responsible of Peggy’s biggest hit, Fever.

In 1958 and 1959, she asked Marshall to write for groups of different styles—some had strings and deftly used trombones, others were swinging or Latin flavored small groups. Their collaboration —aside from the top-selling “Latin a la Lee!,” not included in this set— resulted in two of Peggy’s best albums, “Things Are Swingin’” and “I Like Men!,” as well as all the single tracks arranged by Jack Marshall during this period. She swung rhythm tunes in her inimitable manner, emphasizing in the right places and coming up with a surprising turn or two where least expected.

She sings about her men, too, with a mix of simplicity and seductiveness, and belts out the blues, earthy and down home in feeling, sustaining a mood as effectively as she does on the ballads. They are clever, nicely crafted scores, and Peggy Lee is in fine voice and spirit, employing her full range, vocally and emotionally, and her flirtatious sense humor.


Sample this album
Total time: 79:58 min.

01. Things Are Swingin’ (Lee-Marshall) 2:11
02. Lullaby in Rhythm (Goodman-Sampson-Profit-Hirsh) 2:15
03. You’re Getting to Be a Habit with Me (Warren-Dubin) 2:40
04. Fever (Davenport-Cooley) 3:19
05. You Don’t Know (How Much I Love You) (Walter Springs) 2:24
06. Riding High (Cole Porter) 2:08
07. Alright, Okay, You Win (Watts-Wyche) 2:52
08. It’s Been a Long, Long Time (Styne-Cahn) 2:18
09. It’s a Good, Good Night (Peggy Lee) 1:55
10. You’re Mine, You (Green-Heyman) 1:48
11. Life Is for Livin’ (Van Heusen-Cahn) 3:13
12. Alone Together (Schwartz-Dietz) 2:06 19233
13. It’s a Wonderful World (Savit-Watson-Adamson) 2:14
14. I’m Beginning to See the Light (James-Ellington-Hodges-George) 1:47
15. Light of Love (Charles Singleton) 1:28
16. Sweetheart (Winfield Scott) 2:23
17. Charley, My Boy (Fiorito-Kahn) 1:34
18. Oh Johnny, Oh Johnny, Oh! (Olman-Rose) 1:45
19. My Man (Yvain-Pollock) 2:11
20. I’m Just Wild About Harry (Sissle-Blake) 2:07
21. I Love to Love (Herbert Baker) 2:49
22. It’s So Nice to Have a Man Around (Elliot-Spina) 2:21
23. So In Love (Cole Porter) 2:32
24. I Like Men! (Lee-Marshall) 2:04
25. Jim (Petrillo-Ross-Shawn) 2:58
26. Bill (Kern-Hammerstein II-Wodehouse) 2:45
27. When a Woman Loves a Man (Jenkins-Hanighen-Mercer) 2:45
28. Good for Nothin’ Joe (Bloom-Koehler) 2:30
29. Hallelujah, I Love Him So (Ray Charles) 2:28
30. You Deserve (Jacobson-Roberts) 2:25
31. I’m Looking Out the Window (Don Raye) 2:49
32. The Tree (Peggy Lee) 1:42
33. The Christmas List (Peggy Lee) 2:36
34. Where Do I Go from Here? (Harnick-Bock) 2:20

Album details

All tracks originally released by Capitol Records
Tracks #1-3, and 6-14, from the LP “Things Are Swingin’” T-1049
Tracks #17-28, from the LP “I Like Men!” T-1131
Tracks #32 & 33, from the LP “Christmas Carousel” T-1423
Tracks #4 & 5, from the single F-3998
Tracks #15 & 16, from the single F-4071
Tracks #29 & 31, from the single F-4189
Tracks #30 & 34, from the single F-4298
Tracks #32 & 33, from the single F-4311
Tracks #4,5,29,30,31,34, from the LP “All Aglow Again!” T1366

Peggy Lee, vocals
With Jack Marshall’s Music, featuring: Conrad Gozzo, Pete Candoli, Jack Sheldon, Don Fagerquist, Milt Bernhart, Frank Rosolino, Benny Carter, Bob Enevoldsen, Johnny Williams, Howard Roberts, Joe Mondragon, Shelly Manne.
Recorded at Capitol Tower Studios, Hollywood, 1958-1959

See 8-page booklet for complete recording details.

Original recordings produced by Dave Cavanaugh
Discography research and CD production by Jordi Pujol

Stereo · 24-Bit Digitally Remastered

Press reviews

"Miss Peggy Lee is always guaranteed to stump listeners on Blindfold Tests. Depending on the record, people mistake her for a young Billie Holiday, but never a white singer, as she’s got a delivery that was years ahead of most Anglo canaries. This album has her complete recordings of 1958-59 with Jack Marshall’s arrangements and orchestra, and if you’re going to get only one Peggy Lee album, this is the place to start, as it has all of her swinging strengths.

Marshalls band included some of the greats of jazz, including here Benny Carter, Shelly Manne, Pete Condoli, Jack Sheldon, Milt Bernhart, Howard Roberts and Frank Rosolino. The band and Ms. Lee show their versatility as they delivery some toe tapping Basie sounds on exciting tunes “Things Are Swingin’,” “Alright, OK, You Win” and “Riding High” as the reeds go wild. There’s a twinkle in her eye as she coos on”I’m Beginning to See The Light” and goes chicka-boom on a fun “Oh Johnny, Oh Johnny Oh.”

Some nice country guitar blues has Lee rollicking on “You Don’t Know (How Much I Love You” and delivers hip R&B, and she puts the “purr” in percussion during “Good For Nothin’ Joe.” She can get sensuou8s with a come hither lyric on “Alone Together” while carrying a late night torch with strings on “Bill.” She is like a vocal version of Lester Young; light and airy and just so deliciously slightly behind the beat, as she holds back just the right amount on the frenetic “I’m Just Wild About harry” and even the classic “Fever” works in this setting, with the stark accompaniment feeling like a dark negligee, fitting perfectly loose on Lee. This album is a vocal essential, making all modern day chanteuses pale in comparison. WHEW!"

George W. Harris (February 9, 2017)


10,95 €  (tax incl.)

Add to wishlist

Added to your wishlist.

You can manage your wishlist here.

You're not signed in

You must sign in to manage your wishlist.
Sign in
Delivery information:
Delivery in 5-7 days
Shipping rates Terms and conditions
Payment methods:



Customer reviews

Write a review

Swingin' Brightly and Gently · Peggy Lee With Jack Marshall's Music (2 LP + 10 Single Tracks on 1 CD) Digipack
Rate this product:

Thanks for sharing your thoughts.

Your review has been added and will be available once approved by a moderator.