J.J. Johnson

The Total J. J. Johnson

RCA Victor

J.J. Johnson (tb, lead), Art Farmer, Snooky Young, Danny Stiles, Ernie Royal, Burt Collins (tp), Benny Powell, Tony Studd, Paul Faulise (tb), Jerome Richardson, Frank Wess, Phil Bodner, Thomas Newsom (reeds), Hank Jones (p), Ron Carter (b), Grady Tate (d)

Reference: 74321 93843

Bar code: 743219384324


01. Say When 2:53
02. Blue 5:44
03. In Walked Horace 4:39
04. Short Cake 2:41
05. Space Walk 4:06
06. Euro #1 [Excerp from 'Euro-Suite'] 5:47
07. Ballade 3:43
08. Little Dave 4:01
09. Euro #2 [Excerp from 'Euro-Suite'] 5:36

Album details

All composition by J.J. Johnson

Originally released on RCA Victor LSP-3833

Recorded at RCA Victor's Studio A, in New York City, November 30, December 2 & 5, 1966

Produced by Brad McCuen

Press reviews

"All but one selection ("Blue") from this 1966 big-band album has been reissued on CD. J.J. Johnson, the main soloist throughout on trombone, also contributed all the compositions and arrangements for the 13- and 14-piece bands heard on the three sessions. There are short spots for some of the other players, particularly pianist Hank Jones, but the emphasis is on the arranged ensembles, making this project an excellent example of Johnson's often-overlooked writing talents."

Scott Yanow (All Music Guide)


15,95 €  (tax incl.)

Add to wishlist

Added to your wishlist.

You can manage your wishlist here.

You're not signed in

You must sign in to manage your wishlist.
Sign in
Delivery information:
Delivery in 5-7 days
Shipping rates Terms and conditions
Payment methods:



Customer reviews

Write a review

The Total J. J. Johnson
Rate this product:

Thanks for sharing your thoughts.

Your review has been added and will be available once approved by a moderator.