Marvin Johnson

Jumpy Rhythm Jive: The Complete Recordings 1946-1951

Blue Moon Blues Series

Harrold Morrow, Joe Lewis, Edgar Mason, Roy Johnson, Herschel Coleman, Calvin Boze, Jesse Cryor, James King, Charlie Davis, Stanley Morgan, 'Brother Bones'

Reference: BMCD 6050

Bar code: 8427328060509


Marvin Johnson was a highly talented saxophonist who had almost 20 years of experience in the bands on the West Coast, before he made the first records under his own name. He began his musical career in 1927 as a member of Leon Rene's Southern Syncopators, joined Les Hite in 1930 and stayed for 9 years. He was briefly with Count Basie's Orchestra in 1942 playing alongside Earle Warren and Don Byas, and then formed his own combo with his drummer brother Roy in the mid-forties, recording for Coronet, Sepia and G&G from 1945-1946 and for Capitol in 1949.

01. Thats My Baby, Part I
02. Thats My Baby, Part II
03. Y-O-U Controls Me
04. Ace In The Hole
05. My Blue Heaven
06. My Baby Loves Me So Supreme
07. Mercy Mercy
08. Safronia Bee
09. Jumpy Rhythm Jive
10. Just A Dream
11. Too Bad
12. Peculiah Beulah
13. Hey Lawdy Mama
14. Amnesia
15. Said The Spider To The Fly
16. Hillbilly Boogie
17. Morganistic
18. Save Me A Boogie
19. Sweet Georgia Brown
20. Poor Butterfly
21. How Am I To Know
22. Take Me Out To The Ball Game
23. In A Shanty In Old Shanty Town

10,95 €  (tax incl.)

Add to wishlist

Added to your wishlist.

You can manage your wishlist here.

You're not signed in

You must sign in to manage your wishlist.
Sign in
Delivery information:
Delivery in 5-7 days
Shipping rates Terms and conditions
Payment methods:



Customer reviews

Write a review

Jumpy Rhythm Jive: The Complete Recordings 1946-1951
Rate this product:

Thanks for sharing your thoughts.

Your review has been added and will be available once approved by a moderator.