Jazz Sahib - Complete Sextets Sessions 1956-1957 (2-CD set)
  • Savoy MG 12073 Savoy MG 12073
  • Epic LN 3339 Epic LN 3339
  • Savoy MG 12112 Savoy MG 12112
  • Savoy MG 12124 Savoy MG 12124
  • Regent MG 6066 Regent MG 6066

Sahib Shihab

Jazz Sahib - Complete Sextets Sessions 1956-1957 (2-CD set)

Fresh Sound Records

Eddie Bert (tb), Sahib Shihab (as, bs), Phil Woods (as), Benny Golson (ts), Bobby Jaspar (ts, fl), Hank Jones, Bill Evans (p), Kenny Burrell (g), Paul Chambers, Oscar Pettiford (b), Kenny Clarke, Elvin Jones (d).

Reference: FSRCD 487_2

Bar code: 8427328604871

This double CD set features veteran bop era saxophonist SAHIB SHIHAB (a.k.a. Edmund Gregory). After playing alto saxophone with Luther Henderson and Fletcher Hendersons bands, he tuned into the new music of Charlie Parker and Dizzy Gillespie. Despite his association with stars such as Roy Eldridge, Thelonious Monk, Art Blakey, Tadd Dameron, Lucky Thompson, Miles Davis, and Dizzy Gillespie, he remains largely underrated. While with Gillespie in 1951 he started to play baritone sax and since then alternated in both instruments, although the big horn became his main voice. In 1956 and 1957, before he went to Europe, he madealong with several outstanding sidemensome great sextet recordings on baritone, as a leader, mostly for Savoy Records, except one early alto session for Epic Records.

Here, for the first time on CD, are all these sextet sides plus two swinging dates he recorded with Mort Herberts group, also for Savoy. This collection surely will put him in the place he deserves in the jazz field.


CD 1

01. Swissmovement
02. Night People
03. Ive Got You Under My Skin
04. Son Of The Preacher
05. Hum-Bug
06. Southern Exposure
07. Blues For Fred And Fay
08. Mitchs Carol
09. S.M.T.W.T.F.S.S. Blues
10. Rockaway
11. The Things We Did Last Summer

CD 2

01. S.M.T.W.T.F.S.S. Blues
02. Sugar Dugar
03. Lo-Ba
04. The Moors
05. Jamila
06. Blu-A-Round
07. Le Sneak
08. Ballad To The East
09. Ba-Dut-Du-Dat

All sessions recorded in New York City and at Rudy Van Gelder Studio in Hackensack, New Jersey, between 1956-1957.


Add to wishlist

Added to your wishlist.

You can manage your wishlist here.

You're not signed in

You must sign in to manage your wishlist.
Sign in
Delivery information:
Delivery in 7-10 days
Shipping rates Terms and conditions
Payment methods:



Customer reviews

No customer reviews yet. Login to leave your impressions!

Write a review

Jazz Sahib - Complete Sextets Sessions 1956-1957 (2-CD set)
Rate this product:

Thanks for sharing your thoughts.

Your review has been added and will be available once approved by a moderator.