• Ludovic Ernault
    Ludovic Ernault
  • Enzo Carniel
    Enzo Carniel
  • Florent Nisse
    Florent Nisse
  • Simon Bernier
    Simon Bernier

Ludovic Ernault


Fresh Sound New Talent

Ludovic Ernault (as), Enzo Carniel (p), Florent Nisse (b), Simon Bernier (d)

Reference: FSNT-580

Bar code: 8427328435802

Album details

All tracks composed by Ludovic Ernault

Ludovic Ernault (alto sax), Enzo Carniel (piano), Florent Nisse (bass), Simon Bernier (drums).
Recorded at Studio des Egreffins, VIdelles, France, April 27 & 28, 2016

Sound engineer: Nicolas Charlier
Mixed by Clément Lemennicier
Mastered by Raphael Jonin
Cover photo: Stéphane Louis
Design: Sarah Kay

Produced by Ludovic Ernault
Executive producer: Jordi Pujol
Blue Moon Producciones Discograficas S.L.

Press reviews

"The title is well-chosen, for this is a delicately etched set of themes that only rarely picks up pace or delivers fire. But it’s not necessarily restful. There is a strange snatch of audio – children? – at the top of Detachment that confirms the faintly unsettling air.

The album as a whole is reminiscent of some of the earlier ECM productions, and certainly those that feature the presumable dedicatee of track two. Bernier’s percussion is highly musical and carefully woven with Carniel’s piano playing and Nisse’s bass. It sounds like an established group playing well-rehearsed material but without the stiffness we might associate with a recording made at the end of a long tour.

Ernault’s saxophone is played with a light, mobile action. He moves through the line of There Is Know End with a musing quality, while the rhythm of Danse is stately, almost ritualised. Sea Elle is probably the Clément Lemeniccer who mixed the album and who is singled out for thanks on the sleeve. If so, the accolade is deserved, for this is a beautifully balanced recording, one of the best I’ve heard of late. Every instrument is audible and in place, and yet the overall effect isn’t horn-plus-rhythm, but that of an integrated collective. Ernault claims the sole title credit on the basis of his compositions, not necessarily any priority in the actual playing.

The Fresh Sound New Talent imprint consistently throws up intriguing new names, or new outside their native scenes. There’s now an almost intimidating richness to the catalogue, but some names and records do stand out conspicuously, and this is one of them. Check the duration: short commons? Not a bit. Putting out a record this length bespeaks confidence, not doubt."

Brian Morton (November 6)


Son frais, nouveau talent

C’est un quartet de talents de la scène française - Enzo Carniel au piano, Florent Nisse à la contrebasse et Simon Bernier à la batterie - qui porte les sept compositions originales signées du saxophoniste alto Ludovic Ernault. Originaire de Rennes, le jeune compositeur de 27 ans s’est fait remarquer par le label espagnol défricheur de Jordi Pujol, Fresh Sound New Talent. Dans une esthétique moderne d’une grande élégance, l’album séduit par l’équité dans l’espace expressif que Ludovic est attentif à donner à chacun. L’enregistrement restitue ce parfait dosage, avec une batterie souvent prolixe. Ce qui nous marque également après plusieurs écoutes, c’est la finesse avec laquelle il a agencé les pièces pour nous emmener vers plus de mélancolie dans les trois dernières. Un nouveau talent à suivre.

—Alice Leclercq



10,95 €  (tax incl.)

Add to wishlist

Added to your wishlist.

You can manage your wishlist here.

You're not signed in

You must sign in to manage your wishlist.
Sign in
Delivery information:
Delivery in 5-7 days
Shipping rates Terms and conditions
Payment methods:



Customer reviews

Write a review

Rate this product:

Thanks for sharing your thoughts.

Your review has been added and will be available once approved by a moderator.