Quincy Jones

Talkin' Verve

Other Labels: Jazz & Vocals

Quincy Jones (arr, dir), Clark Terry, Harry Edison, Freddie Hubbard (tp), Jimmy Cleveland, Al Grey (tb), Zoot Sims, Roland Kirk, Phil Woods, Paul Gonsalves (reeds), Patti Bown (p), Lalo Schifrin (org, p), Kenny Burrell, Jim Hall (g), Milt Hinton (b), Osie Johnson (d)

Reference: GSCD590

Bar code: 6009143174436

01. Comin' Home Baby (2:47)
02. Boogie Stop Shuffle (2:43)
03. On the Street Where You Live (2:34)
04. Soul Bossa Nova (2:46)
05. Funny Farm (1:33)
06. The Hucklebuck (2:25)
07. The "In" Crowd (3:04)
08. Baby Elephant Walk (2:55)
09. (I Can't Get No) Satisfaction (3:29)
10. A Hard Day's Night (3:27)
11. What's New, Pussycat? (2:46)
12. Fever (2:38)
13. Mohair Sam (2:23)
14. Something About You (3:15)
15. Hang on Sloopy (2:14)
16. Rack 'Em Up (2:40)

All tracks recorded in New York City and Los Angeles, between 1959 and 1965.

Original recordings produced by Quincy Jones.


"The Talkin' Verve series was a huge set of recordings by individuals who had recorded for the label and were responsible for the funky, jazzy lounge music that was so revered again in the '90s, as well as the pioneers of the soul-jazz movement of the '60s. This volume, with Quincy Jones leading a big band, has all the elements of cool, sophisticated swagger. Check the cats who played in these bands: Harry "Sweets" Edison, Roland Kirk, Paul Gonsalves, Budd Johnson, Grady Tate, Ray Barretto, Freddie Hubbard, Ray Charles, Urbie Green, and more.

In other words, this is some hard swingin', brass blasting, rhythm driven soul-jazz on a big-band budget and these cats sweat. Whether it's on the "Soul Bossa Nova" that's most known from the Austin Powers soundtrack, or Lamont Dozier's "Somethin' About You," or "Hang on Sloopy," with its Latin retro-fit, or Charles Mingus' "Boogie Stop Shuffle," or Dallas Frazier's "Mohair Sam," it's all gutbucket though ultra-sophisticated in terms of the charts Jones wrote. His career with the Mercury label was a stellar one and these 16 cuts prove it."

Thom Jurek -All Music Guide


14,95 €  (tax incl.)

Add to wishlist

Added to your wishlist.

You can manage your wishlist here.

You're not signed in

You must sign in to manage your wishlist.
Sign in
Delivery information:
Delivery in 5-7 days
Shipping rates Terms and conditions
Payment methods:



Customer reviews

Write a review

Talkin' Verve
Rate this product:

Thanks for sharing your thoughts.

Your review has been added and will be available once approved by a moderator.