Dizzy on the French Riviera + New Wave (2 LP on 1 CD)
  • Dizzy Gillespie
    Dizzy Gillespie
  • PHS600048
  • PHS600070

Dizzy Gillespie

Dizzy on the French Riviera + New Wave (2 LP on 1 CD)

Essential Jazz Classics

Dizzy Gillespie (tp), Leo Wright (fl, as), Charlie Ventura (ts, bass sax), Lalo Schifrin (p), Elek Bacsik, Jose Paula (g), Chris White (b), Rudy Collins (d), Pepito Riestra (perc), Carmen Costa (vcl)

Reference: EJC55575

Bar code: 8436542012324

This edition presents two complete Dizzy Gillespie small band albums, 'Dizzy on the French Riviera,' and 'New Wave!,' culled from sessions recorded live in France and in a New York studio. These LPs mark the great trumpeters first incursions into the realm of bossa nova (he had already been a pioneering force in the evolution of Latin jazz) Both albums were produced by Quincy Jones and arranged by the talented Lalo Schifrin (featured here as well on pieno). whom Gillespie had met in Argentina during a Latin American tour. A creative composer, Schifrin would also write various suites for Gillespie before starting a successful career in Hollywood composing movie soundtracks As a bonus, a rare Brazilian tune from the same sessions.


01. Chega De Saudade (No More Blues #1) 10:20
02. Long, Long Summer 5:15
03. I Waited For You 2:44
04. Desafinado 3:27
05. Here It Is 8:33
06. Pau De Arara 3:38
07. For The Gypsies (Ole) 4:34
08. In A Shanty In Old Shanty Town 4:23
09. Careless Love 6:25
10. Chega De Saudade (No More Blues) #2 5:59
11. Taboo 3:04
12. Gee Baby Aint I Good To You 3:58
13. One Note Samba 5:17
14. Manha De Carnaval (Morning Of The Carnival) 3:28
15. Pregunte Ao Joao 2:42
16. Me-Da-Um Dinheiro Ahi (Give Me Some Money There) 3:05*

Album details

Total time: 77:00 min.

Tracks #1-7, from the album "Dizzy on the French Riviera" (Phillips PHS600048)
Tracks #8-15, from the album "New Wave!" (Phillips PHS600070)
(*) Bonus track from the same sessions but not included on the original LPs

Personnel on tracks #1,5,7 & 13:
Leo Wright (fl, as), Lalo Schifrin (p), Elek Bacsik (g), Chris White (b), Rudy Collins (d), Pepito Riestra (perc).
Recorded live at Juan-les-Pins, France, on July 24, 1962

Personnel on tracks #2-4,6,10-11 & 14-15:
Same personnel as above except Bacsik and Riestra omitted and Charlie Ventura (ts, bass sax) & José Paula (g, tamb, perc, vcl) added.
Recorded in New York, May 1962

Personnel on tracks #16:
Same as above except Ventura omitted and Carmen Costa (vcl, maracas) added.
Recorded in New York, May-June 1962

Personnel on tracks #8-9 & 12:
Same personnel as above except Bola Sete (g) added.
Recorded in New York, July 10, 1962

Sessions arranged by Dizzy Gillespie & Lalo Schifrin
Produced by Quincy Jones

Press reviews

"Enjoy a sumptuous feat of fierce, joyous, ground-opening music, impeccably recorded and annotated."

Richard Palmer -Jazz Journal

-On the French Riviera

"Some of Dizzy Gillespie's best and most well-known material from the '60s with a truly talented band is included on this long-awaited reissue of recordings done in France. A group of American expatriates and Europeans -- really musicians from all over the world -- accompany the trumpeter for music that spans bop, Brazilian sounds, and originals. Argentine pianist Lalo Schifrin plays piano and contributes the arrangements and Leo Wright is Gillespie's main foil on flute and alto sax, while Hungarian Elek Bacsik plays guitar in subtle ways that reflect the overall style of the sounds inspired by the French Riviera. A classic, stretched-out take of Antonio Carlos Jobim's "No More Blues" kicks off the set, with the sound of kids on an ocean beach leading to Gillespie and Wright trading halves of the melody line as playful as the children in a perfectly played bossa. Another Jobim standard, "Desafinado," has Wright's bright flute and the muted trumpet of Diz in a more pensive but still hopeful romantic mood. "I Waited for You" is the ultimate languid, laying-in-wait ballad, with Schifrin's refrains cuing the trumpeter's procrastinations, while "Long, Long Summer" is the pianist's ode to a sullen affair with ultraviolet light -- cool shades included -- in a swinging and modal approach. "For the Gypsies," penned by the leader, has Bacsik more up-front rhythmically, as Wright's mysterious flute contrasts with Gillespie's sharply precise notes in a sneaky quick bossa rhythm. Also written by Dizzy, "Here It Is" is as memorable a tune as he ever did, a signature strutting shuffle jazz/blues that exemplifies the joy in life always present in his music. That all of the participants are extremely talented and can mix and match with Gillespie beautifully makes this a CD that should appeal universally to all jazz lovers, and especially his biggest fans."

Michael G. Nastos -All Music Guide

-New Wave!

"[...] The trumpeter (45 at the time of this recording) was at the peak of his powers in the early '60s. On such songs as "In a Shanty in Old Shanty Town," "Careless Love," "One Note Samba" and the "Theme from Black Orpheus," Gillespie and his expanded quintet (with guests Bola Sete or Elec Bacsik on guitar and Charlie Ventura taking a memorable bass sax solo on "No More Blues-Part II") show a great deal of spirit and creativity. Leo Wright (on alto and flute) and pianist Lalo Schifrin are also in fine form throughout this gem."

Scott Yanow -All Music Guide


11,95 €  (tax incl.)

Add to wishlist

Added to your wishlist.

You can manage your wishlist here.

You're not signed in

You must sign in to manage your wishlist.
Sign in
Delivery information:
Delivery in 5-7 days
Shipping rates Terms and conditions
Payment methods:



Customer reviews

Write a review

Dizzy on the French Riviera + New Wave (2 LP on 1 CD)
Rate this product:

Thanks for sharing your thoughts.

Your review has been added and will be available once approved by a moderator.