Rolf Ericson and His All American Stars
  • EmArcy MG-36106
    EmArcy MG-36106
  • EmArcy MG-36106 Back Cover
    EmArcy MG-36106 Back Cover
  • Rolf Ericson
    Rolf Ericson

Rolf Ericson

Rolf Ericson and His All American Stars

Fresh Sound Records

Rolf Ericson (tp), Cecil Payne, Lars Gullin (bs), Duke Jordan, Freddie Redd (p), John Simmons, Tommy Potter (b), Art Taylor, Joe Harris (d), Ernestine Anderson (vcl)

Reference: FSRCD 464

Bar code: 8427328604642

In the spring of 1956, Swedish trumpeter Rolf Ericson, who, except for Swedish sojourn 1950-1952, had been working in the United States since 1947, returned to tour his homeland with a small group of prominent jazzmen, to play the Scandinavian national parks circuit through the end of August. The members of the unit were Cecil Payne, Duke Jordan, John Simmons, Art Taylor, and singer Ernestine Anderson.

The tour itself had a rather hectic outcome, and after two of the jazzmen got in drugs trouble, all the American were sent home by June 28. Replacements flown from the States were pianist Freddie Redd, bassist Tommy Potter and drummer Joe Harris. Ernestine remained and Swedish baritone Lars Gullin also joined the Ericson combo. Both of these groups had a profound impact on the development of Swedish jazz.

01. Forecast 5:31
02. Vacker Flicka 7:15
03. Visby Groove Alley 6:45
04. Jordu 3:22
05. Flight to Jordan 6:10
06. Medley 7:44
- I Cover The Waterfront
- Laura
- Everything Happens To Me
07. This Time The Dreams On Me 6:25
08. Forecast 5:57
09. You Go To My Head 3:20
10. Vacker Flicka 5:00
11. A Night In Tunisia 3:28
12. Looking For A Boy 1:50
13. Lover Man 3:01
14. A Foggy Day 1:20
15. I Got It Bad 3:01
16. Love For Sale 3:33

Album details

Personnel on tracks #1-7:
Rolf Ericson, trompette; Cecil Payne, baritone sax; Duke Jordan, piano; John Simmons, bass; Art Taylor, drums.
Recorded in Stockholm, May 30 (1-2), June 1 (3-4), & 4 (5-7), 1956

Personnel on tracks #8-11:
Same personnel. Ernestine Anderson, vocal on #9.
Recorded in Sundsvall, Sweden, on June 21, 1956

Personnel on tracks #12-16:
Rolf Ericson, trumpet; Lars Gullin, baritone sax; Freddie Redd, piano; Tommy Potter, bass; Joe Harris, drums; Ernestine Anderson, vocal.
Recorded live in Folkets Park, Varnamo, Sweden, on July 30, 1956

Produced for CD release by Jordi Pujol
Blue Moon Producciones Discograficas S.L.

Press reviews

"In 1956, Swedish trumpeter Rolf Ericson headed an American group for a tour of his native land. Unfortunately, the group (also consisting of baritonist Cecil Payne, pianist Duke Jordan, bassist John Simmons and drummer Art Taylor) included several drug addicts, and after two of the musicians got in trouble, all four Americans were sent home. Their only recording session (which resulted in four songs, including a vocal for the young Ernestine Anderson) are in this CD. To fill out the remainder of the tour, Ericson was able to quickly get baritonist Lars Gullin, pianist Freddie Redd, bassist Tommy Potter and drummer Joe Harris along with Anderson. The only existing live broadcast of the band takes up the majority of this release. Anderson is featured on five straight songs in a mini-set, and among the instrumentals "Night in Tunisia" is the hotter cut; there are also brief features for bassist Potter and baritonist Gullin. The recording quality is decent, if not up to the level of the studio date, and overall, this is a worthwhile if not quite essential set."

Scott Yanow -All Music Guide


9,95 €  (tax incl.)

Add to wishlist

Added to your wishlist.

You can manage your wishlist here.

You're not signed in

You must sign in to manage your wishlist.
Sign in
Delivery information:
Delivery in 5-7 days
Shipping rates Terms and conditions
Payment methods:



Customer reviews

Write a review

Rolf Ericson and His All American Stars
Rate this product:

Thanks for sharing your thoughts.

Your review has been added and will be available once approved by a moderator.