A Musical Portrait of Ray Charles + Goes Latin / Bossa Nova (2 LP on 1 CD) Digipack
  • MGM SE 4059 MGM SE 4059
  • United Artists UAS 6242 United Artists UAS 6242

LeRoy Holmes

A Musical Portrait of Ray Charles + Goes Latin / Bossa Nova (2 LP on 1 CD) Digipack

Blue Moon 800 Series

LeRoy Holmes (dir), Claus Ogerman (arr), Joe Wilder, Ernie Royal, Jimmy Maxwell, Bernie Glow, Bernie Privin (tp), Jim Buffington, Tony Miranda (Frh), Wayne Andre, Frank Rehak (tb), Sam Taylor (ts), Hymie Schertzer (as), Sol Schlinger (bs), Dick Hyman (p), Alan Hanlon (g), Jack Lesberg (b), Osie Johnson (d)

Reference: BMCD 895

Bar code: 8427328008952

· Collector's Edition
· Issued in Digipack
· 2 Original LPs on 1 CD
· Original Cover Art and Liner Notes
· Stereo Recordings
· Newly Remastered in 24-Bit

“A Musical Portrait of Ray Charles” is a warm and sincere tribute, from one recording artist to another. LeRoy Holmes, famous bandleader and arranger, bows deeply in music to Ray Charles. What Holmes managed to achieve in truly satisfying fashion is an orchestral version of the Ray Charles style, through a combination of fine performances by a large orchestra and name soloists, who add the excitement and flavor that make Charles’ vocals so individual.

On “LeRoy Holmes Goes Latin—Bossa Nova,” the bandleader —working closely with Claus Ogerman, an outstanding composer and arranger in his own right— gathered a group of leading jazz musicians to get a most unusual treatment for his foray into the musical world of Bossa Nova.

01. Unchain My Heart (Jones-James) 3:24
02. I’ll Drown in My Tears (Henry Glover) 2:48
03. Hit the Road Jack (Percy Mayfield) 2:26
04. Cherry (Redman-Gilbert) 3:11
05. Hallelujah I Love Her So (Ray Charles) 2:33
06. Tell the World About You (Ray Charles) 2:00
07. Georgia on My Mind (Carmichael-Gorrell) 3:46
08. Ain’t That Love (Ray Charles) 3:11
09. Just for a Thrill (Armstrong-Raye) 3:01
10. What’d I Say (Ray Charles) 3:03
11. Ruby (Parish-Roemheld) 4:11
12. I Got a Woman (Ray Charles) 2:51
13. One Note Samba (Jobim-Mendonça) 3:08
14. Desafinado (Jobim-Mendonça) 3:44
15. Morena (Claus Ogerman) 2:55
16. Baia (Ari Barroso) 2:59
17. Adios (Enric Madriguera) 2:43
18. Recado (Ferreira-Antonio) 2:54
19. Tabatinga (Claus Ogerman) 2:33
20. The Jazz Samba (Claus Ogerman) 3:17
21. Perfidia (Alberto Domínguez) 3:27
22. Poinciana (Simon-Bernier) 2:51
23. Nocturne (Claus Ogerman) 2:39
24. O Pato (Silva-Teixeira) 3:01

Total time: 73:11 min.

Tracks #1-12, from the LP “A Musical Portrait of Ray Charles” (MGM SE 4059)
Tracks #13-24, from the LP “L.H. Goes Latin-Bossa Nova” (United Artists UAS 6242)

See booklet for complete personnel details

"A Musical Portrait of Ray Charles"
Orchestra Arranged and Conducted by LeRoy Holmes
Featuring Joe Wilder, Ernie Royal, Jimmy Maxwell, Bernie Glow, Bernie Privin, trumpets; Jim Buffington, Tony Miranda, French horns; Wayne Andre, Frank Rehak, trombones; Sam 'The Man' Taylor (tenor), Hymie Schertzer (alto), Sol Schlinger (baritone), saxes; Dick Hyman, piano; Alan Hanlon, guitar; Jack Lesberg, bass; Osie Johnson, drums; Avrim Weiss, George Ockner (Concertmaster), violins; violas; cellos and harp.
Recorded at Bell Sound Studios in New York City, 1962

"Goes Latin / Bossa Nova":
Orchestra Conducted by LeRoy Holmes & Arranged by Claus Ogerman
Recorded at A&R Recording Studios, New York City, 1962

Recording and mixing engineer: Phil Macy (#1-12), Phil Ramone (#13-24)
This compilation produced for CD release by Jordi Pujol

Stereo · 24-Bit Digitally Remastered


$11.26  (tax incl.)

Add to wishlist

Added to your wishlist.

You can manage your wishlist here.

You're not signed in

You must sign in to manage your wishlist.
Sign in
Delivery information:
Delivery in 7-10 days
Shipping rates Terms and conditions
Payment methods:



Customer reviews

No customer reviews yet. Login to leave your impressions!

Write a review

A Musical Portrait of Ray Charles + Goes Latin / Bossa Nova (2 LP on 1 CD) Digipack
Rate this product:

Thanks for sharing your thoughts.

Your review has been added and will be available once approved by a moderator.