Herb & Lorraine Geller: Two of a Kind · Complete Recordings 1954-1955 (2-CD)
  • Imperial IMP121
    Imperial IMP121
  • EmArcy MG-36045
    EmArcy MG-36045
  • EmArcy MG-36024
    EmArcy MG-36024
  • EmArcy MG-36040
    EmArcy MG-36040
  • Herb Geller
    Herb Geller
  • Lorraine Geller
    Lorraine Geller

Herb Geller & Lorraine Geller

Herb & Lorraine Geller: Two of a Kind · Complete Recordings 1954-1955 (2-CD)

Fresh Sound Records

Herb Geller (as), Lorraine Geller (p), John Simmons, Curtis Counce, Red Mitchell, Leroy Vinnegar (b), Roy Harte, Lawrence Marable, Mel Lewis, Eldridge 'Bruz' Freeman (d), Conte Candoli (tp), Mel 'Ziggy' Vines (ts)

Reference: FSRCD 412

Bar code: 8427328604123


Contains the complete recordings originally published on:
- The sensational saxophone of Herb Geller (EP Imperial IMP-121)
- Herb Geller Plays (EmArcy MG-36045)
- The Gellers (EmArcy MG-36024)
- The Herb Geller Sextet (EmArcy MG-36040)

The Gellers met in Los Angeles in 1950 and were married in New York, shortly after Herb had quit the Claude Thornhill orchestra. They stayed together for eight years, but these are the only recordings Herb did with Lorraine. They formed an exceptional tandem and their playing carried a distinct sound, a harmonic quality that was neither his or hers. This CD wants to recover that feeling because, although she passed away a mere three years after the present sides, one thing remains certain: Herb and Lorraine Geller were two of a kind.

CD 1
01. It's Swell Of You (Gordon-Ravel) 2:53
02. Everything Ive Got Belongs To You (Rodgers-Hart) 3:06
03. Mad About The Boy (Noel Coward) 2:42
04. I Feel Like A Feather In The Breeze (Gordon-Ravel) 2:53
05. You Stepped Out Of A Dream (Conn-Brown) 3:21
06. Kahagon (Herb Geller) 2:45
07. Breaking Through The Sound Barrier (Herb Geller) 3:32
08. Happy Go Lucky (McHugh-Loesser) 2:53
09. A Room With A View (Noel Coward) 4:05
10. Sleight Ride (Leroy Anderson) 2:56
11. Silver Rain (Herb Geller) 2:53
12. Alone Together (Dietz-Schwartz) 6:50
13. If I Were A Bell (Frank Loesser) 3:03
14. Bewitched (Rodgers-Hart) 4:54
15. The Answer Man (Herb Geller) 3:47
16. Cherokee (Ray Noble) 3:57
17. The Heather On The Hill (Herb Geller) 2:51
18. Suppertime (Irving Berlin) 5:07
19. I've Got A Feeling I'm Falling (Rose-Link-Waller) 3:14
20. Patterns (Lorraine Geller) 2:48

CD 2
01. Two Of A Kind (Herb Geller) 5:19
02. Love (Blaine-Martin) 3:07
03. Arapahoe (Herb Geller) 3:59
04. Come Rain Or Come Shine (Arlen-Mercer) 4:58
05. Blues In The Night (Arlen-Mercer) 5:15
06. Days I Never Knew (Lorraine Geller) 3:23
07. Domestic Harmony (Lorraine Geller) 3:30
08. Love Is Like A Turtle (Herb Geller) 2:59
09. Sweet Vinnegar (Herb Geller) 5:48
10. Outpost Incident (Herb Geller) 4:22
11. Rockin' Chair (Hoagy Carmichael) 4:58
12. You'd Be So Nice To Come Home To (Cole Porter) 3:06
13. Crazy She Calls Me (Russell-Sigman) 5:25
14. Owl Eyes (Herb Geller) 4:23
15. Gin For Flugelhorns (Herb Geller) 3:41
16. Tardi At Zardi's (Herb Geller) 4:23
17. Vone Mae (Eldridge Freeman) 5:31

Album details

Personnel and dates:

CD1 #1-4: Herb Geller (as), Lorraine Geller (p), John Simmons (b), Roy Harte (d)
Recorded in Hollywood, July 4, 1954

CD1 #5-12: Herb Geller (as), Lorraine Geller (p), Curtis Counce (b), Lawrence Marable (d)
Recorded in Hollywood, August 6, 1954

CD1 #13-20 / CD2 #1-5: Herb Geller (as), Lorraine Geller (p), Red Mitchell (b), Mel Lewis (d)
Recorded in Hollywood, April 20, 21 & 26, 1955

CD2 #6-9: Herb Geller (as), Lorraine Geller (p), Leroy Vinnegar (b), Eldridge 'Bruz' Freeman (d)
Recorded in Hollywood, August 14, 1955

CD2 #10-13: Herb Geller (as), Lorraine Geller (p), Red Mitchell (b), Eldridge 'Bruz' Freeman (d), Conte Candoli (tp), Mel 'Ziggy' Vines (ts).
Recorded in Hollywood, August 19, 1955

CD2 #14-17: Same personnel but Leroy Vinnegar replaces Red Mitchell.
Recorded in Hollywood, August 22, 1955

Photography: William Claxton
Liner notes: Jordi Pujol
This compilation produced for CD release by Jordi Pujol

Hi Fi / Mono · 24-Bit Digitally Remastered
Blue Moon Producciones Discograficas S.L.
Dedicated to Herb Geller and to the memory of Lorraine. Special thanks to Dick Bank

14,95 €  (tax incl.)

Add to wishlist

Added to your wishlist.

You can manage your wishlist here.

You're not signed in

You must sign in to manage your wishlist.
Sign in
Delivery information:
Delivery in 5-7 days
Shipping rates Terms and conditions
Payment methods:



Customer reviews

Write a review

Herb & Lorraine Geller: Two of a Kind · Complete Recordings 1954-1955 (2-CD)
Rate this product:

Thanks for sharing your thoughts.

Your review has been added and will be available once approved by a moderator.