Wes Montgomery

Complete Recordings with Lionel Hampton (2-CD)

Definitive Records

Wes Montgomery (g), Lionel hampton (vib), Benny Bailey, Duke Garrette (tp), Johnny Board (as), Gene Morris (ts), Albert Ammons (p), Roy Johnson (b), Earl Walker (d), Sonny Parker, Betty Carter (vcl)

Reference: DRCD 11241

Bar code: 8436006492419

Recordings from various sessions during his two-year stint with Lionel Hampton's Orchestra using the pseudonym of 'John Leslie' to cover for contractual reasons his real identity.


CD 1
01. Chicken Shack Boogle
02. New Central Avenue Breakdown
03. Benson's Boogie
04. Hamp's Boogie Woogie Nº2
05. Hamp's Gumbo
06. Beulah's Sister's Boogie
07. Wee Albert
08. What's Happening Baby?
09. Drinking Wine, Spo-Dee-O-Dee, Drinking Wine
10. Moonglow
11. The Hucklebuck
12. Baby, You're Great
13. Laverder Coffin

CD 2
01. Rag Mop
02. For You My Love
03. Sky Blue
04. I've Been a Fool
05. How You Sound
06. I Almost Lost My Mind
07. Everybody's Somebody's Full
08. I'll Never Be Free
09. Sad Feelin'
10. Hamp's Gumbo
11. Please Give Me a Chance
12. I Wish I Knew
13. Where or When
14. There Will Never Be Another You

Press reviews

"Wes Montgomery fanatics might be interested in these sides, his earliest, recorded with Lionel Hampton's band in 1949 and 1950. Montgomery is credited as John Leslie for contractual reasons, and his playing here is sparse at best. If anything, these sessions are far more indicative of where Hampton was at the time and should have been released as such. The mix is typical for the day and Montgomery's playing can barely be heard. Even calling this one of historical importance is stretching it."

Thom Jurek -All Music Guide


18,95 €  (tax incl.)

Add to wishlist

Added to your wishlist.

You can manage your wishlist here.

You're not signed in

You must sign in to manage your wishlist.
Sign in
Delivery information:
Delivery in 5-7 days
Shipping rates Terms and conditions
Payment methods:



Customer reviews

Write a review

Complete Recordings with Lionel Hampton (2-CD)
Rate this product:

Thanks for sharing your thoughts.

Your review has been added and will be available once approved by a moderator.