Big Band Bossa Nova + Let's Dance Bossa Nova (2 LP on 1 CD) Digipack
  • Command RS 851SD
    Command RS 851SD
  • Enoch Light
    Enoch Light

Enoch Light

Big Band Bossa Nova + Let's Dance Bossa Nova (2 LP on 1 CD) Digipack

Blue Moon Golden Series

Enoch Light (dir), Doc Severinsen, Bernie Glow, Irv Markowitz (tp), Urbie Green, Bobby Byrne (tb), Phil Bodner, Al Klink (woodwinds), Tony Mottola (g), Bob Haggart (b), Don Lamond (d), Bob Rosengarden, Ed Shaughnessy (perc), Lew Davies (arr)

Reference: BMCD 864

Bar code: 8427328008648


· Collectors Edition
· Issued in Digipack
· 2 Original LPs on 1 CD
· Original Cover Art and Liner Notes
· Stereo Recordings
· Newly Remastered in 24-Bit

Enoch Light (1905-1978) has long been recognized as one of the great innovators and musical masters in the use of Latin rhythms. With this adventurous spirit, Light was one of the first to explore the American potential of Latin rhythms. When the cha-cha came along, he had the background and the imagination to know how to give it the typically American presentation that was required to take it beyond the stiff, static treatment it was receiving at the time. Enoch Lights bossa nova treatment builds new fires in these familiar American tunes. At the same time, he gives the Brazilian pieces a volatile power that had never been exploited so imaginatively until this master, with the rhythm of his pulsating big band, brought his exciting, magic touch to them.

01. Desafinado (Jobim-Mendonça) 2:30
02. One Note Samba (Jobim-Mendonça) 3:35
03. Perdido (Tizol) 3:14
04. E Luxo So (Barroso-Peixoto) 2:53
05. Galanura (Light-Davies) 2:03
06. Lullaby of Birdland (Shearing) 3:29
07. Rio Junction (Bossa Nova) (Light-Davies) 2:10
08. Sem Saudades de Você (Helena Lyra) 2:34
09. La Puerta del Sol (Severinsen-Davies) 2:45
10. Brazil (Ary Barroso) 2:07
11. Bésame Mucho (Consuelo Velazquez) 2:46
12. Take the A Train (Strayhorn) 2:46
13. Meditation (Meditação) (Jobim-Mendonça) 2:55
14. Tonight (Bernstein-Sondheim) 2:22
15. Nola (Felix Ardnt) 2:34
16. Days of Wine & Roses (Mercer-Mancini) 2:22
17. Big Ben Bossa (Lighnt-Davies) 2:29
18. I Could Have Danced All Night (Loewe-Lerner) 2:30
19. Fly Me to the Moon (Bart Howard) 3:18
20. What Kind of Fool Am I? (Bricusse-Newley) 2:28
21. O Barquinho (Menescal-Boscoli) 2:17
22. Mi Adorado (Light-Davies) 2:21
23. Moon River (Mercer-Mancini) 2:17
24. Blame It on the Bossa Nova (Weil-Mann) 2:30

Album details

Tracks #1-12, from the 12" album "Big Band Bossa Nova" (Command RS 844 SD)
Tracks #13-24, from the 12" album "Let's Dande the Bossa Nova" (Command RS 851 SD)

ENOCH LIGHT and His Orchestra
Doc Severinsen, Bernie Glow, Mel Davis, Jimmy Maxwell, Irv Markowitz, trumpets; Urbie Green, Bobby Byrne, Bob Alexander, Paul Faulise, Jack Satterfield, trombones; Walt Levinsky, Phil Bodner, Al Klink, Stan Webb, Hank Freeman, woodwinds; Tony Mottola, guitar; Bob Haggart, bass; Don Lamond, drums; Bob Rosengarden, Phil Kraus, Ed Shaughnessy, percussion. Arrangements by Lew Davies.
Recorded at Fine Recording Studios, New York City, 1962

Original recordings produced by Enoch Light
Recording chief: Robert Fine
Mastering: George Piros
Cover design: Charles E. Murphy
Produced for CD release by Jordi Pujol

Stereo · 24-Bit Digitally Remastered

9,95 €  (tax incl.)

Add to wishlist

Added to your wishlist.

You can manage your wishlist here.

You're not signed in

You must sign in to manage your wishlist.
Sign in
Delivery information:
Delivery in 5-7 days
Shipping rates Terms and conditions
Payment methods:



Customer reviews

Write a review

Big Band Bossa Nova + Let's Dance Bossa Nova (2 LP on 1 CD) Digipack
Rate this product:

Thanks for sharing your thoughts.

Your review has been added and will be available once approved by a moderator.