Lucky Thompson Meets Oscar Pettiford (2 LP on 1 CD)
  • ABC-111
  • ABC-171
  • Oscar Pettiford
    Oscar Pettiford
  • Lucky Thompson
    Lucky Thompson

Lucky Thompson

Lucky Thompson Meets Oscar Pettiford (2 LP on 1 CD)

Fresh Sound Records

Lucky Thompson (ts), Jimmy Cleveland (tb), Hank Jones, Don Abney (p), Skeeter Best (g), Oscar Pettiford (b), Osie Johnson (d)

Reference: FSRCD 424

Bar code: 8427328604246

Lucky Thompson (1924-2005) has probably been the most underrated tenorist of his generation. After an active period in both the New York and Los Angeles scenes during the Forties, his career began to suffer all kind of in and outs, and from 1949 up to 1954 Luckys name rarely appeared on jazz club marquees. Fortunately, since that year the unlucky Lucky Thompson would temporarily find what he was looking for. Lucky described the sessions at hand as the first I got the freedom and the men I desired.

Here he blows his heart out in one of the most sustained examples of creative, soulful improvisation ever recorded. It is a hard-swinging set powered by Luckys big tone and beautifully built ideas, featuring the strength and driving pulse of Oscar Pettifords bass.

01. Tom-Kattin (Lucky Thompson) 5:02
02. Old Reliable (Lucky Thompson) 4:02
03. A Ladys Vanity (Lucky Thompson) 5:11
04. Translation (Lucky Thompson) 4:02
05. Nr #1 (Lucky Thompson) 4:38
06. Nr #2 (Lucky Thompson) 3:09
07. Good Luck (Lucky Thompson) 4:35
08. Tricotism (Oscar Pettiford) 4:35
09. Bo-Bi My Boy (Lucky Thompson)3:55
10. Body and Soul (Green-Heyman-Sour-Eyton) 4:31
11. Op Meets Lt (Pettiford-Thompson) 3:52
12. Dancing Sunbeam (Lucky Thompson) 3:08
13. Little Tenderfoot (Lucky Thompson) 2:49
14. The Plain But The Simple Truth (Lucky Thompson) 4:45
15. Mister Man (Lucky Thompson) 3:32
16. Once There Was (Lucky Thompson) 4:03

Album details

Tracks #1-4 & 8-11, from the 12" album "Lucky Thompson, Vol. I" (ABC-111)
Tracks #5-7 & 12-16, from the 12" album "Lucky Thompson, Vol. II" (ABC-171)


Lucky Thompson (ts), Jimmy Cleveland (tb, out in #3), Hank Jones (p), Oscar Pettiford (b), Osie Johnson (d).
Recorded on January 30, 1956 [#1-4]

Don Abney (p) replaces Hank Jones.
Recorded on December 12, 1956 [#5-7]


Lucky Thompson (ts), Skeeter Best (g), Oscar Pettiford (b).
Recorded on January 24, 1956 [#8-11], December 11, 1956 [#12-15]

Don Abney (p), replaces Skeeter Best.
Recorded on December 12, 1956 [#16]

Original sessions produced by Creed Taylor
Liner notes by Burt Korall & Nat Hentoff, reproduced from the original ABC albums

Produced for CD release by Jordi Pujol

9,95 €  (tax incl.)

Add to wishlist

Added to your wishlist.

You can manage your wishlist here.

You're not signed in

You must sign in to manage your wishlist.
Sign in
Delivery information:
Delivery in 5-7 days
Shipping rates Terms and conditions
Payment methods:



Customer reviews

Write a review

Lucky Thompson Meets Oscar Pettiford (2 LP on 1 CD)
Rate this product:

Thanks for sharing your thoughts.

Your review has been added and will be available once approved by a moderator.