Miles Davis

Complete Studio Recordings · The Master Takes (4-CD)

Essential Jazz Classics

Miles Davis (tp), John Coltrane (ts), Red Garland (p), Paul Chambers (b), Philly Joe Jones (d)

Reference: EJC55406

The classic quintet recordings from 1955 and 1956 all together one one-special price 4-CD box set. This collection includes not only the six major studio recordings of the decade, but also some nice extra bonus tracks and a 20-page booket with new liner notes.

Unlike the similar Prestige and Concord box sets, this sterling collection does not include throwaway live and broadcast sessions, just pure good-qualtiy studio recordings by one of the most famous and most exciting quintets in the history of the genre. What sets it apart from these other collections is the fact that includes ALL of the studio recordings by this quintet - for Prestige AND Columbia Records, whearas previous editions have only included the Prestige material.


CD 1
01. Two Bass Hit
02. Ah-leu-cha
03. Little Melonae
04. Budo
05. Stablemates
06. How Am I To Know?
07. Just Squeeze Me
08. There Is No Greater Love
09. The Theme
10. Sposin
11. In Your Own Sweet Way
12. Diane

Total time: 68:51 min.

CD 2
01. Tranes Blues
02. Something I Dreamed Last Night
03. It Could Happen To You
04. Woody n You
05. Ahmads Blues
06. Surreny With the Fringe on Top
07. It Never Entered My Mind
08. When I Fall In Love
09. Salt Peanuts
10. Four
11. The Theme (long)
12. The Theme (short)

Total time: 69:41 min.

CD 3
01. Dear Old Stockholm
02. Bye Bye Blackbird
03. Tadds Delight
04. All Of You
05. Sweet Sue, Just You
06. Round Midnight
07. If I Were a Bell
08. Well You Neednt
09. Round Midnight
10. Half Nelson
11. Youre My Everything.

Total time: 67:40 min.

CD 4
01. I Could Write a Book
02. Oleo
03. Airegin
04. Tune Up
05. When The Lights Are Low
06. Blues By Five
07. My Funny Valentine
08. Three Little Feelings
09. Poem For Brass.

Total time: 66:27 min.

This special 4-CD set includes 6 complete albums:

"The New Miles Davis Quintet" (Prestige LP, 1956)
Recorded in New York, November 16, 1955.

"Workin" (Prestige LP, 1956)
Recorded in New York, May 11 & Oct 26, 1956.
( -***** AMG)

"Steamin"(Prestige LP, 1956)
Recorded in New York, May 11 & Oct 26, 1956.

"Relaxin"(Prestige LP, 1956)
Recorded in New York, May 11 & Oct 26, 1956.

"Cookin" (Prestige LP, 1956)
Recorded in New York October 26, 1956.

"Round About Midnight" (Columbia LP, 1955)
Recorded in New York, Oct 27, 1955 & Jun 5, 1956.

Plus 2 bonus tracks with the Brass Ensemble of the Jazz Classical Music Society, featuring Miles Davis (tp, flh) with brass orchestra conducted by Gunther Schuller, including J.J. Johnson, Milt Hinton and Osie Johnson.
Recorded in New York, June 20, 1956 (CD 4, track #8) and October 23, 1956 (CD 4, track #9).

Full details in the comprehensive booklet liner notes.


29,95 €  (tax incl.)

Add to wishlist

Added to your wishlist.

You can manage your wishlist here.

You're not signed in

You must sign in to manage your wishlist.
Sign in
Delivery information:
Delivery in 5-7 days
Shipping rates Terms and conditions
Payment methods:



Customer reviews

Write a review

Complete Studio Recordings · The Master Takes (4-CD)
Rate this product:

Thanks for sharing your thoughts.

Your review has been added and will be available once approved by a moderator.