Thomas Galliano

Walking Towards the Unknown

Fresh Sound New Talent

Thomas Galliano (d), Josh Evans, Philip Dizack (tp), Myron Walden (ts), Victor Gould (p), Luques Curtis, Peter Slavov (b), iLlspokinn (MC)

Reference: FSNT-586

Bar code: 8427328435864

Album details

Al tracks composed by Thomas Galliano, except #4 & #5 by Thierry Galliano

Thomas Galliano (drums), Josh Evans (trumpet), Myron Walden (tenor sax), Victor Gould (piano), Luques Curtis (bass). Special Guest: Philip Dizack (trumpet on #1,2 & 6), Peter Slavov (bass on #1,2 & 6), iLlspokinn (MC on #1).
Recorded at Systems Two Recording Studios, Brooklyn, New York, on January 5, 2017

Sound engineer: Joe Marciano
Mixed & mastered by Dave Darlington at the Bass Hit Studio, New York City
Photography: Julien Sanine

Produced by Myron Walden
Executive Producer: Jordi Pujol
Blue Moon Producciones Discograficas S.L.

Press reviews

"Thomas Galliano is one the most talented drummers of his generation. His music is amazing and full of love. I am proud to have watched this musician’s growth from the beginning of his career."

—André Ceccarelli

“Galliano is a drummer from Nice, currently working in New York and already known for his work with Rick Margitza, Ed Cherry, JD Allen and a bunch of others. The immediate and most powerful sense that comes off his debut recording with quintet is of a quietly passionate musicality. Classically trained, he treats the drums almost with gentleness and respect.

The hip inclusion of an MC on the title track maybe suggests that Galliano is looking for a contemporary street sound, responsive to other current musical movements, but that’s deceptive. His more natural direction is a hard-bop/post-bop manner that casts the horns and piano in relatively familiar roles.

Walden is a proven quantity, and his tenor –redolent of Hank Mobley on The Hope and George Coleman on Une Chanson Douce– is a key element of the sound. Indeed, there are tracks that suggest the saxophonist is the leader. But Galliano is always present, nudging at delicate little figures, easing out the time on the slower numbers, throwing occasional curveballs at the rhythm, as he does on Fanny.

The guests help to vary the sound. It’s hard enough to keep a regular quintet going in New York, where everyone seems to juggle diaries, but it sounds as if Galliano might want to work with rather larger forces. You sense that there is a big band warrior in him waiting to break out. I’d only heard (seen) him play once before this, but I remember being impressed and thinking that Paul Motian might have appreciated his thing and sensed a kindred spirit.”

Brian Morton (March 14, 2020)


10,95 €  (tax incl.)

Add to wishlist

Added to your wishlist.

You can manage your wishlist here.

You're not signed in

You must sign in to manage your wishlist.
Sign in
Delivery information:
Delivery in 5-7 days
Shipping rates Terms and conditions
Payment methods:



Customer reviews

Write a review

Walking Towards the Unknown
Rate this product:

Thanks for sharing your thoughts.

Your review has been added and will be available once approved by a moderator.