The Legendary Pioneer Of Modern Soprano Sax · Early Years 1954-1956 (2-CD)
  • Inlay
  • 12-Page booklet
    12-Page booklet
  • CD1
  • CD2
  • Steve Lacy
    Steve Lacy

Steve Lacy

The Legendary Pioneer Of Modern Soprano Sax · Early Years 1954-1956 (2-CD)

Fresh Sound Records

Steve Lacy (ss, cl), Dick Sutton, Don Stratton (tp), Rai Anderson, John Welch (tb), Herbie Mann (fl, ts), Tom Stewart (th), Don Sitterlex, Frank Caputo (bs), Dave McKenna (p), Joe Puma (g), Mark Trail, Whitey Mitchell (b), Bill DeHay, Osie Johnson, Al Levitt (d), Neal Hefti (arr)

Reference: FSRCD 364

Bar code: 8427328603645

This 2-CD set charts the exciting early years of Steve Lacy, playing progressive Dixieland and swinging mainstream jazz on a soprano saxophone with extraordinary freshness, vigor and personal style, when he exploded onto the mid-50's jazz scene. To hear Steve play the multi-toned modern figures and extended line on an instrument usually associated with Sydney Bechet is always a stimulating experience. Of his extraordinary approach to the instrument, Lacy said: "As Charlie Parker increased the technical and expressive possibilities of the alto, Milt Jackson, the vibraphone, Kenny Clarke, the drums and Jimmy Blanton, the bass, one of my personal aims is to do the same for the soprano." On hearing these sessions, we think you'll agree that he managed to do just that.

During the preparation of this production Steve Lacy sadly passed away in Boston on Friday, June 4, 2004. He maintained a vigorous teaching and performing schedule right up until his last month. He continued to produce works of startling originality, and was considered one of jazz's most prolific recording artists. Fifty years after he made his first recordings, it is obvious now that Steve Lacy took that challenging instrument and made it his own. He'll be missed.

01. Avalon
02. Softly, As In a Morning Sunrise
03. I'm Coming Virginia
04. I Would Do Anything for You
05. Liza
06. How About You
07. Youre Lucky to Me
08. Peg O My Heart
09. As Long As I Live
10. My Old Flame
11. A Foggy Day
12. Lets Get Away from It All
13. I bid
14. Love Me or Leave Me
15. Footnote
16. Sunday

CD 2
01. Gee, Baby, Aint I Good To You
02. My Heart Is a Hobo
03. Out of Nowhere
04. Rosetta
05. Fidgety Feet
06. Potatoes
07. Lets Get Lost
08. These Are the Things I Love
09. Spain
10. Some of These Days
11. Young Lesley
12. It Could Happen To You
13. Lover Man
14. I Let a Song Go Out of My Heart
15. You Stepped Out of a Dream
16. Once In a While
17. Strike Up the Band
18. Over the Rainbow
19. Perdido
20. Why Don¹t You Take Up the Piccolo?
21. Give Me the Simple Life
22. Indian Blanket

Album details


CD 1, tracks #1-8: Steve Lacy (ss, cl on #5,8,9,12 & 14), Dick Sutton (tp), Rai Anderson (tb), Don Sitterlex (bs), Mark Trail (b), Bill DeHay (d).
Recorded New York City, August 8, 1954

CD 1, tracks #9-16: John Welch replaces Anderson (tb), Frank Caputo replaces Sitterlex (bs).
Recorded New York, November 24, 1954

CD 2, tracks #1-6: Steve Lacy (ss), Tom Stewart (th), Dave McKenna (p), Whitey Mitchell (b), Al Levitt (d).
Recorded New York City, February 1956

CD 2, tracks #7-10: Steve Lacy (ss), Tom Stewart (th), Herbie Mann (fl,ts), Joe Puma (g), Whitey Mitchell (b), Bill Bradley or Al Levitt (#7) (d).
Recorded New York City, February 1956

CD 2, tracks #11-15: Steve Lacy (ss), Don Stratton (tp), Tom Stewart (th), Joe Puma (g), Whitey Mitchell (b), Gus Johnson (d). Neal Hefti arranger.
Recorded New York City, April 13, 1956

CD 2, tracks #16-20: Same but Osie Johnson replaces Gus Johnson (d).
Recorded New York City, April 23, 1956

CD 2, tracks #21-22: Steve Lacy (ss), Tom Stewart (th), Herbie Mann (fl, ts), Joe Puma (g), Whitey Mitchell (b), Herb Wasserman (d).
Recorded New York City, June 13, 1956

Cover photo: Herb Snitzer
Produced for CD release by Jordi Pujol
Blue Moon Producciones Discograficas S.L.
"There have been some last-minute changes in this production in order to reflect the unexpected death of Steve Lacy, shortly before the completion of the text and cover art. With this in mind, we offer these CDs as a timely homage to one of modern jazz's true pioneers."

-Note of the producer

14,95 €  (tax incl.)

Add to wishlist

Added to your wishlist.

You can manage your wishlist here.

You're not signed in

You must sign in to manage your wishlist.
Sign in
Delivery information:
Delivery in 5-7 days
Shipping rates Terms and conditions
Payment methods:



Customer reviews

Write a review

The Legendary Pioneer Of Modern Soprano Sax · Early Years 1954-1956 (2-CD)
Rate this product:

Thanks for sharing your thoughts.

Your review has been added and will be available once approved by a moderator.