Marvin Gaye

The Master 1961-1984 (4-CD Book Set)

Box Sets & Special Editions

Marvin Gaye (vcl, p, d), Marvin Jenkins, Sonny Burke (p), Melvin 'Wah Wah' Ragin (g), James Jamerson, Bob Babbitt (b), Benny Benjamin, Richard 'Pistol' Allen (d), Eddie 'Bongo' Brown (perc), Wild Bill Moore, 'Beans' Bowles (sax), George Bohannon (tb)

Reference: 6024 9841196 4

Bar code: 0602498411964

A fitting tribute to the most spellbinder of Motown artists, The Master 1961-1984 is an amazing and detailed overview of the life and career of Marvin Gaye. From his first hits as a romantic lead, Stubborn Kind of Fellow and Hitch Hike to his final hit, Sexual Healing, this 89-track collection follows Gaye as he moves from being an interpreter of simple love songs to being a troubled eco-cosmic warrior and finally to being the love man's love man, singing songs of sex, religion and passion in equal measure.

Stepped in Soul and later, saturated in Funk, Gaye's work is often stimulating and occasionally disquieting, and is presented delightfully on this lavish 4-CD Book Set with sumptuous illustrations and detailed annotaion.

This box set is a must for any serious soul fan. It is perhaps a little much for the casual Marvin Gaye fan, but for those who want to hear a bit more than just the usual big hits it is ideal.

Complete Tracklisting:

CD 1
01. Stubborn Kind Of Fellow
02. Pride And Joy
03. Hitch Hike
04. Wherever I Lay My Hat (That's My Home)
05. What Do You Want With Him
06. Once upon a Time [+]
07. What's the Matter With You Baby [+]
08. Can I Get a Witness
09. Couldn't Ask for More
10. You're Wonderful
11. I Wonder
12. You're a Wonderful One
13. It's Got to Be Love
14. Try It Baby
15. Leavin'
16. My Love for You
17. How Sweet It Is (To Be Loved by You)
18. Baby Don't You Do It
19. Just Like a Man (Alternate Mix)
20. Pretty Little Baby
21. Talk About a Good Feeling
22. I'll Be Doggone
23. Little Darling (I Need You)
24. One More Heartache
25. Ain't That Peculiar
26. You're the One for Me
27. Take This Heart of Mine
28. Your Unchanging Love

[+] Duet with Mary Wells

CD 2
01. It Takes Two [++]
02. I Couldn't Help Falling for You [++]
03. Lonely Lover (Alternate Mix)
04. Without Your Sweet Lovin'
05. Ain't No Mountain High Enough [+++]
06. If I Could Build My Whole World Around You [+++]
07. Your Precious Love [+++]
08. If This World Were Mine [+++]
09. Without You (Not Another Lonely Night)
10. Together We Stand (Divided We Fall)
11. You
12. Chained
13. I Heard It Through the Grapevine
14. You're What's Happening (In the World Today)
15. This Love Starved Heart of Mine (It's Killing Me)
16. Ain't Nothing Like the Real Thing [+++]
17. Keep on Lovin' Me Honey [+++]
18. You're All I Need to Get By [+++]
19. Too Busy Thinking About My Baby
20. More Than a Heart Can Stand
21. How Can I Forget
22. That's the Way Love Is
23. Yesterday
24. The End of Our Road
25. Good Lovin' Ain't Easy to Come By [+++]
26. What You Gave Me [+++]

[++] Duet with Kim Weston
[+++] Duet with Tammi Terrell

CD 3
01. What's Going On
02. Save the Children
03. Mercy Mercy Me (The Ecology)
04. Inner City Blues (Make Me Wanna Holler)
05. I'm Going Home [1972 Mix]
06. Piece of Clay
07. You're the Man, Parts 1 & 2
08. Checking Out (Double Clutch)
09. Trouble Man
10. Let's Get It On
11. Come Get to This
12. Just to Keep You Satisfied
13. Pledging My Love [*]
14. My Mistake (Was to Love You) [*]
15. Distant Lover [Live]
16. I Want You
17. After the Dance

[*] Duet with Diana Ross

CD 4
01. Got to Give It Up, Part 1
02. Here, My Dear
03. When Did You Stop Loving Me, When Did I Stop Loving You
04. Anger
05. Anna's Song
06. A Funky Space Reincarnation
07. When Did You Stop Loving Me, When Did I Stop Loving You [Reprise]
08. She Needs Me
09. Why Did I Choose You
10. Life Is for Learning
11. Funk Me
12. Love Me Now or Love Me Later
13. Ego Tripping Out
14. The Star Spangled Banner
15. I Heard It Through the Grapevine [**]
16. Rockin' After Midnight
17. Sexual Healing
18. The Lord's Prayer

[**] Duet with Gladys Knight

Original sessions produced by Berry Gordy Jr, Hal Davis, Harvey Fuqua, 'Mickey' Stevenson, Brian Holland, Norman Whitfield, Frank Wilson, Lamont Dozier, Nick Ashford, Valerie Simpson, Clarence Paul, Johnny Bristol, Smokey Robinson & Marvin Gaye

Product description:

Number of CDs: 4
Dimensions: 28,5 x 2 x 28,5 cm
Weight: 1,2 Kgs.
Book pages: 120
ISBN: 9783937406886



"The average fan is better off with Anthology, which covers almost all of Marvin Gaye's true classics. But for those who want the hits and then some, and have the budget and interest to go further, this four-CD set is an excellent retrospective of his career. The 89 tracks include all the chart hits (both on his own and with Mary Wells, Kim Weston, Tammi Terrell, and Diana Ross) and many interesting B-sides, album tracks, and misses. There are also over a dozen previously unreleased cuts, most dating from the early part of his career; they don't rank among his best work, but they're almost all good and interesting. With a long essay by his biographer, David Ritz, this is the best overview of Gaye's evolution and versatility, and a much-recommended alternative to the previous Gaye box, The Marvin Gaye Collection."

Richie Unterberger -All Music Guide


29,95 €  (tax incl.)

Add to wishlist

Added to your wishlist.

You can manage your wishlist here.

You're not signed in

You must sign in to manage your wishlist.
Sign in
Delivery information:
Delivery in 5-7 days
Shipping rates Terms and conditions
Payment methods:



Customer reviews

Write a review

The Master 1961-1984 (4-CD Book Set)
Rate this product:

Thanks for sharing your thoughts.

Your review has been added and will be available once approved by a moderator.