Sounds from Rikers Island
  • Elmo Hope
    Elmo Hope
  • Audio Fidelity AFLP 2119
    Audio Fidelity AFLP 2119

Elmo Hope

Sounds from Rikers Island

Fresh Sound Records

Lawrence Jackson (tp), Freddie Douglas (as, ss), John Gilmore (ts), Elmo Hope (p), Ronald Boykins (b), Philly Joe Jones (d), Earl Coleman, Marcelle Daniels (vcl)

Reference: FSRCD 338

Bar code: 8427328603386

"Since 1961, Elmo Hopehas been back in New York City. His style, both as pianist and composer, is characterized by lucidity, a resiliant sense of order, and reflective lyricism. Hope's originals in this set indicates some of his range as a writer."

-Nat Hentoff (from the inside liner notes)

Album details

Originally issued in 12-inch album as Audio Fidelity AFLP 2119

Lawrence Jackson (trumpet), Freddie Douglas (alto & soprano sax), John Gilmore (tenor sax), Elmo Hope (piano), Ronald Boykins (bass), Philly Joe Jones (drums), Earl Coleman (vocals on #6), Marcelle Daniels (vocals on #9).
Recorded in New York City, on August 19, 1963

Liner notes by Nat Hentoff
Recording session produced by Sidney Frey & Walt Dickerson
Produced for CD release by Jordi Pujol

Stereo · Newly Digitally Remastered

Press reviews

"Kudos to Spain's Fresh Sound label for digging this one out of its undeserved obscurity. This 1963 session assembled by composer Sid Frey, pianist and composer Elmo Hope, and vibist Walt Dickerson (who doesn't appear on the record) is a blowing date centered around the notion of drug addiction and hopelessness for the addict/slave musician who ends up in places like Rikers Island. As a cultural and social critique, it fails other than in its liner notes. As a musical document, it is an overwhelming success.

Hope surrounds himself with musicians whose reputations are now legendary: Philly Joe Jones, John Gilmore, Ronnie Boykins, Lawrence Jackson, and Freddie Douglas. Hope and Frey composed six of the set's nine selections, ranging from the breezy hard bop of "Ode for Joe," which allowed Jones the ability to drive the band from outside the arrangement, to the lushly romantic "Monique" and the waltz-as-turnstile blues of "Kevin." "Trippin'" is a blues that slips through harmonic changes quickly and seamlessly with startling stop-and-start cadences. The high points of the session are "A Night in Tunisia," a stretch-out for everyone, and the amazing rendition of "Groovin' High" that closes the album, featuring Marcelle Daniels on scatted vocals. Veteran Earl Coleman also appears as a singer on the Ellington tune "It Shouldn't Happen to a Dream," but even in these two tracks, the level of musical empathy and improvisational reciprocity is inspiring.

This is an obscure date but it shouldn't be, as it features some of Hope and Gilmore's finest playing, and shows Jones in rare, lighthearted form."

Thom Jurek -All Music Guide


9,95 €  (tax incl.)

Add to wishlist

Added to your wishlist.

You can manage your wishlist here.

You're not signed in

You must sign in to manage your wishlist.
Sign in
Delivery information:
Delivery in 5-7 days
Shipping rates Terms and conditions
Payment methods:



Customer reviews

Write a review

Sounds from Rikers Island
Rate this product:

Thanks for sharing your thoughts.

Your review has been added and will be available once approved by a moderator.