High Strung + Cleopatra and All that Jazz (2 LP on 1 CD) Digipack
  • RCA LSP-2031
    RCA LSP-2031
  • United Artists UAS 6299
    United Artists UAS 6299
  • Al Caiola
    Al Caiola

Al Caiola

High Strung + Cleopatra and All that Jazz (2 LP on 1 CD) Digipack

Blue Moon Golden Series

Al Caiola, George Barnes, Al Cassamenti, Don Arnone, John Pizzarelli, Billy Bauer, Barry Galbraith (g), Clark Terry (tp, flh), Tony Studd (b-tb), Phil Bodner (as, bs, fl), Dick Hyman (p, harpsichord), Phil Kraus, Eddie Costa (vib), Sandy Block, George Duvivier (b), Don Lamond, Osie Johnson (d)

Reference: BMCD 875

Bar code: 8427328008754


· Collectors Edition
· Issued in Digipack
· 2 Original LPs on 1 CD
· Original Cover Art and Liner Notes
· Stereo Recordings
· Newly Remastered in 24-Bit

Al Caiola’s mastery of the guitar was always abundantly clear, both in his recordings as a studio musician and in his stage performances, and it is just as self-evident in these two albums and in his relationship with the two solid jazz groups that accompany him on them. "High Strung" was recorded in 1959, and without climbing way out on a limb, Al and his supporting cast of guitars—George Barnes, Al Cassamenti, Don Arnone, John Pizzarelli, and Billy Bauer—set new ideas to a solid swinging beat in “electrifying” up-tempo evergreens and a couple of his own compositions, backed by an excellent rhythm section.

As for "Cleopatra and All That Jazz," Al Caiola and his Nile River Boys introduced two fine renditions from the Alex North film score, plus nine standards and an original by Caiola. This septet, featuring such top soloists as Dick Hyman, Clark Terry, Phil Bodner, and Barry Galbraith, performed the leader’s arrangements— ranging from the humorous to the wistful. Each man is consistently brilliant and together they run the gamut of popular jazz forms, from swing to bossa nova.

01. Sweet Georgia Brown (Bernie-Pinkard-Casey) 2:30
02. Dipsy Doodle (Larry Clinton) 2:39
03. It’s a Sin to Tell a Lie (Billy Mayhew) 1:51
04. Tumbling Tumbleweeds (Bob Nolan) 1:59
05. Strait Ahead (Al Caiola) 2:08
06. Cherry (Redman-Gilbert) 2:22
07. Hindustan (Wallace-Weeks) 2:04
08. Sandy (Al Caiola) 2:24
09. Idaho (Jesse Stone) 2:24
10. I Love You (Thompson-Archer) 2:15
11. Rosetta (Hines-Woods) 2:18
12. Undecided (Shavers-Robin) 2:08
13. Antony and Cleopatra Theme (Alex North) 2:50
14. Temptation (Freed-Brown) 2:56
15. Love for Sale (Cole Porter) 3:14
16. Mad About the Boy (Noel Coward) 2:21
17. Body and Soul (Green-Eyton-Sour-Heyman) 2:57
18. Cleo Baby (Al Caiola) 2:59
19. Caesar and Cleopatra Theme (Alex North) 2:40
20. Lover Man (Sherman-Davis-Ramírez) 2:38
21. I Can’t Give You Anything but Love Baby (McHugh-Fields) 3:24
22. Under a Blanket of Blue (Simmons-Marks) 3:05
23. All of Me (Simmons-Marks) 2:37
24. Be Mine Tonight (Lara-Skylar) 2:06

Album details

Tracks #1-12, from the LP “High Strung” (RCA Victor LSP-2031)
Tracks #13-24, from the LP “Cleopatra and All That Jazz” (United Artists UAS 6299)

Personnel on "High Strung":
Al Caiola (solo guitar), George Barnes, Al Cassamenti, Don Arnone, John Pizzarelli, Billy Bauer (guitars), Sandy Block (bass), Phil Kraus, Eddie Costa (vibes), Don Lamond (drums).
Recorded at RCA Victor Studio A, New York City, August 12, 20 & 22, 1957

Personnel on "Cleopatra and All That Jazz":
Al Caiola (guitar, lead, arrangements), Clark Terry (trumpet & flugelhorn), Tony Studd (bass trombone), Phil Bodner (alto & baritone sax, flute), Dick Hyman (piano & harpsichord), Barry Galbraith (rhythm guitar), George Duvivier (bass), Osie Johnson (drums).
Recorded at Mayfair Studios, New York City, 1962

Original recordings produced by Herman Diaz, Jr. (#1-12) and Leroy Holmes (#13-24)
Compiled for CD release by Jordi Pujol

Press reviews

"Once upon a time, in a galaxy far far away, people actually played the guitar to create soft and seductive moods, and not just to show off how loudly or quickly they could thrash the strings. Here's an album with the tasty guitarists of studio giants Al Caiola depicting a style and era unfortunately long forgotten.

Studio star Al Caiola released a lot of his own albums as well. Two interesting ones include a 1957 session that included guitar guests George Barnes, Billy Bauer and John Pizzarelli among others. With Sandy Block/b, Phil Kraus-Eddie Costa/vib and Don Lamond/dr, you gets some short and suite pieces like “Sweet Georgia Brown,” “Cherry” and a swinging “Rosetta.” For a 1963 release, Caiola arranges a session with Clark Terry/tp, Tony Studd/btb, Phil Bodner/as-bs, Dick Hyman/p, Barry Galbraith/g, George Duvivier/b and OSie Johnson/dr which has Terry in wonderful form on “Body and Soul” and the rhythm team giving a Latin groove to “Lover Man.” Hyman is in tasty form as well during “Love For Sale” and Caiola serves well on an overhand “I Can’t Give You Anything But Love Baby.” Fun on the frets."

George W. Harris (October 17, 2016)


10,95 €  (tax incl.)

Add to wishlist

Added to your wishlist.

You can manage your wishlist here.

You're not signed in

You must sign in to manage your wishlist.
Sign in
Delivery information:
Delivery in 5-7 days
Shipping rates Terms and conditions
Payment methods:



Customer reviews

Write a review

High Strung + Cleopatra and All that Jazz (2 LP on 1 CD) Digipack
Rate this product:

Thanks for sharing your thoughts.

Your review has been added and will be available once approved by a moderator.