Jazz for Dancing and Listening (2-CD Digipack Edition)
  • Atlantic 1216 Atlantic 1216
  • Capitol T925 Capitol T925
  • Capitol T659 Capitol T659
  • Atlantic 1249 Atlantic 1249
  • Dave Pell Dave Pell

Dave Pell

Jazz for Dancing and Listening (2-CD Digipack Edition)

Fresh Sound Jazz City Series

Don Fagerquist (tp), Ray Sims (tb), Dave Pell (ts), Bob Gordon, Marty Berman (bs), Paul Smith, André Previn, Claude Williamson (p), Tony Rizzi (g), Buddy Clark (b), Jack Sperling (d)

Reference: FSRCD 2242_2

Bar code: 8427328622424

The Dave Pell Octet was one of the most successful West Coast modern jazz combos in the 50s, playing a stimulating and swinging repertoire ideal for the groups aims. Dave Pell favoured variations on the melody rather than the harmonic emphasis heard in the work of his contemporaries. The deftly crafted arrangements, by Marty Paich, Shorty Rogers, Johnny Mandel, Wes Hensel, Bill Holman, Jack Montrose, André Previn, and Jimmy Giuffre, established the groups sound and personality, and offered shrewdly placed spots for its stellar soloists.

They were a hit everywhere, with concerts and teenage dances notable showcases for the unit. With three of its key personnel, Pell, Don Fagerquist and Ray Sims, honed by years as star soloists of Les Browns band, the Octets cohesion was remarkable. These originally Atlantic and Capitol sessions also featured the wonderfully swinging sound of Bob Gordons baritone sax. Elected New Star of the Year in the 1955 Down Beat critics poll, he was killed in an automobile accident two months after these recordings were made. His work here remains a brilliant display of his great talent.


CD 1

01. How Are Things In Glocca Morra? (5:57)
02. Memphis In June (4:06)
03. Deep In The Heart Of Texas (2:54)
04. New Orleans (4:25)
05. The White Cliffs Of Dover (2:57)
06. Sunday In Savannah (3:54)
07. Isle Of Capri (2:46)
08. Shuffle Off To Buffalo (2:54)
09. Paris In The Spring (3:38)
10. On A Slow Boat To China (3:20)
11. London In July (3:26)
12. Flying Down To Rio (2:33)
13. I Had The Craziest Dream (2:50)
14. Jazz Wagner (3:25)
15. Mikes Peak (2:25)
16. Poopsie (2:37)

CD 2

01. Star Eyes (2:55)
02. Klump Jump (2:44)
03. My Heart Belongs To Daddy (2:41)
04. On The Good Ship Lollipop (2:06)
05. Cant We Be Friends (2:30)
06. Ive Got A Feeling Im Falling (3:34)
07. Love Is The Sweetest Thing (3:31)
08. Ive Got A Crush On You (2:15)
09. If I Could Be With You One Hour Tonight (3:31)
10. Lets Do It (3:05)
11. Just One More Chance (3:10)
12. Who Walks In When I Walk Out (4:19)
13. You Cant Pull The Wool Over My Eyes (3:12)
14. Bewitched, Bothered & Bewildered (4:55)
15. Solitude (4:31)
16. Ive Found A New Baby (3:20)

Dave Pell Octet collective personnel:

Don Fagerquist (tp), Ray Sims (tb), Dave Pell (ts), Bob Gordon, and Marty Berman (bs), Donn Trenner, Paul Smith, André Previn, and Claude Williamson (p), Tony Rizzi (g), Buddy Clark, Rolly Bundock, and Mel Pollan (b), Bill Richmond, Jack Sperling, and Irv Kluger (d).

Arrangements by Marty Paich, Shorty Rogers, Jack Montrose, Johnny Mandel, Bill Holman, André Previn, Jimmy Giuffre and Wes Hensel

All sessions recorded in Hollywood on April 21, 23 & 26, June 15, 17, 1955, and on February 13, 20, 21, 1956.

24-Bit Digitally Remastered



$19.50  (tax incl.)

Add to wishlist

Added to your wishlist.

You can manage your wishlist here.

You're not signed in

You must sign in to manage your wishlist.
Sign in
Delivery information:
Delivery in 7-10 days
Shipping rates Terms and conditions
Payment methods:



Customer reviews

No customer reviews yet. Login to leave your impressions!

Write a review

Jazz for Dancing and Listening (2-CD Digipack Edition)
Rate this product:

Thanks for sharing your thoughts.

Your review has been added and will be available once approved by a moderator.