Boy with lots of... BRASS
  • EmArcy MG 36114
    EmArcy MG 36114
  • Mercury SR 60124
    Mercury SR 60124

Maynard Ferguson

Boy with lots of... BRASS

Fresh Sound Records

Maynard Ferguson (tp, v-tb), John Bello, Joe Burnett (tp), Bob Burgess, Jimmy Cleveland (tb), Anthony Ortega (as), Jimmy Ford (as, ts), Willie Maiden (ts), Tate Houston (bs), Bobby Timmons (p), Richard Evans (b), Larry Bunker (d), Irene Kral (vcl)

Reference: FSRCD 462

Bar code: 8427328604628


From March 1, 1957, when the Ferguson band on this CD was organized and went on the road, it had not had a layoff before these recordings. Ferguson astutely identified what may have been the most potent reason for his band's prosperity: It's very important that anybody who has anything to say on his instrument be allowed to say it in a band. That's why having 12 men in the band has made it easier to make everyone happier than would have been the case if I'd had 18. The group gets a virile sound, playing crisply, musically and with fire, with some of the main excitement deriving from the full ensemble and section passages. And adding to this quality of excitement is the individual calibre and energy of his young soloists, along with that of the leader, who blows excellent valve trombone and trumpet.

01. Give Me The Simple Life (Bloom-Ruby) 2:34
02. My Funny Valentine (Rodgers-Hart) 3:58
03. The Lamp Is Low (Shefter-DeRose-Parish) 3:23
04. Imagination (Burke-Van Heusen) 3:54
05. The Song Is You (Kern-Hammerstein) 2:08
06. Jeepers Creepers (Warren-Mercer) 2:31
07. Love Me Or Leave Me (Kahn-Donaldson) 2:42
08. A Foggy Day (G. & I. Gershwin) 3:00
09. Easy To Love (G. & I. Gershwin) 3:08
10. Moonlight In Vermont (Suessdorf-Blackburn) 3:48
11. I Hadn't Anyone Till You (Ray Noble) 1:41
12. I Never Knew (Fioreto-Kahn) 3:05

Album details

All tracks previously released as a 12-inch album EmArcy ‎MG 36114
(Stereo version: Mercury SR 60124)

Maynard Ferguson (trumpet, valve trombone), John Bello, Joe Burnett, Tom Slaney (trumpets), Bob Burgess, Jimmy Cleveland (trombones), Anthony Ortega (alto sax), Jimmy Ford (alto sax, tenor sax), Willie Maiden (tenor sax), Tate Houston (baritone sax), Bobby Timmons (piano), Richard Evans (bass), Larry Bunker (drums), Irene Kral (vocals on #4,5,10 & 11).
Arrangements By Willie Maiden (1,2,4,5,10,11), Ernie Wilkins (3,12), Al Cohn (6,7,8) and Bill Holman (9).
Recorded New York City, July 1957

Produced for CD release by Jordi Pujol
© 2007 by Fresh Sound Records

24-Bit Digitally Remastered
Blue Moon Producciones Discograficas S.L.

Press reviews

"After his specially assembled "Birdland Dreamband" broke up, trumpeter Maynard Ferguson put together a regular big band that would exist for the next decade. This Mercury LP features his 13-piece unit at a time that it featured trombonist Jimmy Cleveland, Willie Maiden on tenor, altoists Jimmy Ford and Anthony Ortega, pianist Bobby Timmons and singer Irene Kral; the latter is heard on four of the dozen standards that make up the album. The arrangements are by Maiden, Al Cohn, Bill Holman and Ernie Wilkins and they show off the talented orchestra and its memorable leader quite well."

—Scott Yanow (All Music Guide)


9,95 €  (tax incl.)

Add to wishlist

Added to your wishlist.

You can manage your wishlist here.

You're not signed in

You must sign in to manage your wishlist.
Sign in
Delivery information:
Delivery in 5-7 days
Shipping rates Terms and conditions
Payment methods:



Customer reviews

Write a review

Boy with lots of... BRASS
Rate this product:

Thanks for sharing your thoughts.

Your review has been added and will be available once approved by a moderator.