Solemn Meditation · Feat. Dave Pike (2 LP on 1 CD)
  • GNP Crescendo 31
    GNP Crescendo 31
  • Whippet ‎WLP-700
    Whippet ‎WLP-700

Paul Bley

Solemn Meditation · Feat. Dave Pike (2 LP on 1 CD)

Fresh Sound Records

Paul Bley, Eugene Russell (p), Dave Pike (vib), John Goodman, Charlie Haden (b), Lenny McBrowne, Reed Vaughan (d)

Reference: FSRCD 515

Bar code: 8427328605151


With the addition, in 1957, of vibist Dave Pike to what used to be a trio, the 24-year-old Canadian pianist, Paul Bley, formed the exciting quartet that recorded this excellent album, titled "Solemn Meditation," for Gene Norman.

Pike had a passion and jazz feeling that fired the band, and the contrast with Bleys angular, two-handed approach and time, more subtly pulsing than overtly driving, worked. Drummer McBrowne remained the guts of the group, driving his colleagues with intelligence and imagination, while Haden was a constantly growing bass player in close rapport with his teammate, and a reliable timekeeper. Although they lasted less than a year together, they played the kind of uncompromising jazz that graces this session.

The quartet placed a premium on originality, evident not only in the material chosen, which emphasised original composition, but also in exploring new methods of improvisation. And in both areas they displayed an unyielding commitment to a basically swinging conception that allowed them to gel and breathe.

01. Birk's Works (Dizzy Gillespie) 6:05
02. O Plus One (Carla Borg) 3:16
03. Porgy (George Gershwin) 3:40
04. Solemn Meditation (Sam Gill) 3:33
05. I Remember Harlem ((Eldridge-Astor-Williams) 3:41
06. Drum Two (Paul Bley) 3:05
07. Everywhere (Hill Harris) 4:03
08. Beau Didley (Paul Bley) 5:33
09. Persian Village (Dave Pike) 3:28
10. Triangle (Pike-Goodman-Russell) 3:24
11. Valse Hot (Sonny Rollins) 4:20
12. Lullaby Of The Leaves (Bernice Petkere) 4:36
13. You Go To My Head (Coots-Gillespie) 5:07
14. For The Love Of Pike (Dave Pike) 3:33
15. Goody Speaks (John Goodman) 3:46
16. Polynesia (Dave Pike) 3:28
17. I'll Remember April (Raye-DePaul-Johnston) 5:27
18. Willow Weep For Me (Ann Ronnell) 3:52
19. Pike's Peak (Dave Pike) 5:45

Album details

Tracks #1-9, from the album "Paul Bley - Solemn Meditation" (GNP Crescendo GNPS-31)
Tracks #10-19, from the album "The Jazz Couriers" (Whippet WLP-700)

Personnel on #1-9:
Paul Bley (piano), Dave Pike (vibes), Charlie Haden (bass), Lenny McBrowne (drums).
Recorded at Audio Arts Studio, Hollywood, August 21, 1957

Personnel on #10-19:
Eugene Russell (piano), Dave Pike (vibes), John Goodman (bass), Reed Vaughan (drums).
Recorded at Eccles Sound Studio, Hollywood, November 2 & 13, 1956

Liner notes by Carla Borg & Dave Pike
Original recordings produced by Gene Norman

Produced for CD release by Jordi Pujol
Blue Moon Producciones Discograficas S.L.

Press reviews

"This early quartet date from pianist Paul Bley is somewhat historic because it was the recording debut of both bassist Charlie Haden and vibraphonist Dave Pike. With drummer Lenny McBrowne completing the group, Bley explores a lot of unlikely material in an early postbop manner including Bill Harris' "Everywhere," Roy Eldridge's "I Remember Harlem" and some group originals. The liner notes by Carla Borg (soon to be Carla Bley), who has her "O Plus One" recorded by the group, are also noteworthy." 

Scott Yanow -All Music Guide


10,95 €  (tax incl.)

Add to wishlist

Added to your wishlist.

You can manage your wishlist here.

You're not signed in

You must sign in to manage your wishlist.
Sign in
Delivery information:
Delivery in 5-7 days
Shipping rates Terms and conditions
Payment methods:



Customer reviews

Write a review

Solemn Meditation · Feat. Dave Pike (2 LP on 1 CD)
Rate this product:

Thanks for sharing your thoughts.

Your review has been added and will be available once approved by a moderator.