Betty Hall Jones

The Complete Recordings: 1947-1954

Blue Moon Blues Series

Betty Hall Jones, King Porter, Marshal Royal, Clifford Scott, Maxwell Davis, Bumps Myers, Tiny Webb, Duddy Harper, Jesse Price

Reference: BMCD 6045


Blues vocalist, stand-up pianist and occasionaly organist, Betty Hall Jones worked with Bus Moten's band and Addie Williams in Kansas City. Returning to California, she performed as a single artist before joining drummer/vocalist Roy Milton's band in L.A. in 1937. She almost certainly recorded on piano behind Alton Redd for the Black & White label in 1945, and accompanied Luke Jones on the Atlas recording sessions, and possibly with Red Mack for the same label in 1946 and 1947.
In the same year she recorded with King Porter for Imperial label (the trmendous "That Early Morning Boogie" included on this CD) and under her own name for Atomic, Capitol and under Luke Jones' name for Modern. She recalled cutting unissued titles behind Ray Charles for Capitol.
In the 1950's she recorded for Dootone and Combo.

1. That Early Morning Boogie
2. Learn to Boogie
3. Fine and Mellow
4. The Same Old Boogie
5. Make Me Know It
6. Why Can't You Love That Way
7. This Joint's Too Hip for Me
8. If I ever Cry
9. You Got to Have What It Takes
10. I Never Misse the Sunshine (I'm So Used to the Rain)
11. That's Man for you
12. Thrill Me
13. Buddy Stay Off That Wine
14. Richmond Blues
15. Way after Hours
16. Goin' Back to Town
17. Frustration Frustration
18. Poor Spending Baby
19. Shina no Yoru
20. Love my Love
21. Is He Handsome
22. How Long Blues

10,95 €  (tax incl.)

Add to wishlist

Added to your wishlist.

You can manage your wishlist here.

You're not signed in

You must sign in to manage your wishlist.
Sign in
Delivery information:
Delivery in 5-7 days
Shipping rates Terms and conditions
Payment methods:



Customer reviews

Write a review

The Complete Recordings: 1947-1954
Rate this product:

Thanks for sharing your thoughts.

Your review has been added and will be available once approved by a moderator.