Complete 1953-1954 · Dance Sessions
  • Clef MGC 626
    Clef MGC 626
  • Clef MGC 647
    Clef MGC 647

Count Basie

Complete 1953-1954 · Dance Sessions

Jazz Connections

Count Basie (p, org), Joe Newman, Wendell Culley, Renauld Jones, Thad Jones, Joe Wilder (tp), Henry Coker, Henderson Chambers (tb), Eddie Lockjaw Davis, Paul Quinichette, Frank Foster, Frank Wess (ts), Freddie Green (g), Jimmy Lewis, Eddie jones (b), Gus Johnson (d), Manny Albam, Neal Hefti, Johnny Mandel, Nat Pierce, Ernie Wilkins (arr)

Reference: JC 1005

Bar code: 8427328510059


Produced by Norman Granz and originally issued on its Clef label in two separate albums, this recordings represents the rebirth of the Count Basie orchestra, a sometimes stomping, something smoothly sailing, but always swinging study in ensemble playing that is as fresh and danceable today as it was in the 50s. The main characteristic of the new orchestra Basie put together in 1952 was its change in focus, from being based on soloists to projecting an overall sound, thus returning to the origins of the big bands.


01. Straight Life (Johnny Mandel) 4:33
02. Basie Goes Wess (Frank Wess) 3:55
03. Softly With Feeling (Neal Hefti) 3:08
04. Peace Pipe (Ernie Wilkins) 2:30
05. Blues Go Away! (Ernie Wilkins) 3:22
06. Cherry Point (Neal Hefti) 3:20
07. Bubbles (Neal Hefti) 4:00
08. Right On (Freddie Green) 2:40
09. The Blues Done Come Back (Ernie Wilkins) 3:38
10. Plymouth Rock (Neal Hefti) 3:44
11. Stereophonic (Ernie Wilkins) 2:25
12. Mambo Mist (Pat Chico Barnes) 4:07
13. Sixteen Men Swinging (Ernie Wilkins) 3:05
14. She's Just My Size (Ernie Wilkins) 4:31
15. You're Not The Kind (Count Basie) 3:19
16. I Feel Like A New Man (Manny Albam) 2:55
17. You For Me (Neal Hefti) 3:12
18. Soft Drink (Renauld Jones) 3:08
19. Two For The Blues (Neal Hefti) 2:50
20. Slow But Sure (Manny Albam) 3:45
21. Blues Backstage (Frank Foster) 4:36 *
22. Rails (Gillespie-Harding) 5:57 *

Album details

(*) Bonus Tracks

Tracks # 1-10, originally issued as "Dance Session" (Clef MGC 626)
Tracks # 11-20, originally issued as "Dance Session, Vol. 2" (Clef MGC 647)

Collective personnel includes:
Paul Campbell, Wendell Culley, Joe Newman, Renauld Jones (tp), Johnny Mandel (b-tp), Henry Coker, Jimmy Wilkins, Benny Powell (tb), Marshall Royal (as, cl), Ernie Wilkins (as, ts), Frank Wess, Frank Foster, Eddie Lockjaw Davis, Paul Quinichette (ts), Charlie Fowlkes (bs), Count Basie (p), Freddie Green (g), Jimmy Lewis, Eddie jones (b), Gus Johnson (d).

Arrangements by Manny Albam,Frank Foster, Freddie Green, Buster Harding, Neal Hefti, Johnny Mandel, Nat Pierce, Frank Wess and Ernie Wilkins.

Recorded between New York and Los Angeles, in 1952, 1953 & 1954

9,95 €  (tax incl.)

Add to wishlist

Added to your wishlist.

You can manage your wishlist here.

You're not signed in

You must sign in to manage your wishlist.
Sign in
Delivery information:
Delivery in 5-7 days
Shipping rates Terms and conditions
Payment methods:



Customer reviews

Write a review

Complete 1953-1954 · Dance Sessions
Rate this product:

Thanks for sharing your thoughts.

Your review has been added and will be available once approved by a moderator.