Piano Solo at Barloyd's (9-CD Box Set) Limited Edition
  • Front
  • Back

Various Artists

Piano Solo at Barloyd's (9-CD Box Set) Limited Edition

Box Sets & Special Editions

Franck Amsallem, Pierre De Bethmann, Vincent Bourgeyx, Pierre Christophe, Laurent Coq, Laurent Courthaliac, Alain Jean-Marie, Fred Nardin, Manuel Rocheman (p)

Reference: JPBX 818000_9

Bar code: 5051083138741

9 piano solos (and a few duets) recorded on a exceptional Steinway Concert Grand piano in a private appartment in the heart of Paris. The best pianists from the current French jazz scene. A mix of original compositions, complete improvisations, revisitations from the American songbook and modern jazz standards (114 tracks in total).

Limited edition of 1,000 copies.


CD 1

01. These Foolish Things
02. Yardbird Suite
03. More Than You Know
04. Nightmare
05. Bud Will Be Back Shortly
06. Milestones (Original)
07. Blackberry Winter
08. Lucky To Be Me
09. Minor Mishap
10. Young And Foolish
11. Young At Heart

CD 2

01. Barloydesque 1
02. Temps dense
03. Recall
04. Discret
05. Tempestif
06. Barloydesque 2
07. Ambleside
08. Imparfait
09. Steady
10. Barloydesque 3
11. Instable
12. Attends

CD 3

1. Lush Life
02. I Thought About You
03. With A Song In My Heart
04. Limbo Jazz
05. Abbey
06. A Beautiful Friendship
07. Peace
08. DFWM
09. The Very Thought Of You
10. When She Sleeps
11. Golden Earrings
12. This Is New
13. Come Sunday

CD 4

01. Then I'll Be Tired of You
02. The Duke
03. Ask Me Now
04. Deep Night
05. Memories of You
06. Goodbye
07. I Cover The Waterfront
08. A Flower Is a Lovesome Thing
09. I'll Never Be The Same
10. This Is All I Ask
11. My Lonely Heart

CD 5

01. April in Paris
02. Improvisation n° 1
03. Toshiko
04. Improvisation n° 2
05. Social Call
06. Improvisation n° 3
07. The Bird In Me
08. Improvisation n° 4
09. Autumn In New York
10. Improvisation n° 5
11. Ugly Beauty

CD 6

01.'Round Midnight
02. Moon River
03. Barloyd
04. Moonlight in Vermont
05. I'm Through With Love
06. I Need You
07. Little Girl Blue
08. I Guess I Hang My Tears Out To Dry
09. While My Lady Sleeps
10. Prisoner of Love
11. Stardust
12. Skylark

CD 7

01. Little Willie Leaps
02. Monk's Dream
03. Lament
04. Up Jumped Spring
05. Isfahan
06. Drop Me Off In Harlem
07. Blues For Lily
08. Ask Me Now
09. Ummg

CD 8

01. Manhattan Melodies
02. The Chants
03. Moment's Notice
04. Hope
05. Evidence
06. You're My Everything
07. Travel to...
08. Yesterdays
09. Turn Around

CD 9

01. Take The "A" Train
02. Like Someone in Love
03. Promenade
04. I Loves You Porgy
05. Just Love
06. Donna Lee
07. Heart to Heart
08. My Romance
09. La valse des chipirons
10. You Must Believe In Spring
11. Love For Sale
12. B Minor Waltz
13. St. Thomas

Album details

· Volume 1 : Franck Amsallem
· Volume 2 : Pierre de Bethmann
· Volume 3 : Vincent Bourgeyx (+ Pierre Boussaguet, bass)
· Volume 4 : Pierre Christophe (+ Olivier Zanot, alto sax)
· Volume 5 : Laurent Coq
· Volume 6 : Laurent Courthaliac a.k.a. Barloyd (+ Clovis Nicolas, bass)
· Volume 7 : Alain Jean-Marie (+ Baptiste Herbin, alto sax)
· Volume 8 : Fred Nardin (+ Samuel Hubert, bass)
· Volume 9 : Manuel Rocheman

Recorded in a private apartment on an exceptional Steinway Concert Grand

Engineered, mixed & mastered by Julien Bassères
Piano restored & prepared by Bastien Herbin
Paris photos by Laurent Castanet
Liner notes by Vincent Bessières (Translation: Jerome Reese)

Executive producer: Vincent Bessières

Press reviews

"Neuf pianistes, neuf enregistrements, tous réalisés sur un Steinway D, modèle grand concert, patiemment restauré par un accordeur de renom et laissé en dépôt dans le salon parisien de l’un d’entre eux. Neuf pianistes, qui ont relevé le défi d’enregistrer en solo (ou partiellement accompagné par un musicien de leur choix), le temps d’un après-midi, sur cet instrument d’exception. Unité d’action, de temps et de lieu : regroupés dans un élégant coffret illustré par les images d’un photographe architecte arpenteur de la capitale, ces neuf solos, entre standards revisités et improvisation spontanée, reflètent combien le jazz est affaire d’instant et qu’en matière de swing, la Ville Lumière n’est pas démunie de talents. De l’aîné Alain Jean-Marie au benjamin Fred Nardin en passant par Franck Amsallem, Manuel Rocheman, Pierre de Bethmann, Pierre Christophe, Laurent Coq, Vincent Bourgeyx et Laurent Courthaliac, hôte des lieux, les neuf pianistes conviés «At Barloyd’s» constituent une fraternelle galerie de portraits et autant de styles qui démontrent combien être ancré dans la tradition du jazz n’est pas un obstacle pour accéder à la modernité. Bienvenue chez Barloyd!"



49,95 €  (tax incl.)

Add to wishlist

Added to your wishlist.

You can manage your wishlist here.

You're not signed in

You must sign in to manage your wishlist.
Sign in
Delivery information:
Delivery in 5-7 days
Shipping rates Terms and conditions
Payment methods:



Customer reviews

Write a review

Piano Solo at Barloyd's (9-CD Box Set) Limited Edition
Rate this product:

Thanks for sharing your thoughts.

Your review has been added and will be available once approved by a moderator.