Plays Big Hit Dances · Complete BOYD and UNITED ARTISTS Recordings (2 LP on 1 CD) Digipack
  • Boyd UAL 3162
    Boyd UAL 3162
  • United Artists UAS 6175
    United Artists UAS 6175
  • Phil Upchurch
    Phil Upchurch

Phil Upchurch

Plays Big Hit Dances · Complete BOYD and UNITED ARTISTS Recordings (2 LP on 1 CD) Digipack

Blue Moon Golden Series

Phil Upchurch (g, b), Cornell Muldrow, Howard Whaley (org), Mack Johnson (tp), David 'Bubba' Brooks (ts), Eddie Silvers (ts, bs), Joe Hadrick, Al Duncan (d), Sonny Boy Williamson II (harmonica)

Reference: BMCD 908

Bar code: 8427328009089


· Collectors Edition
· Extensive new liner notes
· Issued in Digipack
· 2 Original LPs on 1 CD
· Original Cover Art and Liner Notes
· Mono / Stereo Recordings
· Newly Remastered

Philip Upchurch, born on July 19, 1941, in Chicago, Illinois, developed an early connection to music through his father's piano. His musical journey took a significant turn when he started playing the guitar during his teenage years. In 1956, while still in high school, Phil immersed himself in the local music scene, contributing to R&B backing bands such as The Kool Gents. In 1957, right after graduating, he joined The Spaniels and collaborated with Jerry Butler and Dee Clark's band. The latter's theme song, "You Can't Sit Down," recorded in 1960 on the Boyd label, gained unexpected success when released under Phil's name a year later, reaching No. 29 on the Billboard Hot 100 chart, marking a pivotal moment in his early career.

By that time, Boyd had recorded Upchurch’s first 12-inch album, and United Artists signed an exclusive contract with Bob Boyd, covering his entire catalog. The success of the single led to the album "You Can't Sit Down - Part II," released under both the Boyd and UA labels. In 1962, after Upchurch signed an exclusive contract with United Artists, "The Big Hit Dances" LP was released, receiving another Billboard 4-star review during the twist craze.

This CD collection features Phil Upchurch's earliest recordings, capturing the formative years before he delved into recording work and gained acclaim as a highly sought-after musician in Chicago. Over time, his versatility naturally unfolded, enabling him to explore a diverse range of genres, from rock and blues to jazz. For several years, he played a prominent role in the vibrant music scenes of both Chicago and later in Los Angeles recording studios.

Beyond his role as a sideman, Upchurch led notable albums throughout his extensive career, solidifying his legacy as a versatile guitarist and bassist.

—Jordi Pujol

01. You Can't Sit Down – Part I (Clark-Upchurch-Muldrow) 2:14
02. Oop Poop Adoo (Jessie Hill) 3:59
03. Honest Injun (Phil Upchurch) 2:17
04. Pink Lolli Pop (Cornell Muldrow) 3:16
05. Pogo (David Brooks) 2:33
06. Cha Cha Cha Blues (Clark-Muldrow) 4:16
07. You Can't Sit Down – Part II (Clark-Upchurch-Muldrow) 2:16
08. Straw Hat (Cornell Muldrow) 2:46
09. Running Bear (Richardson Hall) 2:41
10. Nothing But the Soul (Clark-Muldrow) 3:38
11. Evad (David Brooks) 2:30
12. Organ Boogie (Clark-Muldrow) 1:48
13. Cha Cha Maracas (Phil Upchurch) 2:26
14. Here It Is – The Roach (Phil Upchurch) 2:58
15. The Swivel – Part I – Swivel & Twist (Eddie Silvers) 2:24
16. The Swivel – Part II – Swivel & Twist (Eddie Silvers) 2:14
17. Flap Jack – The Majestic (David Brooks) 2:04
18. Fill Up – The Fly (David Brooks) 2:10
19. Sonia – The Swim (Phil Upchurch) 2:50
20. Stonewall – Continental (David Brooks) 2:12
21. Edward The III – The Horse (Eddie Silvers) 2:23
22. Dark Town Strutter's Ball – The Fish (Shelton Brooks) 2:02
23. Clean It Up – The New Watusi (Al Duncan) 2:21
24. Diddley Bo – Mambo Cha Cha (Eddie Silvers) 2:31
25. The Persian (Upchurch-Muldrow) 2:23
26. The Hog Twist (Cornell Muldrow) 2:35 *
27. That's Where It Is (Eddie Silvers) 2:32 *
28. Organ Grinder's Twist (Hudson-Parish-Mills) 2:23 *

Album details

(*) Bonus tracks not on the original albums

Tracks #1-13, from the 12” album “You Can’t Sit Down - Part II” (Boyd UAL 3162)
Tracks #14-25, from the 12” album “The Big Hit Dances” (United Artists UAS 6175)
Tracks #26 & 27, from the United Artists single UA 385
Track #28, from the United Artists single UA 417

Tracks #1 & 7: Phil Upchurch, el-guitar, el-bass; Cornell Muldrow, organ; David “Bubba” Brooks, tenor sax; Mack Johnson, trumpet; Joe Hadrick, drums.
Recorded in New Orleans 1960
Tracks #2-6 & 8-13: Eddie Silvers, tenor & baritone sax, added; and Al Duncan, drums.
Recorded in Philadelphia, June 1961

Same personnel as above, but a second trumpet added, and Howard Whaley, organ.
Recorded in Chicago 1961

Probably same personnel as above, but Sonny Boy Williamson II, harmonica added.
Recorded in Chicago 1962

Original recordings produced by Bobby Boyd (Boyd Records)
and Don Talty (United Artists)
This compilation produced for CD release by Jordi Pujol
© 2023 by Blue Moon

Mono / Stereo · 24-Bit Digitally Remastered
Blue Moon Producciones Discograficas, S.L.

Press reviews

"One of the stalwarts of the LA studio scene, guitarist Phil Upchurch (b 1941) still plays once in awhile at the local clubs like The Baked Potato, making his name on countless sessions for artists like Stan Getz, Dizzy Gillespie and George Benson.

Here, he taps into his inner Chitlin’ Circuit for some party attitudes on organ grooved material with Cornell Muldrown-Howard Whaley/org, David "Bubba" Brooks/ts, Mack Johnson/tp and Joe Hadrick/dr. The focus is on creating music for the latest dance crazes (this is 1961, after all), there are deep rivulets for songs like”The Twist” “The Fly”, “The Swim”, and “The Mambo”. The big hit of the Dovell’s, “ You Can’t Sit Down”, is stretched out over two parts, and a version of the doo wop classic “Running Bear” is simply a hoot. This album is not for the Kenny G crowd-if you’re not on the dance floor with someone, or cruising on the highway 10 miles per hour faster than you should, you’re not getting it."

—George W. Harris (January 22, 2024)


10,95 €  (tax incl.)

Add to wishlist

Added to your wishlist.

You can manage your wishlist here.

You're not signed in

You must sign in to manage your wishlist.
Sign in
Delivery information:
Delivery in 5-7 days
Shipping rates Terms and conditions
Payment methods:



Customer reviews

Write a review

Plays Big Hit Dances · Complete BOYD and UNITED ARTISTS Recordings (2 LP on 1 CD) Digipack
Rate this product:

Thanks for sharing your thoughts.

Your review has been added and will be available once approved by a moderator.