Let's Dande the Mambo + Previously Unreleased Album
  • Capitol ST-1455
    Capitol ST-1455
  • ATCO 33-147
    ATCO 33-147
  • René Bloch
    René Bloch

René Bloch

Let's Dance the Mambo + Previously Unreleased Album (Digipack)

Blue Moon Golden Series

Johnny Audino, Don Ellis, Paul López (tp), Dave Wells (tb), René Bloch, Anthony Ortega, Jack Montrose (saxes), Alan Chaplin (p), Tommy Tedesco (g), Al McKibbon (b), Mongo Santamaría, Willie Bobo, Modesto Duran, Chino Pozo (perc), Rudy Calzado (vcl)

Reference: BMCD 872

Bar code: 8427328008723


· Collector’s Edition
· Issued in Digipack
· 2 Original LPs on 1 CD
· Bonus Tracks
· Original Cover Art and Liner Notes
· Stereo Recordings
· Newly Remastered in 24-Bit

René Bloch was one one of the most celebrated Latin bandleaders in the early 60s in the Los Angeles scene and with an excellent background for this type of music. An alumnus of the Perez Prado band, he toured the world playing Latin music while deciding how he wanted his own band to sound. Yet this group has a fresh, exciting sound all its own.

These are authentic mambo rhythms, performed by René Bloch’s exciting band, a group of swinging musicians who knew and understand the music, and succeed in capturing the true feeling and spirit of the dance. This album provides an excellent sample of the result. Here are the exciting sounds of René Bloch. Let’s dance the mambo!

01. Blue Skies (Irving Berlin) 1:45
02. You and the Night and the Music (Schwartz-Dietz) 2:34
03. Mambo a la Count (René Bloch) 2:20
04. Let’s Face the Music and Dance (Irving Berlin) 2:23
05. After You’ve Gone (Layton-Creamer) 2:30
06. Get Happy (Arlen-Koehler) 2:03
07. Pop! Goes the Weasel Mambo (René Bloch) 2:18
08. Carioca (Youmans-Eliscu-Kahn) 2:34
09. Cheek to Cheek (Irving Berlin) 2:22
10. Little Brown Jug Mambo (Joseph Winner) 2:23
11. Mambo Chicano (René Bloch) 2:32
12. Take the “A” Train (Billy Strayhorn) 2:11
13. Watusi (Alan Chaplin) 3:02
14. Chaplains Tusi (Alan Chaplin) 2:16
15. Ooba Doucha (René Bloch) 2:28
16. José (Rudy Calzado) 4:42
17. The Jerky Turkey (René Bloch) 2:36
18. Cha Cha a la Mode (Alan Chaplin) 3:23
19. Palomilla (Rudy Calzado) 4:01
20. Feitico Da Villa (René Bloch) 4:41
21. Tumba la caña Jibarito (Rudy Calzado) 3:10
22. Oye mi pregón (Rudy Calzado) 2:52
23. Mr. Latin’s Mambo (Alan Chaplin) 2:49
24. Baila Cha Cha (Alan Chaplin) 2:43
25. Mambo Watusi (Alan Chaplin) 2:33
26. Encanto (Alan Chaplin) 3:00
27. Soy un caramelero (Hector Rivera) 2:38

Album details

Tracks #1-12, from the Capitol album “Let's Dance the Mambo” (ST-1455)
Tracks #13-22, Previously unreleased album
Tracks #23-27, bonus tracks taken from the album “Mr. Latin” (ATCO 33-147)

Personnel on LET’S DANCE THE MAMBO! (1-12):
Donald Dennis, Johnny Audino, Weldon Morgan, Louie Valizan, Paul López, trumpets; Dave Wells, trombone; René Bloch, Rudy Fischer, alto saxes; Anthony Ortega, Jack Montrose, tenor saxes; Dick Houlgate, baritone sax & flute; Alan Chaplin, piano; Al McKibbon, bass; Mongo Santamantaría, congas; Willie Bobo, bongos; Modesto Duran, Jack Navarra, percussion.
Recorded at Capitol Towers Studios, June 16 & 17, 1960

Personnel on Previously unreleased album (13-22):
Don Ellis, Marvin Brown, John Audino, Tom Scott, trumpets; René Bloch, alto sax; Rolando Lozano, flauta & alto sax; Nash Maez, tenor sax; Bill Robinson, baritone sax; Alan Chaplin, piano; Pat Rodríguez, timbales; Chino Pozo, Humberto Cané, Chino Valdés, percussion; Rudy Calzado, vocals.
Recorded at American Studios, North Hollywood, 1962

Personnel on bonus tracks from MR. LATIN (23-27):
Marvin Brown, Don Dennis, Louis Valizan, Paul Lopez, Tom Scott, trumpets; René Bloch, alto sax; Augie Alcaraz, Nash Maez, tenor saxes; Bill Robinson, baritone sax; Tommy Tedesco, guitar; Alan Chaplin, piano; Frank Vasquez, bass; Pat Rodriguez, timbales; Luis Miranda, congas, Chino Pozo, bongos.
Recorded at Radio Recorders, Hollywood, September 1962

Tracks #1-12 produced by Curly Walter; #13-16 by Tom Culbertson; #17-26 by René Bloch

Compiled for CD release by Jordi Pujol
Special thanks to René Bloch

Stereo · 24-Bit Digitally Remastered

10,95 €  (tax incl.)

Add to wishlist

Added to your wishlist.

You can manage your wishlist here.

You're not signed in

You must sign in to manage your wishlist.
Sign in
Delivery information:
Delivery in 5-7 days
Shipping rates Terms and conditions
Payment methods:



Customer reviews

Write a review

Let's Dance the Mambo + Previously Unreleased Album (Digipack)
Rate this product:

Thanks for sharing your thoughts.

Your review has been added and will be available once approved by a moderator.