Plays Jimmy Giuffre Arrangements
  • Sonny Stitt
    Sonny Stitt
  • Jimmy Giuffre
    Jimmy Giuffre

Sonny Stitt

Plays Jimmy Giuffre Arrangements

Fresh Sound 1600 Series

Sonny Stitt (as), Lee Katzman, Jack Sheldon (tp), Frank Rosolino (tb), Jimmy Giuffre (ts, arr, dir), Al Pollen (tuba), Jimmy Rowles (p), Buddy Clark (b), Lawrence Marable (d)

Reference: FSRCD 1640

Bar code: 8427328616409


The idea of a Stitt-Giuffre union might, at first, seem incongruous; but listen to the virile alto Stitts playing against the understated background of Giuffres arrangements, and the effect is electrifying. Stitt is the only soloist on the sides with the brass choir, and he maintains a high level of performance throughout. Giuffre attains an effect of a larger group by his imaginative use of contrary motion and dissonance. His writing for bass and tuba adds much to the fullness and novelty of the arrangements. In contrast to the arranged sides, Giuffre joins Stitt and the rhythm section for two blues, Down Country and Uptown, but even on these, the basic difference in conception of the two men is evidenttension Vs. relaxation. This album achieves this contrast to a remarkable degree.

01. New York Blues (Jimmy Giuffre) 3:54
02. Giuff (Sonny Stitt) 2:54
03. Laura (Mercer-Raskin) 4:48
04. Sonny Boy (Brown-DeSylva-Henderson-Jolson) 3:56
05. Singin' in the Rain (Brown-Freed) 4:26
06. Downtown (Sonny Stitt) 4:37
07. I Let a Song Go Out of My Heart (Ellington-Nemo-Mills-Redmond) 3:21
08. Two for Timbucktu (Jimmy Giuffre) 3:17)
09. Uptown (Sonny Stitt) 5:21
10. Down Country (Giuffre-Scott) 6:55

Album details

Originally issued in 12-inch LP as Verve MGV-8309 / MGVS-6041

Personnel on #1-8:
Lee Katzman, Jack Sheldon (trumpet), Frank Rosolino (trombone), Al Pollen (tuba), Sonny Stitt (alto & tenor sax), Jimmy Giuffre (tenor sax, arrangements & direction), Jimmy Rowles (piano), Buddy Clark (bass), Lawrence Marable (drums).

Personnel on #9 & 10:
Sonny Stitt (alto sax), Jimmy Giuffre (tenor sax), Jimmy Rowles (piano), Buddy Clark (bass), Lawrence Marable (drums).

All tracks recorded at Radio Recorders, Hollywood, on February 16, 1959

Liner notes by Jimmy Giuffre
Original recordings produced by Norman Granz
Produced for CD release by Jordi Pujol
© 2010 by Fresh Sound Records

Stereo · 24-Bit Digitally Remastered
Blue Moon Producciones Discograficas S.L.

9,95 €  (tax incl.)

Add to wishlist

Added to your wishlist.

You can manage your wishlist here.

You're not signed in

You must sign in to manage your wishlist.
Sign in
Delivery information:
Delivery in 5-7 days
Shipping rates Terms and conditions
Payment methods:



Customer reviews

Write a review

Plays Jimmy Giuffre Arrangements
Rate this product:

Thanks for sharing your thoughts.

Your review has been added and will be available once approved by a moderator.