Meet Mr. Roberts + Bottoms Up (2 LP on 1 CD)
  • Columbia CS 8179
    Columbia CS 8179
  • Columbia CS 8320
    Columbia CS 8320

George Roberts

Meet Mr. Roberts + Bottoms Up (2 LP on 1 CD)

Fresh Sound Records

George Roberts (b-tb), Joe Howard, Lloyd Ulyate, Tommy Pederson (tb), Vince De Rosa, Dick Perissi, (frh), John T. Williams (p), Frank Flynn (vib), Al Hendrickson, Tony Rizzi (g), Joe Mondragon (b), Irv Cottler, Shelly Manne (d), Ann Stockton (harp)

Reference: FSRCD 642

Bar code: 8427328606424

During the Fifties, the bass trombone did come to spectacular attention in the gifted hands of George Roberts, one of Los Angeles most sought-after sidemen and busiest studio men, whose arresting style was introduced to audiences on the two Columbia Records albums he made as a leader in 1959 and 1960.

Meet Mr. Roberts, the first of the two, focused on the wonderful open sound of his trombone, romping through a set of standards with an unusual line-up featuringin addition to Robertsthree trombones, two French horns, vibes, bass, drums and a harp, with Frank DeVol taking care of the direction and arrangements.

For Bottoms Up, the second, he used a sextet, and added a special mute to his bass trombone to produce a rich, warm and happy sound that was unusually appealing. John T. Williams was the arranger and pianist of the group, which also includes two guitars, piano, bass and drums. Making use of his generous wit and a dash of sentiment, Roberts kept the tone light and bouncy for both albums, which reflect his sinuous style and keen sense of humor in an irresistible combination.

Tracklist MP3

Sample this album
Total time: 64:31 min.

01. In the Hall of the Mountain King
02. Nobodys Heart Belongs to Me
03. Youre the Top
04. (Theme from) Picnic
05. Three Stoned Mice
06. Its De-Lovely
07. Next Time, Take the Train
08. Georgia on My Mind
09. Back in Your Own Backyard
10. My Romance
11. Feelin Low
12. Dont Worry 'Bout Me
13. Everythings Coming Up Roses
14. Im Nobodys Baby
15. Does Your Heart Beat for Me
16. I Cant Believe That Youre in Love with Me
17. Rosie
18. Do You Ever Think of Me
19. Thank Heaven for Little Girls
20. Bye Bye Blackbird
21. I Could Have Danced All Night
22. Its Only a Paper Moon
23. Just In Time
24. Susie Q

Album details


Tracks #1-12 originally issued on the album
"George Roberts & His Big Bass Trombone - Meet Mr. Roberts"
(Columbia CS 8179)

Tracks #13-24 originally issued on the album "George Roberts' Sextet - Bottoms Up"
(Columbia CS 8320)

Personnel on #1-12:

George Roberts with Orchestra
George Roberts (b-tb), Joe Howard, Lloyd Ulyate, Tommy Pederson (tb), Vince De Rosa, Dick Perissi, (frh), Frank Flynn (vib), Joe Mondragon (b), Irv Cottler (d), Ann Stockton (harp). Arranged & Conducted by Frank DeVol.

Recorded at Radio Recorders Studio, Hollywood, on May 22 & 29, 1959

Personnel on #13-24

George Roberts' Sextet
George Roberts (b-tb), John T. Williams (p, arr), Tony Rizzi, Al Hendrickson (g), Joe Mondragon (b), Shelly Manne (d).

Recorded at Radio Recorders Studio, Hollywood, on May 2 & 5, 1960

Original Columbia recordings produced by Irving Townsend
Produced for CD reissue by Jordi Pujol
Stereo · 24-Bit Digitally Remastered

$11.31  (tax incl.)

Add to wishlist

Added to your wishlist.

You can manage your wishlist here.

You're not signed in

You must sign in to manage your wishlist.
Sign in
Delivery information:
Delivery in 7-10 days
Shipping rates Terms and conditions
Payment methods:



Customer reviews

No customer reviews yet. Login to leave your impressions!

Write a review

Meet Mr. Roberts + Bottoms Up (2 LP on 1 CD)
Rate this product:

Thanks for sharing your thoughts.

Your review has been added and will be available once approved by a moderator.