J.J. Johnson Quintet Featuring Bobby Jaspar - Complete Recordings (2CD set)
  • Columbia CL 935 Columbia CL 935
  • Columbia CL 973 Columbia CL 973
  • Columbia CL 1084 Columbia CL 1084

J.J. Johnson

J.J. Johnson Quintet Featuring Bobby Jaspar - Complete Recordings (2CD set)

Fresh Sound Records

J.J. Johnson (tb), Bobby Jaspar (ts), Hank Jones, Tommy Flanagan (p), Percy Heath, Wilbur Little (b), Elvin Jones (d)

Reference: FSRCD 538_2

J.J. Johnsons great 1956-1957 quintet played modern jazz with authority, imagination, taste and feeling. Its leader was the trombonist of the era, much emulated and admired by his peers. The Belgian-born Jaspar, who had recently won the International Jazz Critics New Star Award on tenor, proved an ideal foil and a capable modern-mainstream tenor sax and flutist, contributing impressively on both instruments. Flanagan, a superbly swinging pianist, also made an indelible mark on the group, which was graced initially with another bop piano great, Hank Jones, while Little and Elvin Jones support throughout is admirable. It was an exhilarating band that fully displayed Johnsons well-rounded musicianship.


CD 1:
01. Overdrive (Johnson) (3:22)
02. Undecided (Shavers-Robin) (4:04)
03. Angel Eyes (Dennis-Brent) (3:35)
04. Tumbling Tumbleweeds (Nolan) (4:14)
05. Cube Steak (Johnson) (3:41)
06. Never Let Me Go (Scott) (3:40)
07. Solar (Davis) (5:14)
08. Chasin The Bird (Parker) (4:40)
09. Naptown U.S.A. (Johnson) (4:59)
10. It Might As Well Be Spring (Rodgers-Hammerstein II) (4:46)
11. Bird Song (Jones) (5:36)
12. It Could Happen To You (Burke-Van Heusen) (3:46)
13. Our Love Is Here To Stay (Gershwin-Gershwin) (2:42)
14. Blue Haze (Davis) (5:07)
15. I Should Care (Cahn-Stordhal-Weston) (3:54)

Total time: 64:02 min.

CD 2:
01. Barbados (Parker) (4:37)
02. In A Little Provincial Town (Jaspar) (4:15)
03. Cette Chose (Jaspar) (3:15)
04. Joey, Joey, Joey (Loesser) (3:27)
05. Teapot (Johnson) (5:25)
06. So Sorry Please (Powell) (4:11)
07. Old Devil Moon (Harburg-Lane) (6:40)
Bonus: Live "Cafe Bohemia" New York
08. Johnson introduces the members of his quintet (0:40)
09. Bernies Tune (Miller) (6:07)
10. In A Little Provincial Town (Jaspar) (4:38)
11. I Should Care (Cahn-Stordhal-Weston) (4:54)
12. Angel Eyes (Dennis-Brent) (3:34)
13. Old Devil Moon (Lane-Harburg) (6:34)
14. My Old Flame (Coslow-Johnson) (6:01)
15. Dailie Double (Johnson) (5:35)
16. Theme: Solar (Davis) (0:49)

Total time: 71:09 min.

CD 1 - Tracks #1-10 originally issued as "J Is For Jazz" (Columbia CL935).
CD 1 - Tracks #15 taken from "Jay and Kai" (Columbia CL973).
CD 1 - Tracks #11-14 & CD 2, #1-3 & 5-7 originally issued as "Dial JJ5" (Columbia CL1084).
CD 2 - Track #4 taken from the compilation "The Playboy Jazz All Stars" (Playboy PB 1529/30).
CD 2 - Tracks #8-16 from "Live at the Cafe Bohemia" (Fresh Sound FSRCD-143).

Personnel: J.J. Johnson (tb), Bobby Jaspar (ts, fl), Hank Jones (p on CD 1 #1-7) or Tommy Flanagan (p on CD 1 #8-15 & CD 2), Percy Heat (p on CD 1 #1-3), Wilbur Little (b on CD 1 #1-3) or Percy Heath (b on CD 1 #4-15 & CD 2) and Elvin Jones (d).

Note: On track 6 of CD 2 Johnson and Jaspar our.

CD 1 Recorded in New York City, July 24 (#1-3), July 25 (#4-7), July 27 (#8-10), 1956 and January 29 (#11-15), 1957.

CD 2 Recorded in New York City, January 31 (#1-4), May 14 (#5-7) and Live at the Cafe Bohemia, February, 1957 (#8-16).



-Live at Café Bohemia

"The J.J. Johnson Quintet is heard live during a 1957 broadcast that originated from the Cafe Bohemia in New York City. Having just ended his musical partnership with fellow trombonist Kai Winding, Johnson was now leading an exciting new group with pianist Tommy Flanagan, bassist Wilbur Little, drummer Elvin Jones, and the tragically short-lived tenor saxophonist and flutist Bobby Jaspar. Johnson devours the rapid-fire opener, "Bernie's Tune," then Jaspar is added for his original "In a Little Provincial Town," which features his lyrical flute and some fine muted trombone by the leader. Jaspar is heard on tenor during the intricate arrangement of the bittersweet ballad "Angel Eyes." The group gets an infectious Latin groove going for "Old Devil Moon" and finishes on a blazing note with Johnson's up-tempo cooker, "Daylie Double," which he had recorded for Blue Note just two years earlier. Everyone is in top form and the sound quality is fairly good, so this fine evening of bop is highly recommended."

Ken Dryden -All Music Guide


$17.45  (tax incl.)

Add to wishlist

Added to your wishlist.

You can manage your wishlist here.

You're not signed in

You must sign in to manage your wishlist.
Sign in
Delivery information:
Delivery in 7-10 days
Shipping rates Terms and conditions
Payment methods:



Customer reviews

No customer reviews yet. Login to leave your impressions!

Write a review

J.J. Johnson Quintet Featuring Bobby Jaspar - Complete Recordings (2CD set)
Rate this product:

Thanks for sharing your thoughts.

Your review has been added and will be available once approved by a moderator.