Goree Carter

The Complete Recordings - Volume 1: 1949-1951

Blue Moon Blues Series

Lonnie Lyons, Willie Johnson, Buster Pickens, Henry Hayes, Conrad Johnson

Reference: BMCD 6027


Goree Carter (b. Houston, Dec. 31, 1930; d. Houston c. 1988), singer and guitarist strongly influenced by T-Bone Walke, is one of the pioneer of the Texas sound in early electric blues guitar--the single-string runs and two-string "blue note" chords- It's a sound made famous a few years later by Chuck Berry and is still copied to this day. Carter recorded heavily in 1949 and 1950, but seldom returned to music after having been drafted by the army at 19, and his recordings have drifted into obscurity.
In this first of two volumes to document his career, Goree Carter is usually accompanied by a small band with two saxes, trumpet, piano, bass and drums. This set includes his first two sides from 1949, a demo session that was issued under the name of Little T-Bone.

1. Love's a Gamble
2. Christmas Time
3. Sweet Ole Woman's Blues
4. Back Home Blues
5. Rock Awhile
6. I'll Send You
7. How can You Love Me
8. My Love is Coming Down
9. Hoy-Hoy
10. I Just Thought of You
11. She's Just Old Fashioned
12. Workin' with My Baby
13. Is it True?
14. What a Friend Will Do
15. She's my Best Bet
16. Serenade
17. Come on Let's Boogie
18. Lonely World
19. Drunk or Sober
20. You are my Everything
21. Every Dog Has His Day
22. Everybody's Love Crazy
23. I'm Just Another Fool
24. If It's True What They Tell Me
25. Let's Rock
26. True Love is Hard to Find

10,95 €  (tax incl.)

Add to wishlist

Added to your wishlist.

You can manage your wishlist here.

You're not signed in

You must sign in to manage your wishlist.
Sign in
Delivery information:
Delivery in 5-7 days
Shipping rates Terms and conditions
Payment methods:



Customer reviews

Write a review

The Complete Recordings - Volume 1: 1949-1951
Rate this product:

Thanks for sharing your thoughts.

Your review has been added and will be available once approved by a moderator.