Cecil Gant

The Complete Recordings Vol.7: 1950-1951

Blue Moon Blues Series

Reference: BMCD 6052

Bar code: 8427328060547


Cecil Gant (April 4, 1913 - February 4, 1951) was an American Blues singer & pianist.

Born in Nashville, Tennessee, Gant worked local clubs through the mid 1930's up until the Second World War, when he enlisted in the US Army. Though his piano was blues-based, vocally he was a crooner of considerable cross-over appeal. He sang at a War Bond rally in Los Angeles, signed with the Gilt Edge record label, and cut the ballad "I Wonder" late in 1944, billed as "Pvt. Cecil Grant."
"I Wonder" reached number one on the Harlem Hit Parade (as the "race" chart was called then) and sold impressively nationwide. Gant then went on tour billed as "The G.I. Sing-sation," dressed in Army khaki and breaking attendance records at major venues, attracting both black and white audiences. But he was unlucky, and perhaps too early: it was left to Nat Cole and Billy Eckstine to find the lucrative "sepia Sinatra" market. Grant had other releases on King (1947), Bullet (1948-49), Downbeat/Swingtime (1949), and Imperial (1950), but his moment of juke box glory was gone. Cecil is considered THE grand-father of rock n roll. His 1951 song: "Rock Me Baby" should be considered as the first rock n roll song ever, both his lyrics and music are far ahead, as he was far ahead of his times.
Gant died of pneumonia in Nashville in 1951.

1. Goodnight Irene
2. My House Fell Down
3. We're Gonna Rock
4. Yesterday
5. Someday You'll Be Sorry
6. Owl Stew
7. Playin' Myself The Blues
8. Train Time Blues
9. It Ain't Gonna Be Like That
10. It's Christmas Time Again
11. Hello Santa Claus
12. Paging Mr. Jackson
13. Shot Gun Boogie
14. Rock Little Baby
15. Little Baby
16. Don't You Worry
17. God Bless My Daddy
18. The Grass Is Getting Greener
19. I'll Remember You (If You'll Remember Me) (bonus track)
20. Roll 'Em Pete (bonus track)
21. I Wonder (bonus track)
22. Cecil's Boogie (bonus track)

10,95 €  (tax incl.)

Add to wishlist

Added to your wishlist.

You can manage your wishlist here.

You're not signed in

You must sign in to manage your wishlist.
Sign in
Delivery information:
Delivery in 5-7 days
Shipping rates Terms and conditions
Payment methods:



Customer reviews

Write a review

The Complete Recordings Vol.7: 1950-1951
Rate this product:

Thanks for sharing your thoughts.

Your review has been added and will be available once approved by a moderator.