Alfons Carrascosa

Invisible Way - Big Acoustic Band, with Dick Oatts

Fresh Sound New Talent

Alfons Carrascosa (arr & dir), Matthew Simon, Julián Sánchez, Juan De Diego (tp), Víctor Correa, Tom Johnson, Sergi Vergés (tb), Dick Oatts, Pablo Arias, Guim Garcia, Marcos Serrano, Joan Chamorro (reeds), Joan Díaz (p), Rai Ferrer (b), David Gómez (d)

Reference: FSNT-366

Bar code: 8427328423663

The music I bring you here is the result of both a job and a feeling that began growing together at the end of 2006. It was around that time that poor health wouldnt allow me to continue expressing myself as a saxophonist, and made me turn my efforts towards different facets of my life as a musician, mainly the composition and arranging for big band.

I hold fond memories and have great respect for big band music, and I use the magnificent format that is the big orchestra to exteriorize my feelings and emotions. It is a thrilling adventure that, perhaps, will allow me to find once more the beautiful world that is the musical language.

Having formed this orchestra has given me great satisfaction and a chance to work with fantastic instrumentalists and excellent soloists. I would like to highlight the participation of my admired Dick Oatts as soloist and lead sax. He is an example of lyricism, tradition and fresh air, and an important source of inspiration to a great many musicians the world over. An exceptional saxophonist who will always have my best wishes with him.

-Alfons Carrascosa

01. Txeroki (8:02)
02. Extra Credit (9:26)
03. El castillo de Moulinsart (8:01)
04. Bilinkue (5:38)
05. Nens (9:36)
06. Lowe Walked In (8:26)
07. Lágrimas (12:14)
08. Alta médica (6:03)

Album details

Total time: 68:00 min.

All music composed and arranged by Alfons Carrascosa, except tracks #2 by Jim McNeely, and #6 by Kim Richmond.


Mathew Simon (tp lead), Jaume Peña, Julian Sanchez, Juan De Diego (tp).

Victor Correa (tb lead), Aran Montagut, Tom Johnson (tb), Sergi Verges (bass tb).

Dick Oatts (as lead on #1, 4, 5 & 7), Pablo Arias (as lead on #2, 3, 6 & 8, alto 2 on #1, 4, 5 & 7), Guim Garcia (as, fl on #2, 3, 6 & 8), Xavier Figuerola, Marcos Serrano (ts), Joan Chamorro (bs).

Joan Diaz (p), Rai Ferrer (b & el b), David Gomez (d).

Alfons Carrascosa (arranger & conductor).

Recorded on December 1-2, 2008 at Jordi Vidal studios, Barcelona.
Produced by Alfons Carrascosa, Taller de Musics & Jordi Pujol.

Executive Producer: Jordi Pujol.

Press reviews

"La música que aquí presento, es el resultado de un trabajo y de un sentimiento que nace a partir de finales de 2006. En esa fecha problemas de salud, me impiden seguir expresándome como saxofonista y hacen que dirija mi energía en otra dirección, como es la composición y arreglos para big band, entre otras facetas.

Junto al recuerdo y respeto por la música de big band y a partir de ella, exteriorizo mis sentimientos y emociones, a través de este magnífico formato de gran orquesta. Una aventura apasionante, en donde, tal vez, me reencuentre con este mundo tan hermoso como es lenguaje musical.

Expresar mi enorme satisfacción por formar está orquesta y poder contar con la presencia de enormes instrumentistas y excelentes solistas. Mención especial es, la participación como solista y saxo lead, de mi admirado Dick Oatts, un ejemplo de lirismo, tradición y aire nuevo al mismo tiempo y una fuente de inspiración importante para un gran número de músicos en todo el mundo. Un saxofonista excepcional al cual siempre le desearé lo mejor."

-Alfons Carrascosa


10,95 €  (tax incl.)

Add to wishlist

Added to your wishlist.

You can manage your wishlist here.

You're not signed in

You must sign in to manage your wishlist.
Sign in
Delivery information:
Delivery in 5-7 days
Shipping rates Terms and conditions
Payment methods:



Customer reviews

Write a review

Invisible Way - Big Acoustic Band, with Dick Oatts
Rate this product:

Thanks for sharing your thoughts.

Your review has been added and will be available once approved by a moderator.