Ocean Avenue
  • Klemens Marktl
    Klemens Marktl

Klemens Marktl

Ocean Avenue

Fresh Sound New Talent

Klemens Marktl (d), Chris Cheek (ts), Aaron Goldberg (p), Matt Penman (b)

Reference: FSNT-240

Bar code: 8427328422406

Drummer, bandleader, composer & arranger Klemens Marktl was born in Austria in 1976. After studying classical piano at a very young age Klemens Marktl discovered his passion for playing the drums. He studied drums in Austria, The Hague, Amsterdam and New York with Carl Allen, Ralph Peterson, Greg Hutchinson, Ari Hoenig, among others. Between 1997-2003 Klemens was living in the Netherlands and worked professionally as a drummer/bandleader in the international jazz scene. He has toured and recorded with great jazz artists such as George Garzone, Seamus Blake, Aaron Goldberg, Chris Cheek, Matt Penman, Johannes Weidenmueller, Barry Harris, Jesse van Ruller, Ferdinand Povel, Michael Erian, Rick Margitza, John Swana, Rob Bargad, Kenny Werner... In Jannuary 2001 Klemens won the 1st price at the Leidsche Jazz Award (Netherlands).

After 5 ½ years living in the Netherlands he moved to New York in 2003 and has lived there for 2 years. He jumped right in the New York jazz scene and worked with Wes Anderson, Mark Rapp, Rob Bargad, Waldrin Riks, Anthony Wonsey, Toru Dodo, Rick Germanson, John Swana... During that time he also formed his own quartet with Chris Cheek, Aaron Goldberg and Matt Penman which features his own compositions. Klemens went into the studio with his new band to record his first Fresh Sound New Talent release called 'Ocean Avenue'. Klemens currently lives in Vienna and tours as a sideman and with his own projects all over Europe.

About the CD, Klemens says: I was more than happy to be able to record and tour with these fine musicians. They are some of my favourite musicians on the jazz scene today and each of them really has a special voice on their instruments that helped my compositions to come alive. Thank you!

01. Anthratx 6:57
02. Last Hope 6:17
03. Ocean Avenue 6:19
04. The Unexpected Happened 6:44
05. 4.15 AM 5:52
06. Fat Cat 5:41
07. Lakeside 9:04

All compositions by Klemens Marktl

Chris Cheek (tenor sax), Aaron Goldberg (piano), Matt Penman (bass), and Klemens Marktl (drums).
Recorded in Brooklyn, New York, on April 24, 2004

Produced by Klemens Marktl

Executive producer: Jordi Pujol


Klemens Marktl is one of the most talents to come out of Europe on his instrument. He also shows his ability to compose on a level not often associated with drummers and that is refreshing because it is a testimony to his total musicianship.

-Ralph Peterson



10,95 €  (tax incl.)

Add to wishlist

Added to your wishlist.

You can manage your wishlist here.

You're not signed in

You must sign in to manage your wishlist.
Sign in
Delivery information:
Delivery in 5-7 days
Shipping rates Terms and conditions
Payment methods:



Customer reviews

Write a review

Ocean Avenue
Rate this product:

Thanks for sharing your thoughts.

Your review has been added and will be available once approved by a moderator.