No Strings + The Sound of Music (2 LP on 1 CD)
  • Columbia CS-8617
    Columbia CS-8617
  • Imperial LP 12038
    Imperial LP 12038
  • Peter Matz
    Peter Matz
  • Manny Klein
    Manny Klein

Peter Matz & Manny Klein

No Strings + The Sound of Music (2 LP on 1 CD)

Rare and Obscure Jazz Albums

Peter Matz (arr, dir), Manny Klein, Jimmy Sedlar (tp), Jimmy Dahl (tb), Wally Wegner (fl, b-cl, bs), Aaron Sachs (cl, as), Ronny Lang (as, fl), Ernie Mauro (oboe), Wally Kane (bassoon, bs), Bobby Hammack (p), Al Hendrickson, Bobby Gibbons (g), Joe Benjamin, Morty Corb (b), Frank Flynn (vib, d, perc), Ronnie Bedford, Irv Cottler (d, perc)

Reference: FSRCD 1075

Bar code: 8427328610759

Fresh Sound Records presents:

Rare and Obscure Jazz Albums
A CD series created for the most discerning jazz collectors

· Hard to find albums in Collector's Edition
· 2 Original LPs on 1 CD
· Original Cover Art, Liner Notes
· Complete Personnel Details
· Stereo Recordings
· Newly Remastered in 24-Bit

Music by Richard Rodgers
From the Broadway Production “No Strings
Arranged & Conducted by Peter Matz

Peter Matz (1928–2002) was an American musician, composer, arranger, and conductor. His illustrious musical career in film, theater, television, and studio recording spanned five decades, during which he collaborated with several renowned artists, including Marlene Dietrich, Anita Ellis, Noël Coward, and Barbra Streisand. In 1962, he conducted the orchestra for the Broadway show ‘No Strings’ and led the sextet from the production in this jazz-oriented rendition of the musical’s songs. The combo performs the songs in a light and breezy style, enhancing the Richard Rodgers tunes with finesse. Matz’s fresh and imaginative arrangements of Rodgers’ superb ‘No Strings’ score are brought to life by six exceptionally talented wind players and two of the best rhythm musicians in the business. Qualities, which fully highlight the essentially lyrical nature of these songs.

Music by Richard Rodgers
From the Broadway Production “The Sound of Music
Arrangements by Heinie Beau and Bobby Hammack

Emmanuel Klein (1908–1994) was an American jazz trumpeter closely associated with the Swing Era. He was active throughout the 1930s, working as a studio musician and performing with bands such as Jimmy & Tommy Dorsey, Benny Goodman and others. In 1937, he moved to California and joined Frank Trumbauer’s orchestra, quickly becoming one of the most sought-after trumpet players in Hollywood studios. In this album, he and a group of West Coast jazz musicians perform selections from the highly successful Rodgers and Hammerstein II musical ‘The Sound of Music’ with taste and imagination, resulting in an outstanding recording. The arrangements were crafted by Henry Beau and Bobby Hammack. For this session, Klein assembled a stellar line-up of musicians, including Bobby Hammack on piano, Ronnie Lang on saxophone, Al Hendrickson on guitar (alternating with Bobby Gibbons), Morty Corb on bass, and Frank Flynn (alternating with Irving Cottler) on drums and percussion.

01. The Sweetest Sounds 2:50
02. Loads of Love 2:29
03. The Man Who Has Everything 3:35
04. Be My Host 2:20
05. La-La-La 2:22
06. Love Makes the World Go 2:24
07. An Orthodox Fool 2:44
08. Look No Further 3:04
09. “Maine” 2:19
10. Nobody Told Me 2:37
11. Eager Beaver 2:04
12. No Strings 2:55
13. How Can Our Love Survive 2:53
14. Maria 2:27
15. An Ordinary Couple 2:53
16. Do-Re-Mi 2:57
17. The Lonely Goatherd 2:24
18. My Favorite Things 2:18
19. The Sound of Music 3:18
20. No Way to Stop It 2:58
21. Climb Every Mountain 2:28
22. Sixteen Going on Seventeen 2:36

Album details

Tracks #1-12, from the album “No Strings”
By the No Strings Sextet (Columbia CS-8617)
Track #13-2,2 from the album “The Sound of Music”
By Mannie Klein and His Sextet (Imperial LP 12038)

Personnel on "No Strings":
Wally Wegner, flute (also piccolo, clarinet, bass clarinet, baritone sax); Aaron Sachs, clarinet (also alto sax solos); Ernie Mauro, oboe (also English horn, clarinet, bass clarinet, saxophone); Wally Kane, bassoon (also flute, bass clarinet, baritone sax solos); Jimmy Sedlar, trumpet; Jimmy Dahl, trombone; Ronnie Bedford, drums & bongos; Joe Benjamin, bass.
Recorded in New York, May 1962

Personnel on "The Sound of Music":
Mannie Klein, trumpet; Ronny Lang, alto sax & flute; Bobby Hammack, piano; Al Hendrickson (#13,15,19,21,22), or Bobby Gibbons (#14,16,17,18,20), guitar; Morty Corb, bass; Frank Flynn, vibes, percussion & drums; Irv Cottler, drums & bongos.
Recorded at United Recorders, Hollywood, October 22 & 23 (#14,16,17,18,20), 1959

Original recordings produced by Ernie Altschuler (#1-12) and Henry René (#13-22)
Produced for CD release by Jordi Pujol
© 2023 by Fresh Sound Records

Stereo · 24-Bit Digitally Remastered
Blue Moon Producciones Discograficas, S.L.

10,95 €  (tax incl.)

Add to wishlist

Added to your wishlist.

You can manage your wishlist here.

You're not signed in

You must sign in to manage your wishlist.
Sign in
Delivery information:
Delivery in 5-7 days
Shipping rates Terms and conditions
Payment methods:



Customer reviews

Write a review

No Strings + The Sound of Music (2 LP on 1 CD)
Rate this product:

Thanks for sharing your thoughts.

Your review has been added and will be available once approved by a moderator.