Wess Point - The Commodore Recordings
  • Henry Coker & Frank Wess
    Henry Coker & Frank Wess

Frank Wess

Wess Point - The Commodore Recordings

Fresh Sound Records

Joe Wilder, Thad Jones (tp), Henry Coker, Benny Powell, Henry Coker, Urbie Green (tb), Frank Wess (ts, fl), Jimmy Jones, Hank Jones (p), Oscar Pettiford, Charles Mingus (b), Osie Johnson, Kenny Clarke (d)

Reference: FSRCD 469

Bar code: 8427328604697

Frank Wess, a first-class multi-reedman, arranger, composer and notable soloist in Count Basies great 50s big band, is the protagonist of this special compilation of his complete 1954 sessions for Commodore, his first as a leader. Inspired by both Ben Webster and, particularly, Lester Young, he shows in these swinging New York quintet-sextet recordings his light yet full-bodied sound, backed by such exceptional jazzmen as Henry Coker, Urbie Green, Joe Wilder and Oscar Pettiford. As a bonus, Bitty Ditty and Elusive, two equally engaging tracks he recorded for Debut the same year, under the leadership of trumpeter Thad Jones, are included. Especially noteworthy on these tunesand on the session as a wholeis his great solo work on tenor saxophone.

01. Wess Point (Wess) 2:12
02. Some Other Spring (Wilson-Herzog) 4:30
03. Mishawaka (Olsen) 4:47
04. Flute Song (Wess-Feather) 3:37
05. Basie Aint Here (Wess) 1:58
06. Basie Aint Here (Wess) [Aternate take] 3:19
07. Youre My Thrill (Gorney-Clare) 2:38
08. Frankosis (Johnson) 5:59
09. Pretty Eyes (Reddie-Lunceford-Welsh) 3:13
10. Wess Of The Moon (Johnson) 5:36
11. Ill Be Around (Wilder) 3:09
12. Dannys Delight (Wess) 3:17
13. Romance (Donaldson-Leslie) 3:17
14. All My Life (Mitchell-Stept) 3:21
15. Frankly The Blues (Wess) 2:49
16. Bitty Ditty (Jones) 4:53 (*)
17. Elusive (Jones) 5:14 (*)

Album details

*Bonus Tracks

All tracks originally issued on Commodore 20031 and 20032



Tracks #1-4: Henry Coker, trombone; Frank Wess, tenor sax & flute; Jimmy Jones, piano; Oscar Pettiford, bass; Osie Johnson, drums. New York, May 8, 1954
Tracks #5-8: Same, but Benny Powell, trombone, replaces Coker.

Tracks #9-11: Joe Wilder, trumpet; Henry Coker, trombone; Frank Wess, tenor sax & flute; Jimmy Jones, piano; Oscar Pettiford, bass; Osie Johnson, drums. New York, August 12, 1954
Tracks #12-15: Same, but Urbie Green, trombone, replaces Coker.

Tracks #16-17: Thad Jones, trumpet; Frank Wess, tenor sax; Hank Jones, piano; Charles Mingus, bass; Kenny Clarke, drums. New York, August 11, 1954

Original sessions produced by Leonard Feather and Danny Gabler
Reissue produced by Jordi Pujol

$12.40  (tax incl.)

Add to wishlist

Added to your wishlist.

You can manage your wishlist here.

You're not signed in

You must sign in to manage your wishlist.
Sign in
Delivery information:
Delivery in 7-10 days
Shipping rates Terms and conditions
Payment methods:



Customer reviews

No customer reviews yet. Login to leave your impressions!

Write a review

Wess Point - The Commodore Recordings
Rate this product:

Thanks for sharing your thoughts.

Your review has been added and will be available once approved by a moderator.