A Portrait Of Duke Ellington (+ Bonus Tracks)
  • Dizzy Gillespie
    Dizzy Gillespie
  • MG-VS 68386
    MG-VS 68386

Dizzy Gillespie

A Portrait Of Duke Ellington (+ Bonus Tracks)

Essential Jazz Classics

Dizzy Gillespie (tp), with Bennie Green (tb) Robert de Dominica, Stan Webb, Paul Richie, Ernest Bright (reeds) Richard Berg, Ray Alonge (frh) John McAllister (tuba) George Devens (vib), Hank Jones (p), George Duvivier (b), Charlie Persip (d)

Reference: EJC55456

Bar code: 8436028697397

Dizzy Gillespies complete 1960 album "A Portrait of Duke Ellington", the trumpeters heartfelt homage to the Duke. Consisting entirely of compositions by Ellington and Billy Strayhorn, it features Dizzy fronting an orchestra heavy with wind instruments including trombone, woodwinds, flute, tuba and French horns, plus a rhythm section featuring Hank Jones on piano, George Duvivier on bass, and Charlie Persip on drums.

As a bonus, the subsequent entry in Gillespies discography following the album, consisting of three rarely heard numbers by Diz at the 1960 Newport Jazz Festival.


01. In A Mellow Tone 3:46
02. Things Aint What They Used To Be 4:55
03. Serenade To Sweden 4:24
04. Chelsea Bridge 2:37
05. Upper Manhattan Medical Group 3:07
06. Do Nothin Till You Hear From Me 2:40
07. Caravan 5:22
08. Sophisticated Lady 3:21
09. Johnny Come Lately 3:39
10. Perdido 4:52
11. Come Sunday 3:01
12. Lorraine 4:24*
13. Norms Norm 5:14*
14. A Night In Tunisia 9:58*

Total time: 61:24 min.

Tracks #1-11, from the original Verve album
"A Portrait of Duke Ellington" (MG-VS68386)

(*) Bonus tracks not on the original album

Personnel on tracks #1-11:

Dizzy Gillespie (trumpet) with: Bennie Green (trombone), Robert de Dominica (flute), Stan Webb, Paul Richie, John Murtaugh, Ernest Bright (woodwinds), Richard Berg, Ray Alonge, Joe Singer (French horns), John McAllister (tuba), George Devens (vibes), Hank Jones (piano), George Duvivier (bass), and Charlie Persip (drums). Arrangements by Clare Fischer.

Recorded in New York, April 27 & 28, 1960

Personnel on tracks #12-14:

Dizzy Gillespie (trumpet), Leo Wright (alto sax & flute), Junior Mance (piano), Art Davis (bass), and Al Dreares (drums).

Recorded live at Newport Jazz Festival, Newport, Rhode Island, on July 1, 1960



"This album, the first example of Fischer's orchestral jazz writing ever released on record, makes clear that he is one of the most gifted arrangers available to jazz today. Dizzy plays brilliantly through much of the album. This is a fine album -one of those sets that I, for one, will be listening to for a long time, for pure, unrationalized enjoyment."

Gene Lees

"The quintet tracks make this a more than desirable purchase."

Richard Palmer -Jazz Journal

11,95 €  (tax incl.)

Add to wishlist

Added to your wishlist.

You can manage your wishlist here.

You're not signed in

You must sign in to manage your wishlist.
Sign in
Delivery information:
Delivery in 5-7 days
Shipping rates Terms and conditions
Payment methods:



Customer reviews

Write a review

A Portrait Of Duke Ellington (+ Bonus Tracks)
Rate this product:

Thanks for sharing your thoughts.

Your review has been added and will be available once approved by a moderator.