Lost in Plain Sight
  • Neta Raanan
    Neta Raanan
  • Andrew Pereira
    Andrew Pereira
  • Paul Janoschka
    Paul Janoschka
  • Simón Willson
    Simón Willson
  • Jonas Esser
    Jonas Esser

Andrew Pereira

Lost in Plain Sight

Fresh Sound New Talent

Andrew Pereira (as), Neta Raanan (ts), Paul Janoschka (p), Simón Willson (b), Jonas Esser (d)

Reference: FSNT-667

Bar code: 8427328436670

In 2018, I followed a spontaneous impulse and relocated from Philadelphia to the vibrant chaos of New York City. This album represents the culmination of almost five years spent cultivating beautiful musical connections and navigating the challenges of being a new artist in this unforgiving city. Despite some setbacks, including the disruptive force of COVID, I find immense satisfaction in the timing of this long-awaited recording.

Within these tracks, you’ll encounter a blend of old and new musical ideas. Compositions like “Moon Burn” and “Curbside Dash” have journeyed with me across multiple cities, evolving as my skills as a bandleader refined over the years. Meanwhile, fresh tunes like the title track, “Lost In Plain Sight,”make their debut. This mix of tried-and-true originals and new creations felt perfect for the exceptional ensemble of musicians I gathered for this debut release.

While the alto/tenor saxophone combination might be unconventional for a quintet, the resulting sound possesses a captivating “fuzziness” that complements the lively complexity of my  compositions while retaining a darker sonic quality. Neta’s playing, which I encountered frequently after moving to Brooklyn, aligns stylistically with my own in certainways, yet offers a refreshing contrast to my ideas.

I first met Jonas and Paul during my time at City College, and their unique musical voices Immediately stood out. Simón, another extraordinary talent, caught my ear as a sldeman in Brooklyn, known for his ability to cut through with each note while maintaining a rich bass tone. Bringing him and Jonas together, both seasoned collaborators, added a special dimension to this recording.

Finally, the recording space played a crucial role in shaping this album. I’ve personally experienced studios ranging from top-notch to cluttered basements, and worked with sound engineers of varying expertise. For my debut, I aimed for the pinnacle. David, our recording and mixing engineer, not only provided a stunning recording environment but also demonstrated his musical knowledge and finesse throughout the editing process.

—Andrew Pereira

01. Lost In Plain Sight (Andrew Pereira) 7:49
02. Alpaca (Andrew Pereira) 5:57
03. Already There (Andrew Pereira) 7:45
04. Falcon On the Balcony (Andrew Pereira) 5:40
05. Out of Focus (Andrew Pereira) 8:17
06. Curbside Dash (Andrew Pereira) 6:06
07. Moon Burn (Andrew Pereira) 8:55

Album details

All compositions by Andrew Pereira

Andrew Pereira (alto sax), Neta Raanan (tenor sax), Paul Janoschka (piano), Simón Willson (bass), Jonas Esser (drums).
Recorded at Samurai Hotel Studios, Queens, November 11, 2022

Engineered by David Stoller
Mastered by Pieter De Wagter

Produced by Andrew Pereira
Executive Producer: Jordi Pujol

This sound recording © 2023 by Fresh Sound Records
Blue Moon Producciones Discograficas, S.L.

Press reviews


10,95 €  (tax incl.)

Add to wishlist

Added to your wishlist.

You can manage your wishlist here.

You're not signed in

You must sign in to manage your wishlist.
Sign in
Delivery information:
Delivery in 5-7 days
Shipping rates Terms and conditions
Payment methods:



Customer reviews

Write a review

Lost in Plain Sight
Rate this product:

Thanks for sharing your thoughts.

Your review has been added and will be available once approved by a moderator.