Willis Jackson

The Remaining Willis Jackson 1951-1959

Blue Moon Blues Series

Willis Jackson (ts), John H. Russell, Quincy Jones (tp), George Barrow (bs), Jimmy Evans (p), Jack McDuff (org), Kenny Burrell, Al Caiola, Bill Jennings (g), Leonard Swain, Richard Davis (b), Joe Marshall, Calvin Shields, Larry 'Wild' Wrice (d), Chino Pozo (perc), The Four Gators, Gladys Bruce (vcl)

Reference: BMCD 6048

Bar code: 8427328060486


From his late teenage, Willis "Gator" Jackson played tenor saxophone in many bands in his home state before attending university where he studied music theory. From the late 40s into the mid-50s he played in various editions of the small band led by Cootie Williams. Overlapping this spell with Williams, Jackson led his own band on tours and for recording sessions. He also recorded with his then-wife, Ruth Brown. Although Jackson's playing and composing up to this time had been strongly inclined towards R&B, he also played with bop musicians including founding fathers Charlie "Bird" Parker and Dizzy Gillespie.

From the early 60s he was active on the east coast, continuing to record and in the late 70s led a tenor-organ combo featuring Carl Wilson (organ), and Pat Martino (guitar). Although best known for his raunchy, blues-based sound, Jackson was also an effective balladeer, even developing a special saxophone for this purpose.

01. Harlem Nocturne (E.Hagen) 3:06
02. Street Scene (Newman) 2:52
03. Wine-O-Wine (Stone-Ramson-Nugetre) 2:50
04. Good Gliding (Jackson) 3:02
05. Here In My Heart (Genard-Levinson-Borrelli) 3:15
06. Estrellita (Ponce) 2:55
07. Rock, Rock, Rock (Mundy) 2:41
08. Gator's Groove (Jackson) 2:39
09. Walking Home (Jackson) 3:06
10. Shake Dance (Jackson) 2:49
11. Try A Little Tenderness (Campbell-Woods-Connelly) 2:37
12. Howling At Midnight (Jackson) 2:49
13. We'll Be Together Again (Laine-Fischer) 2:54
14. The Cracker Jack (Jackson) 2:28
15. Back Door (Jesse Stone) 2:54
16. Later 'Gator (P.D.) 2:51
17. Wishbone (Jennings-Jackson) 2:28
18. Wishbone (Jennings-Jackson) 2:40
19. Down Boy (Jennings-Jackson) 2:32
20. Down Boy (Jennings-Jackson) 2:48
21. Good to the Bone (Robinson-Lewis-Jackson) 2:34
22. Makin' It (Jennings-Jackson) 2:31
23. Hello... "Gator" Speaking (Jackson) 2:59

Album details

All tracks recorded in New York City, 1951-1954, 1957 and 1959

14,95 €  (tax incl.)

Add to wishlist

Added to your wishlist.

You can manage your wishlist here.

You're not signed in

You must sign in to manage your wishlist.
Sign in
Delivery information:
Delivery in 5-7 days
Shipping rates Terms and conditions
Payment methods:



Customer reviews

Write a review

The Remaining Willis Jackson 1951-1959
Rate this product:

Thanks for sharing your thoughts.

Your review has been added and will be available once approved by a moderator.