• Klemens Marktl
    Klemens Marktl
  • Seamus Blake
    Seamus Blake
  • John Ellis
    John Ellis
  • Aaron Goldberg
    Aaron Goldberg
  • Joe Locke
    Joe Locke
  • Harish Raghavan
    Harish Raghavan

Klemens Marktl


Fresh Sound New Talent

Seamus Blake (ts, ss), John Ellis (ts, ss, b-cl), Aaron Goldberg (p), Joe Locke (vib), Harish Raghavan (b), Klemens Marktl (d)

Reference: FSNT-489

Bar code: 8427328424899

01. Elveen 8:54
02. December 5:25
03. Prosit Neujahr 5:27
04. Sonf For Alex 6:33
05. Nina's Dream 5:52
06. Three Times 6:51
07. Bright Sparks 4:52
08. Traffic 5:05
09. "V" 5:59
10. Hymn 1:54

Album details

All tunes composed & arranged by Klemens Marktl

Klemens Marktl Sextet
Seamus Blake (tenor & soprano sax), John Ellis (tenor & soprano sax, bass clarinet), Aaron Goldberg (piano), Joe Locke (vibes), Harish Raghavan (bass), Klemens Marktl (drums).
Recorded at the Samurai Hotel Recording Studio, Astoria, New York City, on April 8, 2015

Recording engineer: David Stoller
Mixing & mastering: Mike Marciano at Systems Two Studios, Brooklyn, New York

Photos by Christine Haas

Produced by Klemens Marktl
Executive producer: Jordi Pujol

Press reviews


"I dont know anyone who loves jazz more than Klemens Marktl. He immerses himself in the music in a joyful way, and the results are evident on this new recording. He is rooted in tradition but is not bound by it, and has assembled a group of like-minded and forward-looking masters to execute his beautiful compositions."

-Joe Locke

"Austrian drummer Marktl has assembled a cast of New York heavyweights for this nicely balanced set of 10 originals. The strong writing delivers a range of moods, and ihere's enough substance for the soloists to sink their teeth into. Firmly within the acoustic modern mainstream, there are enough original flourishes io maintain interest. 'Elveen' is a modal homage to Elvin Jones while 'Prosit Neuiahr' (loast The
New Year) is an uptempo altered blues and custom built for Joe Locke's searing vibes. ln contrast 'Traffic' is a temPo-shifting slow burn that captures the frustrations and relief of being stuck in traffic.

And though Marktl doesn't stray from esiablished practices, he's no slouch on the drums. He crisply marks stops, changes and turns, keeps solos to a minimum and locks into Raghavan's bass when it's time to stretch out. Best of all, the featured soloists all Put in a strong shift. Blake and Ellis are different voices with a broadly
common approach and really spark off each other -'Nina's Dream' opens with Ellis on bass clarinet and builds to a climax with Blake on soprano sax; 'Three Times' is a twin-tenor joust - and Joe Locke and Aaron Goldberg are equally committed."

Mike Hobart (May, 2016)


10,95 €  (tax incl.)

Add to wishlist

Added to your wishlist.

You can manage your wishlist here.

You're not signed in

You must sign in to manage your wishlist.
Sign in
Delivery information:
Delivery in 5-7 days
Shipping rates Terms and conditions
Payment methods:



Customer reviews

Write a review

Rate this product:

Thanks for sharing your thoughts.

Your review has been added and will be available once approved by a moderator.