The Trio: Billy Bean · Hal Gaylor · Walter Norris (Includes Bonus Tracks)
  • Riverside RLP-9380
    Riverside RLP-9380
  • Billy Bean, Walter Norris & Hal Gaylor
    Billy Bean, Walter Norris & Hal Gaylor

Walter Norris

The Trio: Billy Bean · Hal Gaylor · Walter Norris (Includes Bonus Tracks)

Fresh Sound Records

Walter Norris (p), Billy Bean (g), Hal Gaylor (b)

Reference: FSRCD 779

Bar code: 8427328607797


The Trio is one of those comparatively little-known albums still revered by aficionados as a gem of its kind. Originally conceived by Hal Gaylor (born 1929), it combined his considerable powers as a bassist with the remarkable talents of guitarist Billy Bean (1933-2012) and pianist Walter Norris (1931-2011) in a trio that was musical democracy at its most fluent and creative.

United by this interactive credo, they released only one album the eponymous The Trio in the groups sadly brief life, although the bonus tracks here (9-14) appeared later. Bean, with his inventiveness, lyricism, his harp-like tone, accuracy and speed, was in magisterial form, aided and abetted by Norris, a truly gifted improviser and accompanist who spent most of his subsequent career in Germany, and Gaylor, the fulcrum round which the groups engaging interplay swirled and developed. The guitar-piano-bass setting has a long and honoured jazz lineage, beginning with the Nat Cole Trio and continuing with Art Tatums, the Oscar Peterson-Barney Kessel/Herb Ellis-Ray Brown lineups and the memorable Jim Hall-Carl Perkins-Red Mitchell and Hall-Mitchell-Red Kelly groups. This one is right up there with the best of them.

—Jordi Pujol

01. Groove Yard (Carl Perkins) 5:19
02. Smoke Gets in Your Eyes (Harbach-Kern) 4:57
03. The End of a Love Affair (Edward Redding) 5:09
04. Scramble (Walter Norris) 3:21
05. Out Front (Billy Bean) 4:09
06. Che-Low (Hal Gaylor) 4:08
07. For Heavens Sake (Meyer-Bretton) 5:28
08. D. & D. (Walter Norris) 5:03
09. Have You Met Miss Jones (Rodgers-Hart) 4:14 *
10. Safari (Horace Silver) 4:21 *
11. All of You (Cole Porter) 3:57 *
12. Motivation (Billy Bean) 2:42 *
13. Lands End (Harold Land) 7:32 *
14. Lush Life (Billy Strayhorn) 3:47 *

Album details

Tracks #1-8, from the 12-inch LP "The Trio" (Riverside RLP 9380)
(*) Bonus tracks [#9-14], promotional recordings also issued on the CD The Trio - Rediscovered (String Jazz SJRCD1007) which contains three more tracks.

Walter Norris, piano; Billy Bean, guitar; Hal Gaylor, bass.
Recorded in New York City, June 6 & 30, 1961 (#1-8), and 1962 (#9, 11, 14)
and Greenwood Lake, 1961 (#10, 12, 13)

Recording Engineer: Ray Fowler at Plaza Sound Studios, New York City (#1-8)
Cover photo by Steve Shapiro
Original Riverside recordings (#1-8) produced by Orrin Keepnews
and bonus tracks (#9-14) by The Trio (Gaylor-Norris-Bean)
This CD release produced by Jordi Pujol
© 2013 by Fresh Sound Records

Stereo · 24-Bit Digitally Remastered
Blue Moon Producciones Discograficas, S.L.

Press reviews

"Guitarist Billy Bean is best known for his work with fellow six stringer John Pisano, but for a short while in 1961 and on he lead a drumless trio with Hal Gaylor/b and Walter Norris/p. Jazz aficionados of guitarists have been looking high and low for this session, and for good reason. The interplay and smooth swing on material like Carl Perkins Groove Yard as well as a nice bluesy Lands End dig into your viscera. Subtle dexterity abounds, as on Scramble and on a lithe and suave All of You. This one is going to be on your play list for a LONG time!"

—George W. Harris (July 22, 2013)


9,95 €  (tax incl.)

Add to wishlist

Added to your wishlist.

You can manage your wishlist here.

You're not signed in

You must sign in to manage your wishlist.
Sign in
Delivery information:
Delivery in 5-7 days
Shipping rates Terms and conditions
Payment methods:



Customer reviews

Write a review

The Trio: Billy Bean · Hal Gaylor · Walter Norris (Includes Bonus Tracks)
Rate this product:

Thanks for sharing your thoughts.

Your review has been added and will be available once approved by a moderator.