Complete 1951-1956 Recordings (4-CD Box Set)
  • With Joe Shulman
    With Joe Shulman
  • Barbara Carroll
    Barbara Carroll

Barbara Carroll

Complete 1951-1956 Recordings (4-CD Box Set)

Jazz Connections

Barbara Carroll (p, vcl, celeste), Joe Shulman (b), Herb Wasserman, Ralph Pollack, Joe Petti, Albert Monroe (d), Sylvia Syms (vcl)

Reference: JC 2001

Bar code: 8427328520010

This set is a sincere homage to an unfairly forgotten jazzwoman whose style brought a refreshing and individual voice in the tumultuous New Yorks jazz scene of the 50s. Barbara Carroll is known among female piano players, as the first to venture into the progressive Bop style that was especially associated with Bud Powell.

These 4 CDs hold Barbara Carrolls complete trio recordings under her leadership between 1951 and 1956. A successful recoding period which spans sixteen studio sessions and 77 tunes originally released in 6 LPs, 2 EPs and 2 anthologies, cut for two of the best labels in the genre: Atlantic and RCA Victor. The set includes comprehensive biographic notes on 16-page book let, full of historic pictures, original vinyl art work and session details.


CD 1
01. My Funny Valentine
02. Taking A Chance On Love
03. You Took Advantage Of Me
04. 'Tis Autumn
05. The Lady's In Love With You
06. Love Of My Life
07. Autumn In New York
08. They Can't Take That Away From Me
09. I Want A Little Girl
10. What's The Use Of Wonderin'
11. Serenade For A Wealthy Widow
12. Let's Fall In Love
13. The Folks Who Live On The Hill
14. Mountain Greenery
15. From This Moment On
16. Good Bait
17. Cabin In The Sky
18. Give Me The Simple Life
19. Goodbye
20. Lullaby Of Broadway

Total time: 60:04 min.

CD 2
01. You'd Be So Nice To Come Home To
02. As Long As I Live
03. But Not For Me
04. I Love A Piano
05. If I Had You
06. Garrow's Way
07. Come Rain Or Come Shine
08. I Saw Stars
09. By Myself
10. The Lady Is A Tramp
11. Sweet Georgia Brown
12. I've Got The World On A String
13. Lullaby Of Birdland
14. Just Plain Blue
15. Blue And Sentimental
16. Am I Blue?
17. Blue Room
18. Everything I've Got Belongs To You
19. It's All Right With Me
20. Happiness Is A Thing Called Joe
21. Almost Like Being In Love
22. Love Is A Simple Thing
23. Get Happy

Total time: 64:23 min.

CD 3
01. Two Ladies In De Shade Of De Banana Tree
02. My Heart Belongs To Daddy
03. You're Mine You
04. Have You Met Miss Jones?
05. I'm Glad There Is You
06. Babara's Carol
07. You Stepped Out Of A Dream
08. Did You Ever See A Dream Walking?
09. I Had The Craziest Dream
10. Dream A Little Dream Of Me
11. You Do Something To Me
12. Today
13. We Just Couldn't Say Goodbye
14. These Foolish Things
15. Royal Garden Blues
16. Just One Of Those Things
17. Cherry Point
18. You're My Girl
19. All Of You

Total time: 62:09 min.

CD 4
01. You Make Me Feel So Young
02. Lost In A Crowded Place
03. Goodnight My Love
04. It's A Wonderful World
05. Spring Is Here
06. At Long Last Love
07. Struttin' With Some Barbecue
08. Fancy Pants
09. The Girl Friend
10. It Never Entered My Mind
11. One Life To Live
12. No Moon At All
13. The Most Beautiful Girl In The World
14. California, Here I Come
15. Paris Without You
16. Down In The Depths of the 90th Floor (*)
17. Can't You Just See Yourself? (*)

Total time: 65:32 min.

Album details

(*) Bonus Tracks

Sources CD 1:
Tracks #1-8, from the 10" album "Piano Panorama (Atlantic LP-132)
Recorded in New York City, 1951
Tracks #9-20, from the 10" album "Barbara Carroll Trio" (RCA Victor LJM-1001)
Recorded in New York City, 1953

Sources CD 2:
Tracks #1-12, from the album "Lullabies in Rhythm" (RCA Victor LJM-1023)
Recorded in New York City, 1954
Track #13, from the anthology "Lullaby of Birdland" (RCA Victor LPM-1146)
Recorded in New York City, 1954
Tracks #14-17, from the 7" EP "Just Plain Blue" (RCA Victor EPA-604)
Recorded in New York City, 1954
Tracks #18-23 & CD 3, #1-6, from "Have You Met Miss Carroll?" (RCA Victor LPM-1137)
Recorded in New York City, 1955

Sources CD 3:
Tracks #7-10, from the 7" EP "You Stepped Out of A Dream (RCA Victor EPA-656)
Recorded in New York City, 1955
Tracks #11-19 & CD 4, #1-3, from "We Just Couldn't Say Goodbye" (RCA Victor LPM-1296)
Recorded in New York City, 1956

Sources CD 4:
Tracks #4-13, from the album "It's A Wonderful World" (RCA Victor LPM-1396)
Recorded in New York City, 1956
Tracks #14-15, from the album "Dave Garroway Presents... The Wide Wide World of Jazz" (RCA Victor LPM-1325)
Recorded in New York City, 1956
Tracks #16-17, from the 10" album "Songs By Sylvia Syms"(Atlantic ALS 137)
Recorded in New York City, 1952

Barbara Carroll (piano, vocals & celeste), Joe Shulman (bass), Herb Wasserman, Ralph Pollack, Joe Petti or Albert Monroe (drums), Sylvia Syms (vocals on bonus tracks).

Press reviews

"Simply an excellent jazz pianist."

John S. Wilson
The New York Times


34,95 €  (tax incl.)

Add to wishlist

Added to your wishlist.

You can manage your wishlist here.

You're not signed in

You must sign in to manage your wishlist.
Sign in
Delivery information:
Delivery in 5-7 days
Shipping rates Terms and conditions
Payment methods:



Customer reviews

Write a review

Complete 1951-1956 Recordings (4-CD Box Set)
Rate this product:

Thanks for sharing your thoughts.

Your review has been added and will be available once approved by a moderator.